We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super Holiday !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Byre

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kilchoan, Ardnamurchan Peninsula, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John M
1 review
“Super Holiday !”
Reviewed 29 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had a great time at The Byre. Near the end of the most twisting, narrow, but beautiful road you can imagine, miles from anywhere. Lovely welcome from John and Jackie, the log stove lit with smoke coming out of the chimney made us feel at home straight away. Lovely cottage, the limited headroom in the bedroom, and the shower, take a bit of getting used to, but the sense of peace and being away from it all make up. If you don't like being away from everything, there is TV, video, and broadband:- and only a mile from the ferry to Tobermory. Book the boat trip to Lunga and Staffa, take the car to Tobermory, drive to the other end of Mull and visit Iona - there and back in the day is easily possible. And make sure you go to Sanna beach - one of the most beautiful and empty beaches we've ever seen. Don't panic about the weather or the midges - weather was fantastic and it was too breezy for midges!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudgieSui...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb little cottage. Fantastic location.”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a short 4 day stay here in April. It is situated at the end of nowhere, 40 odd miles of single track road when you get off the Corran ferry. It can be a long journey to get there, but boy is it worth it!

The cottage has everything you could need ( except a tin opener - sorry Jacqui, couldn't resist it. One was provided in seconds when mentioned). John is a character, took us round the place and showed us how everything worked. He'd even started a fire in the log burner for our arrival.

The location is excellent looking out towards Mull. You are only 6 miles from the Ardnamurchan lighthouse, the most westerly point on the British mainland. There is only one shop for miles around which tries to cater for all needs but best stock up before you go, just in case.

You are basically surrounded by wilderness. Plenty of wildlife around for twitchers/animal lovers. Good cycling for those who don't mind the undulations.

A great time is guaranteed, the weather isn't. Hey, it's Scotland what do you expect? As long as you take clothes for every eventuality you'll be fine. Book it and have a great time.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaGee81
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home - for humans and furry friends”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My husband and I loved this place (so did our greyhound!).
It was home from home - just perfect.
John and Jacqui were great hosts, they couldn't have done more for us or to make us feel welcome.
Will definitely return.
Emma

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneM536
1 review
“A cosy wee spot with access to remoteness and facilities”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This was my 5th time staying with Steading and 1st time in The Byre. I very much enjoyed John and Jacqui as people and found them to be authentic, funny and warm. They did their best to make sure my stay was enjoyable and nothing was ever a bother to them. The Byre is attached to their home and is also private with a river running at the back. I met lots of people and also had easy access to remoteness. I walked several times without meeting anyone. I chose the Byre because it was dog friendly and has wifi access which I wanted to do some pieces of work. I didn't watch the tv although if you enjoy that it's a big one with plenty of dvd's to choose from, like having a cinema experience whilst in the comfort of home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReggieSH
Pinneberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rural and good location”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a pleasent stay in Kilchoan. The house was leasure, well equipped and the host was very gentle and helpful. The location is quite close to the ferry harbour to Tobermory, so that you can visit Mull. Furthermore you can book a tour to Staffa and Lunga, which starts in Kilchoan. The accommodation has a nice atmosphere and a great view to the sound of Mull. Thank you very much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Besondere Ausstattung, sehr nette Gastgeber!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing