We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Krystal Lodge, Coron”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Krystal Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Krystal Lodge
Ranked #44 of 61 Coron B&B and Inns
Turin, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Krystal Lodge, Coron”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We spent 4 days at the Krystal lodge. We met the beautiful family that manages the place, they were really friendly and open. They have helped us getting around and gave us a lot of tips about Coron, where to go and what to do. We even went on a night out with the girls. It is a nice and affordable place if you are backpacking and a good way to get a bit of the philippines essence. It was our first stop in the country and it was an amazing beginning. Oh and let me mention Krystal's nephew, an amazing smart and solar little girl that welcomed us every time we returned as we were part of her family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MicSu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    20
    13
    11
    15
See reviews for
9
31
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed at Krystal Lodge for almost a week and was very pleased. It was raining most days that I was in Coron but luckily Krystals lodge is full of cool little nooks and garden decorated rooms where you can comfortably lay in a hammock or lounge area and read or play on your wifi device. The food was great, but it was the amazing structure of this village on water with its top notch views of the sunset that really made it more than worth it. The prices were comparable to other places but no place was as interesting and homey feeling as Krystals Lodge which is why I stayed here. I not only had a very friendly experience with the staff and Krystal herself but was welcomed to drink and hang with the family on parts of the deck and one night they even took me and my crew of friends way off into the woods where we had a bonfire, made friends with a couple ducks, and had an awesome adventure :) It was a solid off the beaten track feeling of an experience. I can't wait to get back!! I saw so many good reviews, and theres always a few bad reviews. No one place will ever please everyone and its easy to have misunderstandings when different cultures try to communicate and clash... have an open mind, be easy, or as the filipinos would say bahala-nah :) After 14 months of backpacking Asia and Australia, I must say that Krystals Lodge was one of the most unique and interesting places of my whole trip. Check this place out!

Room Tip: The views are worth the extra money if youve got it... but the cheaper rooms are equally cool and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina. USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We went to Coron last year with 7 members of my family. We've never been to Coron but we've heard about the good comments about the place so we decided to go. We stayed at Krystal Lodge which is different from other hotels i've been used to. It is a simple place to stay, very basic, clean, relaxing, reasonable price, it is surrounded by water and all you can hear are the waves and the fan during the night. The family who owns it were so nice to us and that they made sure that everything were taken care of. We stayed there for 3 enjoyable days and I have already recommended alot of my friends to visit and some of them thanked me for recommending it because they told me that they really enjoyed the place and the people at Krystal Lodge. Lots of my friends loved the pictures I have posted on facebook and most of them are impressed so they are also excited to visit soon. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!!!! KRYSTAL LODGE, you are the best...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ayar_0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimhae, South Korea
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I hope people will read this story and decide NOT to stay here and not to chance getting cheated, like we did.

We saw Crystal Lodge online and it looked so neat that even though I saw the reviews saying the owners aren't very honest, we still thought we should stay there. We messaged Krystal about room rates and all and she said we should book in advance AND pay in full to secure our room. Her reason was the Coron Festival was around the time we were staying so it would be busy. *First lie-There was a festival but no tourists knew of it before they went to Coron/came there specifically for the festival.
We should have seen the red flag but we had never been to Coron so weren't sure if it would really fill up quickly or not and we did really want to stay there. So, like idiots, we sent her 4, 800 pesos for 3 nights. That's a lot of money! It was going to be one of our most expensive places. Unfortunately, a typhoon came through and they cancelled our boat from El Nido to Coron. The next boat wasn't going until after our 3 nights would have passed. So I called Krystal the day before we were supposed to be there and explained the situation and asked if we could get a refund. I told her to cancel our reservation so other people could stay there. She told me very clearly that it would be NO problem to get the money back (all the money) and that she would move our reservation to the 3 nights we would be in Coron. I told her we would not stay at Krystal Lodge so she could just cancel it.
So we finally got to go to Coron and after a terrible boat ride, we went straight to Krystal Lodge to get our money back, as promised. She wasn't there so we spoke to her sisters and dad who didn't know about the situation so they called her and I talked to her on the phone. First, she asked, "Well, when did you actually send the money?" And I KNEW that she was going to be a problem. So I told her when and she asked, "Do you have an actual receipt?" I did of course and had already handed it to her dad. She said she had to go check her account and would call back. When she called back, she of course couldn't say we hadn't send it, cause we had. So she chose another lie and told me, "I never actually said you could have a refund." It was lie after lie and I was so angry. It was obvious she was aware of her lies and was making up any lie she could to keep our money. I can't even write out all the things she said/made up because it would be too long. Finally, after a lot of yelling on my part and lying on hers, she said she would give us the 4,000 back but would keep the 800 for a reservation fee because, "Someone else could have stayed in our room but she had to turn them away since we were reserved." Another lie, since I told her to CANCEL our reservation the day before it started and it was HER idea to move it. Also, there were only a few guests staying there and there is no way she turned anyone away because of us. We had to deal with them for 3 days (the only days we had in Coron!) because her dad said he would give us the 4,000 the next day when he went to the bank. Of course, the next day the bank was closed so we had to go again the day after that. Even though Krystal was back from Manila, she never showed her face or spoke with us in person. She KNOWS she lied. The only person who didn't lie to us and try to cheat us was the assistant manager. I think her name was Maria. We met her the second day we went and she said she's knows all about how Krystal is and is very sorry. She got our money for us and helped us the 3rd day.

Please, do not stay at Krystal Lodge. We thought we'd be fine if we just slept there and didn't do tours through them or eat at their restaurant, where we heard the mom will try to get more money out of you. But we didn't even stay there and had 800 pesos stolen from us by Krystal! I hope you believe me when I say she straight up lied and pretended she never told me we could have a refund. Enjoy your time in Coron but do not stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Leilanijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coron hotels

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Before our trip, we decided not to book online or in advanced because as per blogs it is best to check personallu on the many places you can stay in coron.

We chose Crystal lodge because:
1. There is no highway noise. You can only hear the waves of the se and the sound of your fan.
2. Its surrounded by a body of water below it. And right on your window, you can get the best view of the islands.
3. Its so Filipino. From the bamboo made rooms, the wooden hallways, the kulambos, hammocks, old filipino interior design,
4. Compared to other hotels /inna that we've visited. It has more space and more comfortable.
5. Staff are sp friendly and you will feel so at home. You cant even call them staff because they aint got no uniform, they treat you like family.
6. Wifi is fast even if there is power outage.
7. Place is cold even without any cooling system.
8. On your way to the place, neighboring people will welcome you with a smile. So humble.
9. I paid 700/night instead of 800. Got a discount from the owner.
10. Might be more pricey for some but like what Zsazsa Padille had said, 'it was worth it!.

What you need to remember/bring when going to coron

1. Flashlight- there is always power outage here in coron and you might get stuck somewhere because it gets to dark when it happens,
2. Insect repellant- So many blood suckers anywhere in the city,
3. Loose change of money
4. Snorkles- they charge you if you borrow around 100-150
5. Smile!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Photographer1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coron hotels
0.2 km away
Busuanga Seadive Resort
0.1 km away
Amphibi-Ko
Amphibi-Ko
#6 of 26 in Coron
64 reviews
1.8 km away
Sunrise Pension House
Sunrise Pension House
#28 of 61 in Coron
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Coron Guapos Guesthouse
Coron Guapos Guesthouse
#16 of 61 in Coron
22 reviews
0.9 km away
KokosNuss Garden Resort
1.0 km away
RB Transient House
RB Transient House
#22 of 61 in Coron
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krystal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krystal Lodge

Property: Krystal Lodge
Address: Barangay Bancuang, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Coron
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Coron
Krystal Lodge Coron, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing