We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,137)
Filter reviews
1,137 results
Traveller rating
1,131
3
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,131
3
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterry and marcelloother guestsattention to detailperfect hostsour honeymoonold friendsplaces to visitpastriesevery morningsense of humourbeautiful groundseach guestmaking reservationsevery aspectdinner reservationsmoment you arrivecourse meal
Filter
Updating list...
482 - 487 of 1,137 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Our family stayed at Casa Portagioia this past Summer. Terry and Marcelo are wonderful hosts. When you are there, they carefully attend to your needs without being intrusive. If you want to find something (winery, restaurant, etc.) they seem to know all the hidden treasures of the Tuscan countryside as well as the best way to see the big sites and hill towns.

One way they were very helpful was with our question regarding cooking classes. They showed us the normal organized high priced classes, but also a woman down the road who hosted classes in her home (and much more reasonably priced). We went with her and had one of the most fun and fulfilling days of our trip.

With Terry's dry wit and Marcelo's warm smile, they are the perfect hosts to a peaceful Tuscan getaway.

One tip: Casa Portagioa is truly off the beaten path (a big part of its charm). Make sure you try to find it during the day. Due to some travel timing, we arrived in the middle of the night. We did so, but not without some wrong turn adventures. Once we found the Casa P, it was worth the trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Songbird8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Not much more to say that has not already been said. Have had 2 fantastic visits to Casa Portagioia. Terry and Marcelo are marvelous hosts and Pieve di Chio is a fine base location for day trips to all that Tuscany has to offer. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We enjoyed our stay, the care and attention, beautiful location, peace and food!
Only thing that could have improved things was more time and better weather! :) but the lack of tourists was a real bonus!!
If you hire a car make sure you choose an automatic, the steep rise to the towns can be quite hairy.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed at Casa Portagiogia on our Italy Vacation with another couple. IT IS THE BEST place you can stay, everything attantion to details, their garden and breakfast. And please do not miss their a la carte dinners. THey even lend another couple a GPS. Every morning at breakfast they help us plan our daily trips. Marcello and Terry will make your vacation memorable and without them for sure we would have miss excellent places.

Room Tip: All rooms magnificent views
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Titita013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Marcelo & terry are amazing hosts. Took us to their friends winery, gave perfect recommendations, breakfast was great, and grounds were immaculate. Perfect balance between relaxation, privacy, and fun. Thx for amazing time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews