We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Exbury Gardens & Steam Railway
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Riot of Colour

We became members after our first visit last month. This visit in May was even better - the... read more

Reviewed today
FoodyBoody
,
Salisbury, United Kingdom
via mobile
STUNNING!

Stunning Gardens and the Vegan/Vegetarian cafe was superb, even for a non veggie! Well worth a... read more

Reviewed today
E893AOtonyp
via mobile
Read all 1,251 reviews
  
Reviews (1,251)
Filter reviews
1,251 results
Traveller rating
642
401
121
59
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
642
401
121
59
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews exbury gardens steam railway new forest beaulieu river full bloom gift shop sundial garden car park sandwiches tea room cake play area autumn colours ghost train lovely place many years lovely walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,251 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2020

We visited Exbury Gardens during winter and we were a bit disappointed. We felt that the price was not worth it considering that there was not much to see during that time of the year. Also, because of the COVID-19 restrictions, we had to book an entry slot in advance and the steam railway was closed.

We spend 2 hours in the gardens and we still didn't manage to visit all the areas. The best part of our visit was when we reached the point that the gardens meet the river. It was also just before dusk and the light was very beautiful.

Date of experience: December 2020
2  Thank Elinamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExburyG, Guest Relations Manager at Exbury Gardens & Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2020

Dear Elinamic

Thank you for taking the time to leave is a review.

I am sorry that you felt the price was not worth it. This is the first time we have been open at this time of year and we have reduced the prices for the winter. We will certainly take your comments on board when planning for our 2021 season.

I am pleased to hear that you thought the light was beautiful at Beaulieu river.

Please do come and see us again next year.

Kind Regards

The Exbury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2020 via mobile

Even in these difficult times Exbury has something different to offer, peaceful and tranquil setting totally stunning gardens that whilst man made has a natural quality that is hard to beat. Easy to negotiate paths with plenty of interesting trees and plants even in the dead of winter, a sunny crisp day obviously helped but we will return in the spring. It’s funny how close we live to this beautiful place it’s only the second time I have been here in thirty years !

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank jamescG6945ZX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExburyG, Guest Relations Manager at Exbury Gardens & Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2020

Dear jamescG6945ZX,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely 5* review.

It is always so wonderful to hear how much our visitors enjoy spending time in the gardens.

We open next year on the 1st March and we hope to see you then!

Kind Regards

The Exbury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2020

We visited for the first time in half term for the Halloween event. We really enjoyed walking through the gardens and filling in our activity booklet and we loved the ghost train! Stunning gardens, I only wish we had longer to explore. We will definitely return :)

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExburyG, Guest Relations Manager at Exbury Gardens & Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2020

Dear Elaine B,

Thank you for leaving us a super 5* review.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the gardens and the Ghost train.

Please come back and see us next year for our 2021 season.

Kind Regards

The Exbury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2020 via mobile

Lovely gardens, nice walk and beautiful scenery. Allows dogs. The only thing the signs aren’t as accurate at the moment. Might be because of COVID-19, however we did have fun finding the little walks around the paths The cafe next to it serves food and drinks, but if you can bring your own as very expensive and not too much for the value really. However packed lunch, doggie on the lead and you’ll have a great day . Also has children play areas

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank lorae846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExburyG, Guest Relations Manager at Exbury Gardens & Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2020

Dear Lorae846,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review.

It is wonderful to hear that you had a great day out here with us.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the café when they re open in 2021.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

The Exbury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2020

These are absolutely magical gardens. So peaceful and full of interest. Totally dog and child friendly we had a wonderful day. The colour in the garden is amazing, even in November. This garden is good for the soul! I look forward to coming back soon.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank PhiSwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExburyG, Guest Relations Manager at Exbury Gardens & Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2020

Dear PhiSwit

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a super 5* review.

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoy spending time in our gardens.

We are most definitely in agreement with you that the garden is good for the soul.

We hope you come and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

The Exbury Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews