We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT STAY”
Review of The Moonraker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Moonraker
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAY”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend at The Old Manor Hotel.This is the first time we have been to Bradford on Avon & what a lovely part of the country.We were a party of 10 cousins getting together for a reunion & we couldn't have picked a better place to stay.We all had different grades of rooms & there wasn't one complaint about anything.The rooms were all lovely,clean,bright, lovely bathrooms,in our case we stayed in room 48 which had a bath & walk in shower.Everything was spotless.Furnishings were very much in keeping with the period of the Grade 11 building.Very comfortable beds & very clean.
Staff were very welcoming & informative,nothing was too much bother for them.Breakfast staff were extremely attentive & very quick when any of us requested anything.Breakfast buffet plentiful,the full English came hot & on hot plates(can't stand hot food on cold plates)serving ten of us at a time was no mean feat,but we all ate at the same time.Evening dining was also a pleasure.We occupied a private room so could all talk without disturbing other guests.We were spoilt for choice with the dinner menu,again everything we ordered came exactly as we requested,good choice of wines,and after we retired to the lounge where we had tea or coffee.There were no objections to us rearranging furniture for our party(by the time we retired to the lounge other guests had already retired to their rooms,so we didn't upset anyone)We did return furniture to it's rightful place!
The weather was awful the whole weekend,but this made no difference to us as the hotel was warm & comfortable.If you go int Bradford on Avon visit the Bridge Tea House,lovely cream teas,!
We went on a KGB offer, great value for money £99 including the upgrade to Superior room.We would definately go back to The Old Manor Hotel.

Room Tip: Check out the pictures of rooms at the hitel on the net.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mayhall68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    246
    87
    21
    11
See reviews for
155
557
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Like other reviewers we paid £80.00 for 2 nights B and B and it was OK but I was glad I didn't pay more. I was expecting a country house hotel experience but only the reception is actually in the (lovely) manor house. The bedrooms and dining room are in outbuildings and ours was approached down an unattractive alleyway alongside the kitchens. The room was indeed quirky but not what I would describe as chic. The bathroom was very dated, however, everything was very clean. We had intended to eat in on our first night but I wasn't impressed with the atmosphere in the dining room so we took a long walk into Bradford-on-Avon where we had a lovely meal at The Castle. Breakfast was adequate but there was very little choice. Reception staff were great. This is a lovely area to explore but don't expect too much from The Old Manor

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aelfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband & I stayed here in March for a well earned break away. The hotel is OK, not luxurious but OK. The breakfast was basic - no fresh fruit (although they had it on the menu) & the ful english consisted on one sausage one bacon one egg one mushroom (yes one single mushroom) & a teaspoon of beans. Although enough for me my husband was not impressed.

The walls in the rooms are very thin. We were woken at 2am to the sounds of the couple in the next door room arguing. This continued for 2 hours - which meant a very disturbed nights sleep.
When we mentioned this to the owner & staff at reception the next morning - noone cared in the slightest!
We paid £190.00 for 2 nights B&B - the hotel is not worth that - you can get ALOT better for your money. The current offer of £79.95 for 2 nights is priced about right - Don't pay anymore - you will be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Good value at £79.95 for 2 nights bed and breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful lady serving breakfast especially.,local buses to Bradford on Avon, Bath and Trowbridge money savers for pensioners.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adnilSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at The Old Manor for a weekend on a KGB deal. The hotel is a range of buildings which have been sympathetically refurbished to provide very comfortable accommodation with all the modern features residents now expect, but retaining the traditional quirkiness of the original structure, Close proximity to the local bus route to Bath was an added bonus.
A very relaxing stay in large, clean and very comfortable rooms was provided by the friendly staff
who made us feel very welcome from our arrival to the moment we reluctantly left.
The restaurant provided good quality reasonably priced food making the whole stay most enjoyable and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OTTGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trowbridge
1.0 km away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
514 reviews
9.3 km away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
704 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
199 reviews
2.9 km away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
431 reviews
3.4 km away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moonraker? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moonraker

Property: The Moonraker
Address: 1 Trowle | Trowle Common, Trowbridge BA14 9BL, England (Formerly Old Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,857 - ₹ 11,462
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moonraker 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonraker hotel, a grade 2 listed 21 bedrooms Manor house situated on the outskirts of Bradford on Avon/ Trowbridge and a 15 minute drive from the Bath Spa. Mentioned in the Domesday book as being part of the Abbess of Glastonbury's estate, the Manor house was originally build in Queen Ann Style before being upgraded in the 17th century to Bath stone. Purchased by Tudor & Lucy Hopkins in July 2013 the hotel has undergone a full refurbishment including transforming the restaurant into a relaxed informal dining space. Head Chef Matthew Briddon (River cafe, Paul Heathcotes) joined the team in September 2013 and has created menus around the hotels kitchen garden and onsite smokery. Nine bee hives provide the hotel honey and rare breed pigs live on the grounds. Kathy Lette (writer and author) stayed at The Old Manor and wrote an article for the Express where she said: 'The bedrooms, with their four poster beds and wide wooden roof beams, are so Jane Austen-esque I kept expecting Mr Darcy to get down on bended knee' The Moonraker oozes old world charm and is a relaxed cotsworld escape with some of the UK's top attractions on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Moonraker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing