We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&Bs we've been to in Europe”
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Portagioia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best B&Bs we've been to in Europe”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

All of the positive reviews here also reflect our opinion of how great Casa Portagioia really is. My wife and I have stayed at many excellent B&Bs in North America and Europe and this is definitely one of the very best. Terry and Marcello have created a superb vacation experience in a beautiful location.

GPS tip: Tom Tom seems to have trouble with the GPS coordinates for this location. It worked best for us to navigate to Pieve de Chio which is very close by. Here are some alternate GPS coordinates for the beginning of the driveway as you turn off the main road: N 43.35360 E 11.99255

Bottom line: If you are planning a trip to the Tuscany region this should be your first choice of places to stay. Excellent place in a beautiful setting in a terrific area of Italy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rainforest-Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
713
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was our second visit Casa Portagioia, the first time was in 2010. The welcome when we arrived was warm and sincere, it really felt like we were returning to see old friends. The grounds and the rooms are impeccable, Terry and Marcello make sure everything is fantastic. The breakfasts as usual are the best you can find. Relaxing by the pool in the late afternoons was a delight. We were fortunate this time to be at the Casa for the much anticipated Saturday night dinner. It was a wonderful 5 course meal, topped off by a delightful Tiramisu creation of Marcello's, one of our best meals in Italy.
Someone once said "we will try anything once, twice if we like it and three times to make sure"....we will return.

Room Tip: Grillandi is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunninAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I have a slight interest to state as Terry, Marcello and I were friends BEFORE they opened Casa Portagioia 10 years ago. I've therefore watched the development of their business since they opened and each time I arrive the slow maturing of the lovely gardens takes my breath away. Terry has naturally green fingers I believe. The accommodations remain superlative and improve actually as they've added this and that over the years - always absolutely spotless and maintained to within an inch of obsession - they now employ a wonderful housekeeper whose lack of any English (it's Italy, no problem) is made amusing by her warm nature and charming nonchalance - she's a wonderful addition to the staff.

As ever breakfast is a very enjoyable experience made more so by the lively banter of other happy guests from all over the world. Meanwhile, Marcello's evening meals just get better and better and the pleasure of taking up 3+ hours of a sultry evening to sample 5 courses of simple food nectar is a delight not to be missed. The dessert course for one evening, in my opinion, redefined the Tiramisu. Congratulations Marcello, such a clever idea and it was the only period of the lovely evening when all the 15 guests went significantly quiet, aside from their 'Ummms' of appreciation.

For many potential guests i.e. those with children, Casa Portagioia simply isn't available until the kids are making their own holiday arrangements. This is a place designed for adults to enjoy and catch up with calm, charm and total relaxation.

Room Tip: All rooms have it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollandiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Spent 2 nights from 3rd to 5th June. The rooms are very clean, with very comfortable bed and smooth bedsheet. Bathrooms are nicely and cleanly maintained. The view is awesome. The whole place is filled with beautiful flowers which are soothing to the eyes and mood.
Terry and Marcello are wonderful hosts! Marcello is attentive to every details, making sure you have a good breakfast, have a romantic and authentic italian dinner, giving directions and recommendations on places to visit around tuscany and making u feel at home. Terry is a really humourous host, he makes us feel comfortable talking to him about anything under the sun.
Would definitely recommend this place to stay if you are planning on a visit to Tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We knew before we arrived that Casa Portagioia was going to be wonderful but it far exceeds the beautiful pictures posted online. This was a little piece of heaven in the midst of the rolling hills of Tuscany. Unfortunately, when we planned our trip we packed too many stops in and thus had far too few days to spend at this glorious bed & breakfast, but the time we had was spent in the splendor of the rose gardens, vineyards and poolside. Terry and Marcello are fabulous hosts and we didn't lack anything in amenities. The apartment - once a "piggery" was absolutely charming and there was plenty of room for the four of us. Breakfast was more than plentiful and truly delicious. When we asked for ideas for our day both Marcello and Terry were quick to make suggestions along with directions on how to get there and the best times to go. they also had numerous ideas for places to go for lunch or dinner. This was truly a 5 star B&B. We have been raving to friends and family alike about how wonderful it was. We truly hope that we will have another opportunity to travel to Tuscany and we will most certainly stay at Casa Portagioia.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattyjo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
12.8 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
7.2 km away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
8.9 km away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#3 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
11.2 km away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
6.2 km away
Residence Le Santucce
Residence Le Santucce
#5 of 34 in Castiglion Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Property: Casa Portagioia
Address: Pieve di Chio | Cortona, 52043, Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,991 - ₹ 19,264
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing