We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great location and well appointed cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jowders Cottage

View from bedroom along terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from bedroom along terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
View from bedroom along terrace
View along cottage to sea
View from bedroom window
Jubilee Pool in nearby Penzance
St. Michael's Mount at sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Marazion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CaptainBl...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“A great location and well appointed cosy cottage”
Reviewed 4 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our young family had a really relaxing great seaside break, the location is more than perfect and it is a lovely understated but perfect village with lots of decent food and drink options. The cottage itself oozes charm and is well appointed. It was made more than ready for us - was clean, tidy and we had a very welcome cream tea, welcome pack and flowers! The books, videos and games kept our gang entertained and had the weather been summery then we would certainly have sat out in the compact pretty courtyard or summer house. I really felt sad to leave and we will hope to return to this lovely property in a great part of the country.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricky_Bo...
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was our second visit to Jowders. Booking was easy and the owners couldn't be more helpful. They answered all our questions.

The property is extremely well equipped, warm, cosy and surprisingly spacious. It is well equipped with the kitchen being the hub.

We received a lovely welcome note and fresh spring flowers were a real treat along with a cream tea.

The cottage is immaculately clean and decorated tastefully. Beds are comfortable and so are the sofas. None of that 'can't wait to get home to sleep in my own bed and sit in my own chairs' malarkey! I genuinely didn't want to leave.

The kitchen is fully equipped with oven, hob, fridge, washer drier, microwave, kettle etc. There are plenty of utensils and the dining table is large enough for six people.

There is good wifi available, TV with free view, DVD player and a telephone.

The parking nearby is a bonus in a very parking restricted area, although we had family join us for a couple of days and the town car park attendants were very accommodating and let them park for a very reasonable amount.

We were able to bring our dogs who loved the beaches. One is dog friendly all year round while the other is seasonal. Both are within easy walking distance. In fact everything is within easy reach within just a few minutes. There is a little corner shop, a pharmacy, an amazing bakery - I highly recommend a freshly baked Cornish pasty, gift shops and galleries and incredible choices for dining and drinking. Marazion has an enormous amount packed into such a small and pretty town. Of course St Michael's Mount is a must and our dogs loved the boat trips!

In nearby Penzance there are three major supermarkets and petrol stations and from there you can go in all directions to explore the scenic countryside. I would highly recommend a trip to Porthleven, Land's End, Mousehole and a trip to Healey's cider farm is quite good fun.
As previously stated, this was our second visit and we have rebooked for next year. Our daughter and her family also visited in August and loved their stay.

I cannot recommend this holiday cottage highly enough

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham K
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet beach holiday with young children”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I love Marazion having travelled there several times before and I loved my time in this property in summer of 2015. I knew the location in advance having stayed in a nearby cottage previously. It has several key positives for me:

1. Ability to walk to the main beach even with young children (4 and 7)
2. dedicated parking space in a very parking restricted town
3. you can hear the waves with the bedroom windows open

Beyond that it's just simply a very good property, well maintained and well managed and I'd happily stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneka D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I simply didn't want to leave, beautiful cottage.”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Having stayed in Marazion before but in different accommodation we were so looking forward to coming back to the area. Jowders did not disappoint us, the cottage was so clean and had everything you could need. The living room is cosy and warm and the kitchen was the hub of the cottage. My parents were also staying in Marazion too and were in Jowders sister cottage, Chy Lowenna. This cottage was also fantastic, it was so clean and welcoming.

I would recommend staying in either of these fantastic cottages to anyone.
We will most certainly be staying in Jowders again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen was a perfect country cottage style kitchen
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hantscoup...
england
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A lovely traditional Cornish cottage in a quiet setting”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just recently returned from our short break at this beautiful traditional cottage, the cottage was so clean and tidy, a home from home. The cottage was so well equipped to meet all our holiday needs. The town of Marizion was idyllic with lovely bars and restaurants.

We would love to visit again and wouldn't think twice about staying at Jowders Cottage again.

Many Thanks to Peter,Sally and Hazel for a wonderful stay

Kind Regards
Sarah and Mark - Hampshire

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing