We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, awesome people.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yangsum Heritage Farm
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We went there in Apr 2017(Just last week). The trip to Rinchenpong is long but it is well worth it. It is a beautiful farm that has been built tastefully by the host Thendup. Other reviewers have mentioned many good things about the farm, so let me talk about the people.

It is the hospitality of Thendup and the team that really set apart this farm stay from our other stays in Sikkim. The host really goes out of his way to ensure that you are well taken care of. I was about to take a couple of local hikes but my shoes were damaged. Thendup offered his shoes and helped me complete the trek. On the last day, the shared taxi from Rinchenpong stood cancelled. Thendup personally drove us to Kaluk and ensured that we got our seats. The food was great too, some if it locally grown in the farm itself. The staff are warm and very welcoming of the guests. The momo making session was great too.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this farm stay to anyone and would go there myself if I ever travelled to Sikkim again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudarshan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Yangsum Heritage Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

We made a very quick impromptu decision to visit sikkim and decided on yang sum organic farm as it sounded just what we wanted... And we were not disappointed.. Just feel a little in love with the place.. The area.. Its just perfect... And the good was just Sublime.. Even though we were trekking everyday we were stuffed with the delicious meals that we were served... Wow is a good description.. Very innovative and amazing variety.. The local cheese is superb
and mr thendup is a lovely person and gentleman.. Very helpful thank you..
The room we had the one on the first level with a long verandah had so much character
I could go on and on
So to put it in a nutshell
Is a perfect place for any one to start their sikkim experience
We have fallen in love
With each other
And this place..
Thank you yangsum

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank anooplovesyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the farm after the beautiful but demanding Goechala trek. Our decision to treat ourselves for a stay there was one of the wisest we made on our entire trip!

They made us mouthwatering (vegan!) food, hosted us in a beautiful, large, comfortable room and helped us do exactly what we wanted - have a full rest for a couple of days, with some short walks in the area. Tashi, the owner, helped us with everything and anticipated our needs before they even occurred to us.

Thank you, Tashi, for amazing hospitality! Will definitely return when we come for the Utarrey-Singalila trek.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maayan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
62
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

We are a family of 4 (2 girls age 10 and 12). We visited Yangsum Farm from April 1-3. It is a rustic property in the middle of nowhere. The owner stays there with his family and is very hospitable and so is the rest of the staff. We had the first floor suite, which is the largest room with a balcony that had a gorgeous view of Kanchenjunga and the surrounding snow covered mountains. This is not a luxury property but everything you need is provided for and the stay was very comfortable despite numerous electricity disruptions. The food is simple, local and the owner again puts in a lot of effort in every meal.

The only negative is that reaching there is not easy. It took us more than 6 hours to reach from Bagdogra airport. Last part of the journey is trecherous (though beautiful if it is not cloudy).

Worth a visit if you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle, and looking for a peaceful and scenic getaway.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

At Yangsum Farm, which is a local families homestay with four rooms and have renovated it sympathetically. Each room has an en-suite bathroom, wooden floors and can be configured to be either a double or a twin. For larger groups, one can use one of the other four en-suite rooms available at Yangsum . There is also a dining room/living room which we share with the rest of the homestay. Located in West Sikkim, 2 kms from the small bazaar village of Rinchenpong, at an altitude of 1500 metres Yangsum , a 44 acre heritage farm.Built in 1833 and refurbished in 1966 , into a fabulous home-stay, now grows from cardamom and ginger to avocados , to oranges, peaches , apricots , mangoes and tea. With accommodation, four spacious, well furnished , simple double bedrooms, two with semi-attached bathrooms and two with en-suite bathrooms with modern fittings and running hot and cold water. There is also a communal sitting room and a courtyard where guests can sit and enjoy the sun and nature. The food served is all organic, tasty and given personal touch by the owners. The guests, besides the Indian get a chance to go for Sikkimese food like nettles, ferns and bamboo. With activities, guests are suggested to go for trek, where the owners, show some great paths to walk on, or to go for white water rafting, monastery tour or learn the Sikkim cooking where guests get an excellent opportunity to be taught traditional recipes and cooking methods of Sikkim on a wood burning hearth. Yangsum Heritage Farm, a beautiful home-stay in peace and beauty. A real escape from the noise and rush of city life in midst of the beautiful scenery of Rinchenpong !

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rinchenpong
0.0 km away
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
0.0 km away
Himalayan Retreat & Resort
Himalayan Retreat & Resort
#15 of 20 in Pelling
98 reviews
0.0 km away
Norbu Ghang Resort
Norbu Ghang Resort
#2 of 20 in Pelling
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Bliss Village Resort
The Bliss Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Chuchen
8 reviews
0.0 km away
Mandarin Village Resort
0.0 km away
Rinchenpong Village Resort
Rinchenpong Village Resort
#22 of 60 in West Sikkim
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangsum Heritage Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangsum Heritage Farm

Address: Rinchenpong 737111, India
Region: India > Sikkim > West Sikkim > Rinchenpong
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Rinchenpong
Price Range: ₹ 5,075 - ₹ 7,131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All meals included in room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelGuru so you can book your Yangsum Heritage Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing