We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple menu well cooked”
Review of The Queen's Oak

The Queen's Oak
Reserve with OpenTable
The Queen's Oak is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 28
Cuisines: Barbecue, British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: The only pub in the country named The Queen's Oak. 400 years old & built on a Roman ruin. A proper English pub serving nice homemade British food and a range of beverages including cask conditioned real ales. There are plenty of picturesque walks nearby and just opposite is St Michaels Church. We welcome dogs, horses and well behaved children and have a large, safe garden and play area. An excellent venue for a country style wedding, christening or any celebration. We also host during the summer some hog roast and BBQ.
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

The Queen’s Oak is pleasantly situated in a quiet corner of Finchampstead by the church. Comfortable, unpretentious interior (a little over heated on the day we visited) has a few tables, mismatched chairs and simple menus. Roasts, burgers, fish, pizza are all available. The beef burgers were juicy and in a pleasant bun, excellent chips. Chicken burger was equally good as was the haddock. Not exactly fine dining and nothing innovative on the menu but good plain food that almost everyone will be able to enjoy.

1  Thank arborfieldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2018

We visited the Queens Oak for a family lunch. There were 12 of us (including a 3year old and 2 babies) and we were seated in the separate small room to the left as you enter. This turned out to be a great location and the food, service and value, were all very good. The service wasn't fast, but was relaxed, as we like it.

They have a good selection of gins and beers and the food menu is relatively small but varied, with everything from duck or fish to pizzas and burgers. There is something for everyone. The quality of the food was good and I would recommned this pub for good food at reasonable prices.

It has a welcoming atmosphere and was a good venue for our family to get together. I'm looking forward to going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pierre c, Owner at The Queen's Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Geoff S,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you in the next future.

Thank you very much,

Kinds Regards,

Cynthia & Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We really enjoyed our Sunday lunch with the QO. Good choice of food, great service, range of drinks. Prices competitive. The QO is a lovely traditional pub. We are returning on 22 April to celebrate my rather special birthday with family and friends.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pierre c, Owner at The Queen's Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Judi,
Thank you very much for the nice review.

We are looking forward to welcome your party very soon!

Thanks again for the lovely review!

Kinds regards,

Pierre & Cynthia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Having just moved to area we were keen to try a local pub so visited for lunch today. We had nachos and dip to start - delicious and we'll worth a try. I could have eaten the dip all afternoon. For mains, I had roast beef and partner had a burger. Roast was great in both quality and quantity, burger was also rated by my partner (who is French and always finds something to complain about!) He hasn't stopped commenting how good the chips were. Staff were all friendly and all in all it felt like a super friendly cosy pub that I highly recommend and look forward to visiting again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pierre c, Owner at The Queen's Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear James,
We are all very happy that enjoyed your meal with us.
Thanks again for the lovely review!

Pierre & Cynthia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

The Queens Oak is a very welcoming pub with a friendly French landlord, good selection of cask ales and the food is excellent. We had the steak and chips, the Halloumi burger and the fish and chips and all of them were delicious. Highly recommended and the garden will be great in the summer.

1  Thank IanT250666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pierre c, Owner at The Queen's Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear IanT250666,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy to heard that you enjoyed your meal with us.
We are looking forward to see you again.
Kinds regards.

Pierre & cynthia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queen's Oak also viewed

Finchampstead, Wokingham
Eversley Cross, Hampshire
 
Eversley Cross, Hampshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to The Queen's Oak? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing