We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,050)
Filter reviews
1,050 results
Traveller rating
535
311
117
51
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
311
117
51
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white hart west wing beautiful grounds the barn ensuite room enjoyable stay travelzoo offer comfortable rooms car park lovely setting the ground floor beautiful room wet room the river old building full english yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,050 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Rooms were dated and dusty, the room I stayed in had a separate toilet and shower (these were separate to each other too) and the shower was covered in disgusting black mould (see photos) and so small I could barely move. I was given another room after complaining with a slightly cleaner shower but overall the experience was disappointing. Second room wasn’t serviced in the 3 days I was in it. Lovely surroundings but don’t expect rooms and facilities to be hotel standard.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahWhiteDH, Operations Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Dear Lara M,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review.

We are sorry to hear of the issues you had whilst with us.We are currently starting plans to refurbish our Guest Accommodation including the bedrooms that we have without en-suite facilities.

As you have mentioned in your review we did move you into a different room once we were aware of the issues. Unfortunately due to our occupation levels during your stay we were unable to move your reservation into a double room with ensuite facilities.

Please contact me directly if you wish to discuss your stay further.

Once again we thank you for your feedback.

Best Wishes,
Sarah White
Operations Manager





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Dartington is a significant cultural presence, and offers much to the visitor interested in the arts or agricultural experiment. Mediaeval surroundings and stunning gardens. Good food at the White Hart restaurant on-site (gin-cured salmon recommended). Helpful staff.

Room Tip: The full experience requires a room in the courtyard.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahWhiteDH, Operations Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you for your recent review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dartington Hall in the future.

Best Wishes
Sarah White
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

This is a lovely, quiet hotel place in a great location. The twin room we had was comfortable with a great view of the historical courtyard. The ensuite was spotlessly clean. Staff were professional and friendly. I couldn't fault it.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tuamberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahWhiteDH, Operations Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you for your recent review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dartington Hall in the future.

Best Wishes
Sarah White
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

The room was comfortable with a magical view over the quad. Sounds of people talking, birds squawking and the wind sighing make for a place to let the imagination roam. The walk into Totnes is a pleasure which affords access to the River Dart and Dartmouth by ferry.

Room Tip: If staying more than one night bring extra milk and toiletries.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mhumfr426848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahWhiteDH, Operations Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you for your recent review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dartington Hall in the future.

Best Wishes
Sarah White
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

This is a special place—a place to still one’s soul. Plan to check in early to spend as much time as possible in the beautiful gardens and on the rest of the 1300 acre grounds. Staff was thoughtful and accommodating. I will come back.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahWhiteDH, Operations Manager at Dartington Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you for your recent review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dartington Hall in the future.

Best Wishes
Sarah White
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews