We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,146)
Filter reviews
1,146 results
Traveller rating
1,140
3
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,140
3
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terry and marcello other guests attention to detail perfect hosts our honeymoon old friends places to visit pastries every morning sense of humour beautiful grounds each guest making reservations every aspect dinner reservations moment you arrive course meal
Filter
Updating list...
954 - 959 of 1,146 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2008

We really dont want to give a recommendation because we are afraid it may book up before we can schedule. This was the second year we stayed at Casa Portagioia. Last year we stayed a week, this year we stayed 2 weeks. It is the most wonderful relaxing place with wonderful hosts and great guests and beautiful roses and flowers, I have never seen so many huge roses and orther flowers. It is a perfect location to use as a base to drive anywhere around tuscany. Which we did everyday. My husband, and daughter (29) and I would arrive back about 6:00 sit out on the patio outside our appartment and have wine and cheese and then go for a swim in the gorgeous swimming pool with beautiful views and little split tail swallows swooping down to scoop water. It was the best time. Then we would drive to dinner except 2 nites a week Marcello would prepare the most incredible gormet 5 course meal. (optional) but we never turned it down and we were never disappointed. Terri would entertain and keep everyone happy. We miss them already..
We have already started planning next years trip unfortunately or fortunately we are going back again. We just can't seem to change our location It is the best and next year is 3 weeks at Casa Portagioa and 1 week elsewhere. We love Marcello and Terri, Sammy and Tosca (little tiny puppies). Made every day a happy day you couldn't help but love them. They kept us laughing. Evie, Bruce & Kristie

1  Thank eviereyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We had booked to spend a week at CP and then we were due to drive north and spend 4 nights in Bagnone; things didn’t quite go to plan.
From the moment we arrived we knew we had found somewhere exceptional – captivating environment, lovely accommodation, exceptional food. I could go on but perhaps the most affecting aspect of our stay was the genuine concern from Terry and Marcello that we should be having the best time possible.

The week passed quickly, we said our goodbyes and made the long drive north. The next morning after breakfast I ‘phoned Terry ‘ Of course you can come back, get in the car and we’ll have some lunch when you arrive’. We lost the money for the next 3 nights and didn’t give a fig!

We talk about the Val di Chio most days and I’m trying to organise getting back to see Terry and Marcello before the year’s out; the only other place we’ve ever chosen to visit twice is Venice, and given the choice it would be CP all the way…….

Vicki and Rick

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickiSawbridgeworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2008

Hallo Terry and Marcello,
Thank you for the great time we had at your B&B, we enjoyed it tremendously the food is excellent.
And your cooking is out off this world if I stayed a bit closer I surely would come for lessons Marcello.
And the setting of your home is so nice and tranquil, it is so nice to stay so close to the mountains and take a trip on the country roads, I still wonder, do the folk who live around there release how blessed they are to live in such a nice place.
We hope to see you some time again.
Love from Ditrie and Steve

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ditrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

Located on quiet, winding roads in the Tuscan countryside, This B&B was more than just a two night stay, it was truly a joyful experience! Marcello and Terry, our extremely gracious hosts, have put thought into every detail. Our room was luxurious with a rustic Tuscan feel that included all the appointments and amenities. The grounds are immaculate and beautifully landscaped, the buildings wonderfully restored. There is a lovely breakfast room with an extended patio overlooking olive orchards and vineyards. We had the opportunity to savor one of Marcello's home cooked Tuscan dinners. A delightful and delicious experience! After our stay here, we must make a return trip not only to Tuscany, but Casa Portagioia!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTBGMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2008

Spent a delightful and restful week here. Five miles from the nearest town, in farm country. For a B&B, luxurious (not inexpensive). Perfectly appointed with completely modern furnishings (with traditional appearance) and bathrooms. Hand made floor tiles and traditional Tuscan ceiling tiles. Beautiful but simple gardens. Pool (which we did not use, because of the season) in a beautiful setting. Very accommodating hosts, who happily gave guidance on wine touring on the backroads of central Tuscany. Breakfast more than the "normal" Italian hotel breakfast, including fresh-squeezed orange juice, and eggs, if desired, cooked to order. One of the most pleasant B&B hotel stays we have ever had - there is nothing negative that I could say about the place, and I tend to be rather critical of hotels. Probably not suitable for children, but do not know their policy on children. (They say they do weddings). Gay friendly. Hairdresser and massage services available. Fine wines. Some dinner service available.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PliniusCaecilius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews