We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gem of a cottage....... five star plus!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Corrodale Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Corrodale Cottage garden and outhouse
Beach at Ardivachair Bay Iochdar South Uist
Profusion of vibrant colour on South Uist machair
South Uist from Eriskay
Bathroom
Uist beach
Uist beach
Some wildlife red throated divers
Machair South Uist
seal on the east coast of South Uist
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
poppyfiel...
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A gem of a cottage....... five star plus!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Corrodale Cottage would be hard to beat. Katie met us in the cottage with a roaring peat fire, champagne on ice, flowers in entrance hall and bedroom and a basket full of Hebridean goodies in the fridge including eggs and milk. The cottage is decorated to a very high standard throughout...... the bed is delightfully comfortable with lovely bedding. There are slippers and bathrobes and a plentiful supply of towels.
The kitchen area had everything needed to cook a meal including a dishwasher to help with the washing up!
We had a wonderful week, the weather being kind!
Katie and John were nearby if we needed them.
It was very sad indeed having to pack up and leave on Saturday.

Highly recommend this cottage to anyone wanting to base themselves on the Uists in order to explore, walk, birdwatch and so on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high level of comfort and its position
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreckleFr...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Excellent”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This snug and cosy little cottage was the perfect base for two weeks of peace and quiet and exploring the Uists.
When we arrived Katie was there to greet us with a lovely peat fire, champagne and other edibles. We were shown where to find the information about how everything in the cottage worked (all simply explained in one handy booklet) and given recommendations for walks etc.
The cottage was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated throughout. It was lovely to have pictures from local artists on the walls. Lots of books of local interest were also provided so you can find out all about the history of the islands snuggled up in front of a peat fire on a wet and windy evening.
The cottage was equipped with almost everything we could have possibly needed including good quality kitchen equipment so you could cook properly. The one thing we didn't find in the kitchen was a vegetable peeler.
The outhouse has good facilities for washing, drying and ironing and is a great place to store extra stuff like wellies or bikes.
The bed was so wonderfully comfortable it was hard to get out of it. All bedding was lovely cotton and the fluffy towels were in abundant supply.
The bathroom is nice and we liked the idea of an open shower but in practice it makes it quite hard to avoid swamping half the bathroom every morning. We looked for a shower squeegee in week one but failed to find it. It was kindly left out for us in week two and that made dealing with the extra water a lot easier. The spa bath is fun but beware running out of hot water to fill it if you have used a lot of hot water to wash up and shower beforehand.
On the saturday of our second week all the bed linen, towels and bath robes were changed for us, the cottage was cleaned and we were left with more fresh eggs, shortbread, jam and other delicious things. Even the throw and cushions on the bed were changed to match the new colour of the towels which again showed a lovely attention to detail.
Katie was also very understanding when we broke two of the nice Denby mugs by knocking them into the sink (very sorry!).
All in all, this was by far the best holiday cottage we have ever had and we would heartily recommend it to anyone.
We'd also recommend the islands themselves a great place to relax and see (or just hear in the case of corncrakes) lots of lovely wildlife.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSharonMe...
Berwick upon Tweed
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
Reviewed 15 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This was our very first self catering experience and we couldn't have chosen a more unbelievable place to stay! We stayed at Corrodale Cottage for a week early October and enjoyed it so much, we truly hope to return again soon!

We were warmly welcomed by Katie late at night, and found an unbelievable warm and inviting welcome, with champagne and delicious goodies and other treats waiting for us. There were also fresh flowers including red roses in the bedroom.

We spent a delightful few days exploring Berneray, the Uists and Benbecula and it was such a pleasure to return to the cottage each day and enjoy the wonderful spa bath.

The cottage is in a great central location and so is ideally placed for exploring all that the islands have to offer.

It is beautifully furnished and decorated, and everything is of the highest quality.
Katie and her family live nearby, but are not intrusive, they are just there if you need them and are always willing to help.

My Wife and I were so sad to leave but cherish our most wonderful memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Spa Bath! Also the wonderful bed!
Liked least: Nothing!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinderSco...
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous- in every way. Only bad bit was leaving!”
Reviewed 7 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A week of perfection. What an amazing cottage owned by genuine, kind and lovely people who went that little bit further to give a first class service with a personal touch. The cottage is very high spec, extremely comfortable with an amazing bath. A fabulous welcome with lots of treats and special touches such as bunches of fresh flowers, champagne, shellfish, gorgeous toiletries and nice fluffy towels. The cottage is fabulously located to access Benbecula, south and north Uist, Barra and Berneray. The wildlife seen from the cottage garden is amazing and you don't have to venture far to see otters, owls, hen harriers and seals. The roads are great for cycling and the beaches amazing for walks and runs. Co-op is only 5 mins drive away and is well stocked. Bakery on airport road makes shortbread that is heavenly and the shellfish shop at Kallin harbour is well worth a visit. Lots of mackerel caught for our tea at Loch Skipport and amazing photos of sea and mountains on road to Peter's port ( lots of owls here too). Cannot recommend this beautiful cottage enough. Katie and John will look after you extremely well and I am sure you will fall in love with this very special place. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything- location, setting, champagne, shellfish, bath, wildlife, I could go on and on and on.......
Liked least: Leaving to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goasoul
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“THE place to stay on South Uist”
Reviewed 15 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Corrodale Cottage for a week last year,we enjoyed it so much we returned again this year, this time for two weeks.
We were warmly welcomed by Katie, and found champagne on ice and delicious seafood and other treats waiting for us. There were also fresh flowers including red roses in the bedroom.
We spent a delightful fortnight exploring Berneray, the UIsts and Benbecula and it was such a pleasure to return to the cottage each day and enjoy the wonderful spa bath.
The cottage is in a great central location and so is ideally placed for exploring all that the islands have to offer.It is beautifully furnished and decorated, and everything is of the highest quality.
Katie and her family live nearby, but are not intrusive, they are just there if you need them and are always willing to help. We bought a lobster from Kallin harbour and then when we got back to the cottage, we realised we needed a very big pan to cook it, Katie immediately came to the rescue.
We loved our two weeks here and were sad to leave, we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spa bath and the peat fire
Liked least: Nothing that I can think of
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing