We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
81
12
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
12
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local guide bagdogra airport the owner home stay natural setting amazing walk local cheese local cuisine local monastery spent nights amidst nature west sikkim must visit place home cooked his team the cottages long journey
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

This was the highlight of our trip to Sikkim. Takes 5hrs from Bagdogra, on some very rocky roads at times! However it is truly worth the wait.
We stayed in the Heritage room with lovely views of the mountains. The walk to the viewpoint is totally worth it (watch out for the leeches though). We also did day trips to Pelling, the local monasteries, Azing farm (very interesting find), local cheese factory, suspension bridge etc.
The highlight of the stay was definitely the lovely local food that Thendup’s staff cooked for us each day! Nothing was too much trouble.

Thoroughly recommend this place. We stayed for 5 nights and could have happily stayed on longer.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank shrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

My family and I have been talking about our stay at Yangsum Farm ever since we returned.

It takes about 4 - 5 hours from Bagdogra airport depending on the roads. We took the mountain view facing deluxe rooms and wouldn't' swap them for any other room on the property.

Highlights of our stay were the freshly cooked DELICIOUS food, and getting to try the local brew - Chang. Thendup and his team were an absolute delight and nothing was too much trouble.

I'd recommend the short hike to the viewpoint + a visit to the local monastery. We hiked around a lot by ourselves too.

Carry lots of books, a pack of cards and be the sort of people who don't count on the staff to entertain them 24/7. It's not their job, although they leave no stone unturned to make guests happy.

Yangsum is a working farm and there's lots of fresh produce that grows on site. It was a joy spotting all the fruit trees and plucking fresh cardamom pods.

Thank you for the lovely memories, Thendup and crew. You have a beautiful home.

Room Tip: Choose the mountain facing deluxe rooms - great for privacy and views
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Living-n-Escaping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We stayed here end of May 2018, travelling as a group of 4 couples and 4 kids. Monsoon had just started and it was raining on all the three nights that we were there. The homestay is inside a small lonely hilly village with awesome view all around. You can keep behind all pollution, noise, all your gadgets and worries and soak in nature at its true sense. Look forward to some farm fresh simple yet tasty treats at all your meal times. If your are looking for a relaxing holiday then this place will be a great choice. Breathe in fresh air, go for long walks, enjoy the rain and dew drops dripping from the trees, or enjoy some me time sitting at the balcony with a book and a cup of hot tea. Its not a place for too much luxury but a place with required amenities to feel the nature and enjoy the quietness.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank somam333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

We stayed at Yangsum Farm for three nights mid May 2018, and I must say that this was the truly memorable part of our two week trip through Darjeeling , Rishenpong and Gangtok. The farm is in a very scenic setting and one gets totally taken in by the wonderful natural setting and the hospitality extended by Thendup and his amazing team.

We had taken the two independent cottages , and the same were extremely roomy, well furnished and clean. Food was extremely tasty and the vegetables were fresh off the farm and organic. every single request of ours were met with promptly and with a huge smile.

We went on a day trip to Pelling and our guide Tsheten , Thendup's cousin, who also is an excellent driver and a very knowledgeable person, made our trip truly informative and worthwhile. Thendup also organised a trek to a nearby location, with a day camping ,cooking lunch at the camp and a leisurely trek to and from the place. A must do for anyone visiting Yangsum.

In summation a must do place for anyone travelling to Sikkim.

Room Tip: Independent cottages offer the best view
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ravi15000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Yangsum is a quaint lovely village resort in Richenpong
People are friendly and happy to assist
anytime at all times
Nature abounds at all ends with a blanket of silence prevailing over the village more
often than not

A walkers paradise where faint drizzles will greet you now and then (in April)

The walk to the town uphill is a must do and so too the Veg momos and the Local prepared Chow min

Drives to the local travel hotpot are a must do as well just for the sights and sounds sake
I wouldn't hesitate to talk of the locations
in the same breath to Switzerland (Ascona)
(though at the times u may a hit rough
patch on the roads)

The air is clean and the water is mountain spring
Food was great at the resort especially
the Veggies with the Host Tashi and support staff being kind and patient

Yet important to point this not a travel destination for the comfort seeker
- because one could find the long journey from the airport to the resort a bit too long and rough or the few powercuts a bit tough to take or the crisp cool mountain
air for that matter

Though I'd always recommend that it would be worth it to overlook all these and jump in to the journey where - Travellers for travel's sake would find their
piece of H(e)aven

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mak2u9ow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews