We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning Cottage Best in Uit”
other travellers have booked this property
Airigh nam Fiadh by the shores of Loch Bee.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Airigh nam Fiadh by the shores of Loch Bee.
'Peat' road leading from the house to Loch Bee. Loch Bee.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Airigh nam Fiadh by the shores of Loch Bee.
'Peat' road leading from the house to Loch Bee.
Loch Bee.
Airigh nam Fiadh is located by the shores of Loch Bee with the South Uist hills in the distance.
Living Room
Sunrise at Airigh nam Fiadh.
Kitchen/Dining Area
Sunrise from the front of the house.
Dining Area
Airigh nam Fiadh completed early 2013.
King Room
Double Room
Twin Room
Living Room leading to Dining Area
Sunrise on Loch Bee.
Sunset on Gerinish beach.
Visiting deer (view from the front door).
Airigh nam Fiadh from the south, overlooking Loch Bee.
South Uist hills (from the patio door).
En suite shower room.
Main bathroom.
Airigh nam Fiadh.
Ponies at Loch Bee.
Cattle on Gerinish machair.
Airigh nam Fiadh.
Swans on frozen Loch Bee.
Swans on Loch Bee.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
smacdonal...
sunny ayrshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning Cottage Best in Uit”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Just spent a week there with extended family , And have to say iv'e been in many self catering holidays and this was right up there with the best of them . The house and surrounding area is an absolute delight . If you are a regular visitor to North/South Uist this is the place slap bang in the middle . The house itself is complete 5 stars from the decor too the ameneties . All the best Alan with this venture . P.s We will be back .......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was outstanding
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuinteMoh...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This is your place to stay in South Uist!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

No need to look further! This is the cottage to stay at in South Uist! We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in July 2013. The cottage is new, in a great location, and feels like home away from home. Not to mention the lovely owner(s) to welcome you and help you with anything that you may need. As their 1st honeymooners, Allan, Margaret-Jane & John certainly did make us feel very welcome and we are grateful for such a warm one. Thank you so much again, we’ll never forget it! So much space in the cottage, with underfloor heating, and the upstairs not even finished. Can only imagine once done it’s going to be amazing. Don’t forget to keep space for a game room Allan! ;)
From the moment you drive down to Airigh nam Fiadh cottage, and enter through the back door, you will be wowed. There is a washroom to your left, large sized laundry / wet room to the front of you. To the right a door leads in to the open aired kitchen / dining room. We loved the French doors leading off of the dining room outside to part of the driveway. We could park next to and unload the car easily with groceries etc. Nice lawn to have a bbq/al fresco dining on. The cottage was nicely equipped for us. We were unsure and brought bits and pieces with us from Oban. We actually planned what our meals would be and bought / filled the cooler the night before we caught the Ferry to Lochboisdale. There are co-operators (grocery store) & other places to buy food / petrol and diesel on the Isles, just ask or you’ll see as you venture around. We were going to eat out for a nice celebratory meal one evening, but in the end visited a smokehouse, and bought smoked fish, went back to the cottage, and made other bits to go with dinner. Had a nice bottle of bubbly that we both could enjoy together without having to drive anywhere. What a great choice! Get ready to use passing lanes though. Some parts of the Isles have 2 lanes making it easier to travel.
Leading off the left of the dining room down the hall a bit there is a nice Jacuzzi bath, but don’t put too much available bubble bath in or you’ll disappear. Electric shower is a dream as you can change the water flow to how you like it. The two double rooms have their own ensuites. The twin room does not. Liquid hand soap available in all washrooms. Unfortunately the shower in the master double room (facing Loch Bee) was not turned on from upstairs so when trying to use it, it did not work. But these are things that are worked out in a new place. So no problems there as we always had the lovely electric shower to use.
A few friendly suggestions to add to the five star effects would be mattress toppers, a full size fridge especially if/when the upstairs is opened up maybe to larger families wanting to stay for a longer duration. Free standing coat hangers, boot trays, and more hangers for the closets in the bedrooms. We thought there could be blinds either on the doors between the living and dining room or on the French doors leading outside just to feel completely private at night while watching the television. But please know it is very private. Other houses are a fair distance from the house at the end of the long driveway, across the road. You cannot see the owner’s house from the cottage. You can only see their big white shed, barn, and the quiet wind turbine which supplies the electricity to the cottage. We had a visit from their three young cows towards the end of our stay which was nice. End tables in the living room beside the couches would be good. So if you have a drink you don’t have to keep leaning forward to the coffee table for your drink. We personally don’t like to hold a drink all the time. We ended up pushing the couch closer to the coffee table so we could reach our drinks easily. But that view from the living room is awesome towards Loch Bee and mountains. We even saw ponies in the distance roaming the land and you’ll have sheep and more cattle around you.
We took a drive out to the left from the cottage past the MOD (Ministry of Defence) building on the hill. Think it was the second left and we came across free roaming ponies that came right up to our car. Out came the video camera and hands for petting! We drove down towards the water, got out for a walk and what a view from the cliffs, just beautiful. Watch out for them horse flies though, they can be nasty!
We arrived from Oban to Lochboisdale in the rain, but it soon cleared to reveal amazing landscape. We bought a map after we got off of the Ferry at Lochboisdale at the Information centre on the left hand side as you drive out north towards the cottage. We found by early afternoon it was gorgeous right up to ten thirty in the evening when the sun set. There were gorgeous sunsets over the beach. Go for a walk or drive and you’ll see for yourself. That is the advantage of having a vehicle. You can find yourself on a deserted beach which we did near the RSPB location and it was heaven. There was no one else but us on this beach we found. Just grand especially being on our honeymoon, very private, and lovely sights to be seen. The MOD building up on the hill to the south of the cottage is non intrusive – just close the blinds if bothered. When we first arrived to the cottage and were checking out our surroundings from the side windows we caught glimpse of movement in the distance and saw a Stag! Hang on, kept looking and there were FOUR Stags travelling along the terrain. What luck!! We wondered where they would be on the island upon our departure after one week of seeing them when we arrived. We travelled to a few pottery places on our drive back to the Ferry at Lochboisdale. On our way to one my new husband told me to stop the car as he spotted, yes, a Stag. Then two, the third then peeked its head up behind a small hill with heather and the fourth eventually got up from lying in the heather. Wow! It is like they greeted us and were saying goodbye as we were leaving South Uist. What a nice feeling/experience.
On our first evening we went for a small walk from the cottage to Loch Bee. Within ½ hour we saw 30 plus swans together with an otter swimming in between them. A beautiful colored black & white bird with an orange beak called an Oyster Catcher was very territorial and spoke its mind as we walked back towards the cottage. It was quite the laugh for us venturing around the Isles and coming across other Oyster Catchers and their territorial patches. It got a little bit annoying in a laughable way. As we neared the cottage we came across a little hedgehog that wedged its little face in the ground thinking we could not see it, very cute, but at the same time we understand they are considered vermin as they take birds eggs. They’re not native to the Hebrides, they were brought over we hear.
Mid week during our stay we took a boat ride (1 ½ hours) to the Monach Islands. We got 5+ hours to spend on the islands. Walking from the boat to the shore can be a bit dodgy as with the tide just going out, the seaweed was wet and slippery, and the rocks jiggle so take your time and go slow! Not to mention wear/take proper gear (layers, sunscreen, water, towels to mention a few). We packed a small picnic. Being out all day and on the island for that long, you’ll need it. We just stayed on the main island close to the boat with an old schoolhouse and buildings. One building near the schoolhouse contains some history of the island which is good to read before you wander around. We came across secluded beaches with seals popping their heads up out of the water looking at us. The low mist can be disorienting though. If it starts to come in I would suggest heading back towards the boat as it can throw your direction off. Careful walking on the dune like terrain as the rabbits like to make their homes tucked in them so be careful not to sprain your ankle! We headed back on the boat just after 5pm to coincide with the tide so that the boat could make it back under a bridge.
We had great weather for our stay. Very comfortable considering the mainland was having 30 plus degree weather. It was nice to go back to that heat, not to mention trees. We realized how much we missed trees lol! On Thursday of our stay, we took the Ferry from South Uist to Harris and ventured up to Stornaway on Isle of Lewis and then back down again. The beaches on Harris are out of this world and not packed with people. If we go back, we would definitely go back to Lewis/Harris. There just seemed to be a little bit more to do. But to be honest all of the Hebrides are beautiful, no matter where you go!
So with ALL that, rent out this cottage, you will not be disappointed. Happy travelling.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Low Mist
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarafife
Fife
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful spacious and modern house in a beautiful loation offering comfort abd convenience”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This house was ideal for our family- 2 grandparents and a young family with 2 kids aged 1 and 3. The house is thoughtfully equipped and we had a great holiday on South Uist with our large extended family who had gathered from as far as Australia to celebrate a special birthday. The house provided us a with a fantastic base and was well resourced. and furnished- 3 bathrooms and a downstairs loo! All the young cousins made great use of the WiFi and the safe and scenic garden. This property sets a new benchmark for accommodation on this beautiful island- we loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house has been beautifully planned to provide comfortable and spacious accommodation.
Liked least: Absolutely nothing to fault at all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from Home in South Uist”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Excellent holiday accommodation. Great location for exploring the Uists and Benbecula. Beaches in South Uist are superb but one of the best is close to the property. Good walks and chance to see wildlife, though the otters were being elusive. The property has everything you could need. Very warm welcome from Allan Macdonald and his parents.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and relaxing nature of property.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoomAberd...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ideal base for exploring the Uists”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

On arriving to collect the key we had wonderfully warm welcome from Margaret. This is a lovely new home complete with it's own (quiet) wind turbine, underfloor heating from a ground-source heat pump, and all the facilities you could hope for. It's at the end of a driveway off the main road, far enough away to ensure peace and quiet. The house is by Loch Bi, which has a large population of mute swans and various other birds, as well as otters (allegedly), sheep and ponies.
Allan the owner was very friendly. He came and introduced himself, and made sure we had everything we needed. We would recommend the house unreservedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern and comfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing