We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accomodation !”
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Romania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best accomodation !”
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Congratulations for Terry and Marcello!!! they make the most beautiful accomodation that I've ever seen. Casa Portagioia it is situated in an idilic small valey and everything is so quiet that you can listen the birds (by the way the birds are singing also in the night- first thought in the first night was that they recorded some birds and now they put the disk...of course it wasn't so!).
The owners - Terry and Marcello are the best host: they do make some good reservations to a very good restaurant, they explain how to arrive to different region nearby, what to see in this cities, everything.
We stay just 3 nights (a very short period) but we'll coming back for sure. We had an apartment (Andreocci- Terry I hope I write correctly?!) which have a view on the both side of the area : to the valey and to the hill. We have everything in the apartment (cooking machine, refrigerator, washing machine- everything), and the lunch/dinner table from the apartament is situated in front of the window, so when you eat, you can have a very nice view over the area.
The breakfast area of Casa Portagioia is very beautiful, on the side of the house, near the small forest, and also with a great view on the other side.
In the same period we meet there other guests (there were 4 couples and 2 nice ladies from USA), and we had a great time with this guest- they were great, and also Terry and Marcello do like a fusion between all the guest (I must mention that the other guests, although were from USA, they weren't toghether like a group)
Sunday, Terry and Marcello do serve us the dinner, and it was like a small party we laugh, we said some good jokes (Chuck knows better), we drink some good wine and eat a good dinner prepared by Marcello (Terry I'm sorry, but Marcello really serve us a good meal :); On the other hand, Terry was in charge with the good mood and he succeded...I love his english jokes and remarks!
Not in the last, the breakfast- a healty one: fruits, a lot of cereals, a good expresso, fresh juice, and a good omelette...

Everything I wrote was real (I forgot to write you about the bed in the room- very good one, the bathroom- very spacious), and indeed they do deserve the title offer by TripAdvisor (by the way, we choose Casa Portagioia because of Trip Advisor).

So everything was great! Terry, Marcello in July is my birthday, so you should do somehow to find us a room for another 3-4 days...!!!

all the best razvan &anca

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avrazvanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,030
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
739
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

The location is the best of beautiful, bucolic Tuscany, and owners Terry and Marcello have made the most of it with a huge pool and gorgeous flowers everywhere. The buildings, which the owners (and Marcello's extended family) restored from a ruin several years ago, are a wonderful combination of the old and the new. The buildings have the original Tuscan "flavor" and look while lacking nothing in the way of creature comforts. The rooms are spacious, extremely well equipped, immaculately clean and charmingly decorated. The baths are modern and convenient. Slippers and plush robes are furnished. Breakfast every morning was excellent, and featured wonderful fruits and breads along with cereals and yogurts, followed by cooked-to-order eggs and ham. Don't pass up dinner when it is offered. We were already spoiled to the excellent foods of Italy, but the two dinners we had were outstanding. Terry and Marcello were gracious and friendly, and shared a wealth of information on places to see and things to do.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDM_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle&München
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Yes, all of the glowing reviews are true. I have never been bothered to write a review before, but this stay was so great that I felt compelled. It is astonishing to me that when people ask us about our trip, we spend most of the time describing our experience at Casa Portagioia. Maybe it's because we've been to Italy several times, so the basic experience isn't "new". Maybe it's because we live part of the year in a European country not known for customer service, so it's quite a surprise to be treated so well. But I suspect it is really 100% because Terry and Marcello have created the perfect environment: inviting, relaxing, warm, and welcoming.

The location is stunning with the cypress-lined approach, vistas of olive groves and vineyards, and buildings just as you imagined they "should" be. We very much appreciated their sense of humor, and the amount of unhurried time they spent just chatting with us. We also loved sitting in the sun at the table and chairs just outside the door to our room, taking in the views, smelling the lavender and rosemary scented air, and enjoying a bottle of local wine. And, the pillow spray is lovely.

Yes, you must have the eggs and ham when offered at breakfast. Delicious. Yes, you must partake in the dinner. We were lucky enough to be there for two. Homemade fig jam from their trees. Olive oil from their groves. An excellent (and very reasonable) cellar.

Only when something is a true labor of love can the result be so wonderful. These two obviously love what they do, and are fantastic at it. We absolutely cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastBestCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pomona
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2010

This was our first ever trip out of the US. It was also our first stay in any bed and breakfast, we are ruined forever! Unless of course we return. A team of experts working around the clock could not do what these two do. The location was in a little valley north of the Castelion Fiorontine, simply breathtaking. The room and grounds were amazing, as was the breakfast spread both mornings. The dinner which was prepared and served by Terry and Marcello was wonderful, they also payed specific attention to a dietary restriction I have. Terry's sense of humor and Marcello's cooking finess were awe-inspiring. They also had great advice on where to go and what to see, directing us to the Basillica of S. Maria de Los Angelos near Assisi including specific instructions regarding the route to take. I'm not sure what else to write herre except that if you visit Tuscany and don't stay here then you're missing out.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinstrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I havent much to add to all the reviews already posted about Casa Portagioia- we had a fantastic stay, which we agree, wasn't long enough! We stayed for two nights and were extremely impressed by the level of service we received from Terry and Marcello, as well as the beautiful rooms and surroundings. We hired a car and found the instructions really helpful on the website, and luckily didnt get lost. However, Terry lent us his GPS the next day which proved extremely useful. The restaurant and vinyard recommendations were superb, and the chats over breakfast very enjoyable. I really hope we can visit again when the weather is warmer, and we can use the lovely pool!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debscollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
12.8 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
735 reviews
8.9 km away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
804 reviews
7.2 km away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
38.3 km away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
706 reviews
35.4 km away
Al Giardino degli Etruschi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Property: Casa Portagioia
Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,040 - ₹ 19,324
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing