We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A jewel in the rocks!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Manish cottage

Manish Cottage. East Harris.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Manish Cottage. East Harris.
Kitchen Kitchen/living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
Manish Cottage. East Harris.
Kitchen
Kitchen/living room
Shower room.
Cluer point Harris
Is Bedroom
Highland soap
Loch in Cluer Harris
Autumnal Sykes are wonderful in Harris no light pollution
Beautiful sunsets in Harris all year round
Guest photo of Manish
local sheep
Donalds wee window
water lily in Harris
Wild Thyme
Ist Bedroom
2nd bedroom
Map of main routes
View above Manish
Manish Cottage.
View over Bay
Shower room
Shower
West Harris.
West Harris.
Beach west side  of Harris
Scalpay lighthouse.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Flodabay, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
weary121
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A jewel in the rocks!”
Reviewed 26 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Although a car is advised we came by bus and had fun planning all our little trips (the world-famous Luskentyre Beach, Rodel Church and Stornoway). Everyone we met (including Johan and Murdo of course, Steven the taxi-driver and the Distillery staff) were absolutely wonderful.
The cottage, beautifully and tastefully appointed yet preserving its traditional identity, is idyllic in a peaceful location but with all the necessary amenities. We loved the bathroom!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2017
Thank you so much ladies, lovely meeting you too and we are so glad you enjoyed Manish and the rest of Harris. Hope it has left you wanting more. Regards Johan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyAnn...
Benbecula Island, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well Kept, well equipped and lovely location.”
Reviewed 27 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cozy cottage - 2 good sized bedrooms but only one room for kitchen lounge and eating - very well equipped and immaculate. Fabulous location. Excellent base for exploring the islands and getting away from it all, Need to accept that no mobile signal or internet is available and just enjoy the peace and quiet!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2017
Thank you Tracey such lovely words. It is a great place to get away from it all. Hope all went well for you. Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah J
1 review
“Lovely remote cottage”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Just what we needed to celebrate the new year in quietly. Remote but lovely views. Cottage was basic but ideal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2017
Thank you for you kind words, we too love the quiet get away from it all.Regards Johan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidW881...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to get away from it ALL then this place is a must. At the end of a (more or less) private road and only a few feet from the sea this place is quiet to the extreme. We were fortunate that we had beautiful weather for almost the entire stay. Calm sea meant we regularly spotted our resident Seal only just off shore, or basking in the rocks. Sea otters have been seen as well, but not by us unfortunately.
There's no mobile phone coverage, no landline or internet and basic satellite channels, so bring plenty of reading !
The house is cosy, basically furnished and nice and warm thanks to the electric heating. Even with the heating off all day the place warms up quickly.
Don't expect any frills, but for the two of us it was ideal. If there were more than three people staying then seating in the living/kitchen area would be a tad cramped.
The nearest town with shops is about fifteen minutes drive north or south, so come well catered. There's a big fridge and freezer so you shouldn't have any problems.
This really is a place for those who love the outdoors come rain or shine but forget it if you expect fibre broadband and five star luxury. We'll definitely return :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2016
We are glad you enjoyed the quiet get away from it all in Manish. It is very peaceful which is what we enjoy too.Thank you for your stay and we welcome you back. Kind regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smrscot
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great wee cottage, clean as a whistle, and cosy.”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Enjoyed our stay at Manish Cottage. Very clean, cosy, everything we needed. The neighbours were very helpful, including delivering candles when there was a (thankfully short) power cut.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All was good, but the heating system was very efficient.
Liked least: No internet/phone, but didn't care really.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
Thank you so much happy you enjoyed your stay. Mike did message about the candles they are very kind. Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing