We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of BETTYS BOTHY

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Holmfirth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect hideaway”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What a cosy little place! The welcome pack of fresh eggs and homemade bread was much appreciated as was the underfloor heating after a chilly walk. It was lovely to be away from crowds and cars and to be able to wake up to hillside views. We enjoyed the circular walk to Kettlewell and Arncliffe and sampled the local pubs for drinks and food. Betty's Bothy had everything we needed. Thankyou Roger and Penny. I hope we can come and stay again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Glorious”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Excellent walking holiday week end, glorious sunshine, lovely hosts,with plenty of hospitality from every pub we entered, what more could you ask from a weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DnD_Barns...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One word ...... 'Excellent'”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We received excellent directions to the property, and were made to feel extremely welcome from the minute we arrived. Will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Could only stop 1 night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GirlsHenW...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend based at Betty's Bothy”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Betty's Bothy based on Trip Advisor reviews so thanks to previous reviewers because we loved it too. We took a hairdryer and a scrambled egg pan and wine glasses as these are often not provided but they were all there. The Bothy reminded me of George Clarke's Amazing Spaces in that it is a small space well designed and packing a lot in. We particularly liked having our breakfast whilst looking up the field at the animals. Penny recommended The Falcon for a real ale which we loved, an old pub little changed. We know the area quite well and had some little walks and pottering round the villages. People are so friendly in The Dales. Would like to go again with bikes this time. Would stay at Betty's Bothy again. Also the under floor heating was a huge luxury. Comfy bed. Nice shower room. Loved it

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seb G
1 review
“You couldn't ask for more...”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

From the beautiful Yorkshire countryside and warm reception, to the cleanliness and quality of the property, you can't fail to be impressed if you stay here. We stayed over New Year, wanting an alternative to a hotel as a base for visiting family. We certainly got value for money, and were not disappointed in any way. This little property is extremely well equipped, and the owners clearly take pride in it, apparent from the fine finishing touches you'll notice throughout. As well as offering a very warm welcome, Penny and Roger are very knowledgeable about the area. We certainly hope to spend some more time here would thoroughly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing