We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yangsum Heritage Farm
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We (a family of 6) visited Yangsum farm in end-December 2016. I was actually looking for places at Pelling but having left it too late, we were faced with the prospect of staying in a typical touristy hotel. When we stumbled across Yangsum heritage farm on trip Advisor, we were fascinated by the reviews. And honestly, the place is all that you read about and much more. Rinchenpong is a quaint little town, about 5 hours from Darjeeling. The owners, Tashi and Pema have converted their family house into a farm stay. Tashi was very friendly from the start - and the entire booking process was so easy. We drove to Yangsum from Darjelling (not-so-great roads but fabulous scenery!) and Tashi kept giving us directions on the phone. As you take a narrow path from the main road and round the corner and reach the lawns of Yangsum - there, before you, is the majestic Kanchenjunga in all its glory. We reached at tea time with the sun setting in the background and that was just the beginning of a beautiful three-day stay.
Yangsum has several types of cottages, apart from Tashi's house, the kitchen and the dining room which are centrally located. All the cottages overlook the lawn and the farm. We chose the 3 rooms with a verandah - the rooms were huge and could have easily accommodated 4 people! There were plenty of warm rugs and blankets (a blessing in the chill December weather!). The kitchen provides hot masala chai in the mornings, and home-cooked food 3 times a day. The food was sumptuous and tasty; we especially loved the fresh fruits provided with each meal.
There are several treks and walks in the vicinity; Tashi can arrange visits to the nearby monastery, village or even a sightseeing trip to Pelling. But I would suggest that you do just what we did - laze around and enjoy the place and avoid travelling too much. The children on the farm were so sweet - my son loved playing with them and cuddling a set of new puppies which had just arrived on the farm! Pema and Tashi were extremely caring and friendly and always ready with helpful suggestions.
My niece spent a lot of the three days walking around, trying to get the best pictures of Kanchenjunga - and then on the day we were to leave - we realised that the best view was in fact from the lawn right in front of our room.
This has been one of my most idyllic holidays ever - and Yangsum is a must-do-again on my travel list. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Priya1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Very nice place, set amidst nature. There is a very nice farm. The owner was very accommodating, although we were late, he had kept lunch for us. The food was really good. Over all staff, food, location, scenary and rooms are amazing. I think for honeymoon couples it's one of the best place.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Pratip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Set high on the mountain side and well away from any town, this was a quiet and interesting stay. Unfortunately for us, the clouds covered the mountains but the place is beautiful. Very friendly and competent host and his staff - great food. Great walking in the village around the farm with very friendly folk.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the heritage farm in the beginning of november 2016. It is a beautiful place and the staff made us feel very welcome. The little house was very nicely furnitured. The garden beautiful and the view on the Himalayas great

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank margakroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We were immediately made to feel at home in this truly excellent homestay. The room was an amazing round wooden chalet like building with views over the whole of the Himalaya mountain range in West Sikkim. It was large, clean, charming and with a perfect bathroom. The food was delicious and very varied, including edible orchids, and a lot of the produce from the farm. Thendup, the owner, couldn't have been nicer. He treated us like royalty, and with huge kindness, especially as we arrived from Delhi with Delhi Belly! We stayed here 6 days before going on a trek to Donzgri, and again two days after. I can but recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rinchenpong
6.6 km away
Norbu Ghang Resort
Norbu Ghang Resort
#2 of 20 in Pelling
279 reviews
13.0 km away
Summit Sobralia Resort & Spa
7.8 km away
Himalayan Retreat & Resort
Himalayan Retreat & Resort
#13 of 20 in Pelling
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Bliss Village Resort
The Bliss Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Chuchen
8 reviews
6.2 km away
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
3.4 km away
Rinchenpong Village Resort
Rinchenpong Village Resort
#25 of 62 in West Sikkim
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangsum Heritage Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangsum Heritage Farm

Address: Rinchenpong 737111, India
Region: India > Sikkim > West Sikkim > Rinchenpong
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Rinchenpong
Price Range: ₹ 5,082 - ₹ 14,007 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All meals included in room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Yangsum Heritage Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing