We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
80
12
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
12
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bagdogra airport natural setting amazing walk local cheese local cuisine amidst nature spent nights local monastery west sikkim home cooked his team the cottages long journey views of the mountains three nights local sightseeing mountain range
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Yangsum is a quaint lovely village resort in Richenpong
People are friendly and happy to assist
anytime at all times
Nature abounds at all ends with a blanket of silence prevailing over the village more
often than not

A walkers paradise where faint drizzles will greet you now and then (in April)

The walk to the town uphill is a must do and so too the Veg momos and the Local prepared Chow min

Drives to the local travel hotpot are a must do as well just for the sights and sounds sake
I wouldn't hesitate to talk of the locations
in the same breath to Switzerland (Ascona)
(though at the times u may a hit rough
patch on the roads)

The air is clean and the water is mountain spring
Food was great at the resort especially
the Veggies with the Host Tashi and support staff being kind and patient

Yet important to point this not a travel destination for the comfort seeker
- because one could find the long journey from the airport to the resort a bit too long and rough or the few powercuts a bit tough to take or the crisp cool mountain
air for that matter

Though I'd always recommend that it would be worth it to overlook all these and jump in to the journey where - Travellers for travel's sake would find their
piece of H(e)aven

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mak2u9ow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

What a time we had! My partner and I were looking to have a relaxed holiday where we could simply absorb the beauty of SIkkim. And that's exactly what we got!

The hospitality at Yangsum farms was simpy perfect. The staff makes sure to pay attention to your every need. We were fed some really amazing and authentic sikkimese cuisine. The room was lovely, and since we visited in the winter (7 to 10 degrees!), the in-room heater and water heater were a boon :-)

Thendup, fondly known as Tashi, was an incredible host! He showed us around the gorgeous heritage property, full of trees and cardamom plantations, told us stories of the days gone by and introduced to us the Sikkim of today, He organised a vilage walk for us, which really opened our eyes to this distant world. And besides being a great host, Tashi turned out to be a really wonderful friend too, ensuring that we felt right at home even when we left his farm and travelled to Gangtok! We were invited into his home and family. That was an experience that we would never forget and will always forever cherish!

This is without a doubt one of the best places to stay at in SIkkim! Not to mention... on our last day in Yangsum, in spite of the cold weather, we were blessed by the sight of the mighty Kanchenjunga mountain range, which is a stunning view from Yangsum Farms!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livingjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

My family and I loved our stay at Yangsum Farm. Thendup was a wonderful host. He truly understands the meaning of hospitality. The rooms were lovely, the food wholesome and delicious, the views amazing and everything was spot on.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chandra_B_Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We spent four nights at Yangsum Heritage farm and enjoyed every moment. We love being in nature and you can't get much better than this. The scenery around the farm is stupendous. It is really well organised and the cottages designed and furnished with great taste. Thendup and his staff are always around to provide tea, coffee and advice on walking and hot water bottles at night! A lovely touch and necessary for us as it was quite cool when we were there.

We wanted peace and quiet and great walking and that is exactly what we got. On our second day Thendup recommended a walking guide and he (Kishen) took us on a four hour amazing walk through the forest past an active Buddhist monastery and through a delightful village. We passed near by some lovely homesteads and got an insight into how people live in the region.

The food was plentiful and delicious, all of it home-cooked and organic. We loved it! It was fun trying our local specialities like Momos which we had not eaten before.

The journey from the airport in Bagdogra to the farm is a long one (over 5 hours) and some of the time the roads are in poor condition so it is not for the faint-hearted. However, we felt that the destination more than compensated for the long journey. If you want magnificent scenery, great walking and total peace and quiet with excellent food thrown into the mix then this is the place for you. We visited in February and were glad of our warm sweaters and coats. You do need to note that it is chilly especially early in the morning and in the evenings.

Room Tip: All the cottages are beautiful.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Thendup is an excellent organizer, he helped us with everything we needed. He arranged a guide, advised us on transport, helped us with a very special request. He went above and beyond his call of duty. The property is beautiful, we stayed in a wooden yurt, it was spacious, had lovely views, a nice washroom. The building was spotlessly clean and in great condition. The scenery speaks for itself, it's beautiful. Perfect views of the Himalayas on a clear day. We fell asleep listening to sounds of nature, it was really peaceful and relaxing. The staff are attentive but also laid back, they are there if you need them but they give you privacy and allow you to roam without interruption. Hot water bags each night , a lovely touch. The food is fresh, home made , tasty and presented well. Overall it is a great place for a nature lover who wants to get away from a fast pace life. A perfect place to read your book in the individualized balcony attached to the yurt. It's a really special place.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank maevelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews