We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Portagioia the Spot to Stay”
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 December 2012

My wife and I stayed with friends at Casa Portagioia in September.
Our friends Carl and Karl previously stayed there and raved about it for two years.
So we had to come we were not disappointed it was better than expected.
Terry and Marcello met us at the gate with open arms.This stay was the highlight of our holiday and we will never forget the experience.
We awoke each morning to a great view and breakfast.Ofcouse some great advise on local site seeeing from our hosts.
One night during our stay Terry and Marcello had dinner on the premises.The food was absolutely brilliant especially the lemon tart.
Luckily Terry didnt cook his signature dish Paella or as Marcello names it the Volcano.
Marcello is a great cook and Terry is a very witty host.
This combination makes for a very enjoyable stay, which just adds to this experience.
This restored villa is abosultely charming with beautiful gardens and pool.
We spent a couple of days travelling thru the Tuscan hillside to Cortona, Montipuciano and Road to Siena not to be missed.
If you are thinking of going to Tuscany dont look anywhere else book Casa Portagioia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LaskoPelforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 434 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

Our family stayed at Casa Portagioia this past Summer. Terry and Marcelo are wonderful hosts. When you are there, they carefully attend to your needs without being intrusive. If you want to find something (winery, restaurant, etc.) they seem to know all the hidden treasures of the Tuscan countryside as well as the best way to see the big sites and hill towns.

One way they were very helpful was with our question regarding cooking classes. They showed us the normal organized high priced classes, but also a woman down the road who hosted classes in her home (and much more reasonably priced). We went with her and had one of the most fun and fulfilling days of our trip.

With Terry's dry wit and Marcelo's warm smile, they are the perfect hosts to a peaceful Tuscan getaway.

One tip: Casa Portagioa is truly off the beaten path (a big part of its charm). Make sure you try to find it during the day. Due to some travel timing, we arrived in the middle of the night. We did so, but not without some wrong turn adventures. Once we found the Casa P, it was worth the trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Songbird8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Not much more to say that has not already been said. Have had 2 fantastic visits to Casa Portagioia. Terry and Marcelo are marvelous hosts and Pieve di Chio is a fine base location for day trips to all that Tuscany has to offer. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We enjoyed our stay, the care and attention, beautiful location, peace and food!
Only thing that could have improved things was more time and better weather! :) but the lack of tourists was a real bonus!!
If you hire a car make sure you choose an automatic, the steep rise to the towns can be quite hairy.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulietsReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed at Casa Portagiogia on our Italy Vacation with another couple. IT IS THE BEST place you can stay, everything attantion to details, their garden and breakfast. And please do not miss their a la carte dinners. THey even lend another couple a GPS. Every morning at breakfast they help us plan our daily trips. Marcello and Terry will make your vacation memorable and without them for sure we would have miss excellent places.

Room Tip: All rooms magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Titita013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
12.8 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 2 in Piazzano
778 reviews
8.9 km away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 23 in Cortona
834 reviews
11.2 km away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
328 reviews
1.2 km away
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
#2 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
124 reviews
32.4 km away
Castello delle Serre
Castello delle Serre
#1 of 8 in Serre di Rapolano
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range: ₹ 11,639 - ₹ 17,538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing