We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the glace cherries”

Steak n Lobster Shack
Ranked #66 of 102 Restaurants in Trowbridge
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 50
Description: We are a new american style restaurant that serves everything Fresh.Our range of food is Large steaks through to Seafood. We have a large range of BBQ food available all served with our homemade Cowboy beans. Our signature Dish is The Lobster bake which consists of 1/2 Fresh lobster, 2 Large tiger prawns, mussels and potatoes cooked in a white wine sauce. Large cocktail and wine bar also.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a new american style restaurant that serves everything Fresh.Our range of food is Large steaks through to Seafood. We have a large range of BBQ food available all served with our homemade Cowboy beans. Our signature Dish is The Lobster bake which consists of 1/2 Fresh lobster, 2 Large tiger prawns, mussels and potatoes cooked in a white wine sauce. Large cocktail and wine bar also.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had an enjoyable evening, the chicken wing starter was tasty, the steaks were tender enough, though the chips were too salty for my liking, but it was the desert that was memorable for the wrong reasons. I chose chocolate and cherry pudding and was very surprised and disappointed to find that the cherries were glace, so they were very sweet and didn't give the tart contrast I was expecting - especially as they advertise the freshness of their ingredients - admittedly it is difficult to get fresh cherries this time of year but there must be better alternatives than that.

Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jay h, Owner at Steak n Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review

Hope to see you again soon...

Hemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Eaten in the restaurant a few times never disappointed food and service great have now ordered a delivered takeaway which was equally as good cooked to perfection great job to the whole team and couldn’t recommend enough.

Thank davidbb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jay h, Owner at Steak n Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review Hope to see you again soon...

Hemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ate here for our anniversary - pleasantly surprised. Menu nicely quirky, staff friendly and accommodating - and the food was fabulous. Wine was decent too and sensibly priced. Definitely recommended and would visit again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jay h, Owner at Steak n Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review Hope to see you again soon...

Hemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First visit here for family birthday .. the food was amazing , steak cooked to perfection .. my husband had chicken and ribs enough food for two , drinks perfection and service top notch can't wait to visit again

Thank yo1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jay h, Owner at Steak n Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review Hope to see you again soon...



Hemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

On the spur of the moment we decided to eat here on a Wednesday for their 2 for 1 steak offer.
We received a nice welcome and shown straight to a table and it was quite busy for 6.30.
The waitress was very good (although a little bit too enthusiastic and over the top at times).
Our drinks came quickly, we ordered the sharing platter for two as a starter - PLEASE BE AWARE THAT THIS STARTER IS £10.50 EACH!! This should be made clearer on the menu and in my view the waiting staff should clarify the price when taking the order. This is the way it is written on the menu '£10.5pp' I misread it to my cost. The starter was good but not worth £10.50 each and it turned our cost effective meal out into a bit of an expensive one.
The steaks were a bit dry and seem if they had been cooked a while and left standing. My Rib Eye was cooked how I like it but my wife's rump was undercooked she asked for medium and got medium rare and very chewy, when we mentioned this to the waitress she just said I will let the chef know.
If I go back I will not have a starter just a main but it won't be for a while.
As a local business you need to up your game to compete with the competition around the corner

Thank applegate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jay h, Owner at Steak n Lobster Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review

Hemi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steak n Lobster Shack also viewed

Trowbridge, Wiltshire
 
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
 
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
 

Been to Steak n Lobster Shack? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing