We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic charm in the shadow of Kachenjunga!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yangsum Heritage Farm
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Rustic charm in the shadow of Kachenjunga!”
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This rustic farm style homestay has beautiful large rooms simply furnished with wood pannelling and traditional charm. My roundhouse room had almost 360 degree views of the surrounding mountain ranges - wake up looking out on Kanchenjunga! Great traditional sikkimese meals served in lovely dining room also wood pannelling. Rate is all inclusive and they will send you a packed lunch for hikes and excursions to nearby attractions.

Room Tip: Roundhouse room with views to Kachenjunga
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
27
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Far away from the maddening city life and tucked away into the lap of nature lies the Yangsum Heritage Farm near the town of Rinchenpong. Its location enables a clear view of the Mt. Kanchenjunga from its gazebo as well as some good options for nearby village walks over the hills.

Thendup and his team (Manoj, Sayban, Yukila, apologies for not remembering the names of others) ensure that you are given the right information to plan your itinerary around the place as well as making your stay in their farm cottages comfortable. There are four cottage structures in all at the property - one in which the resident team stays in while the remaining three structures accommodate the guests. The cottage rooms are sparsely yet tastefully furnished with attached toilets.

While not offering an 'a la carte' choice, the food during breakfast and meals is very likely to appeal to the taste buds of the guests. It is recommended that the farm is kept as a base location and half day / full day trips or morning / afternoon treks are undertaken to take in the beauty of the nearby surroundings.

Key takeaways are:-
1. West Sikkim is not yet as frequented by tourists as the Eastern part of the state (mainly Gangtok). This offers the required blend of solitude and the feeling of having the nature's bounty all to yourself.
2a. The farm property is located amongst a lot of vegetation and as such one needs to be okay with tolerating the occassional encounters with the wildlife. Over here I am referring to something more scary than the big cats - spiders, insects, leeches et al :-)
2b. The farm property is not a luxury resort - hence no TV, swimming pool or a gym/ club house. However, being in West Sikkim one would hardly want to stay indoors given the inviting outdoors!
3. The terrain being mountainous and the road conditions being what they are, covering more than 15-20 kms in one hour would be highly improbably. Hence planning day trips to nearby places need to be factored in accordingly.
4. Some nearby places for sightseeing include:- the Pemayangtse monastery, Rabdentse ruins & Khechopalri lake near Pelling (approx. 65 kms away); Buddha park, Maenam hill near Ravangla. One can also undertake good walks on the nearby hills in the direction of towns such as Legship.
5. In case of any questions / support needed for deciding on where to go during the stay, seeking Thendup's and his team's advice would considerably help.

Overall, we had a great experience and would love to visit the place again!

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AjayGhanekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinchenpong, India
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2016

This home stay was recommended by a friend of a friend (thank you Pema) I was immediately made welcome and a young lady of the family back on break from University has aleady taken me for a walk around the local homesteads that are a part of this hillside. On return from my walk I was offered filter coffee which I am drinking now and it is yummy. The Octagonal cottage room is huge and smells of the beautiful wood it was built from. Immaculately clean and now time for a shower. A must for any visitor to West Sikkim!

Room Tip: The Octagonal Cottage will have views of kangchenjunga when the cloud clears
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2016

The owner, Thendup, is a wonderful, warm, helpful host. The farm has been in his family for generations. I had a view of Mt. Kanchenjunga right outside my window in a beautiful octagonal cabin, all built from wood from the farm. Delicious home cooking with local organic food. Wonderful day hikes through the forest and villages, visits to the local monasteries. The people of Sikkim are very special: peaceful, generous, friendly... buddhist prayers flags everywhere. I felt completely safe and comfortable traveling by myself as a solo woman.
Few tourists!!! go now !!
Also, the driver , Raju, who met me at the train station and drove me 5 hours up to the farm is wonderful man and I will never forget the young guide who took me on a long hike which included list to his family village . These people, this place, will be in my heart forever. Of course , i want to go back.

  • Stayed February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janewickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2016

My Husband and I both had a simply fantastic time at Yangsum Heritage Farm.

The rooms were all very clean and the food was simply excellent. The host, Mr. Thendup Bhutia was extremely helpful in helping us plan our 3 days in Rinchenpong. He also showed us around the farm and gave us a tour of their kitchen garden. We did a day trek from the farm until the old monastery and back. This trek was very invigorating and we got a glimpse of the village life, the forest and the mountains! The guide provided from the farm was very good.

On our last day, we were able to get a breathtaking view of the Kanchendzonga from the window of our cottage! The window is opposite the bed and you get a view of the mountains right from your bed.

  • Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roopa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rinchenpong
0.0 km away
Norbu Ghang Resort
Norbu Ghang Resort
#2 of 20 in Pelling
274 reviews
0.0 km away
The Elgin Mount Pandim, Pelling
0.0 km away
Himalayan Retreat & Resort
Himalayan Retreat & Resort
#15 of 20 in Pelling
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Chumbi Mountain Resort & Spa
0.0 km away
Mandarin Village Resort
0.0 km away
Ghonday Village Resort
Ghonday Village Resort
#1 of 78 in West Sikkim
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangsum Heritage Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangsum Heritage Farm

Property: Yangsum Heritage Farm
Address: Rinchenpong 737111, India
Region: India > Sikkim > West Sikkim > Rinchenpong
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Rinchenpong
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,135 - ₹ 6,098
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All meals included in room rate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing