We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Whatstandwell, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jimsgirl1...
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in September 2018

We had an extremely warm welcome from our hosts including gorgeous biccies. Plenty in the cottage to keep us entertained. The cottage was clean, comfortable and huge. Everything had been thought of so we didn't have to worry about a thing and the hosts were on hand for any questions. The views were amazing and the cottage had been finished to an extremely high standard. The beds were huge and comfy, the showers were hot and powerful and we really couldn't have asked for anymore for my son's first holiday. We will definately come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury barn conversion in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 11 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Slacks Barn is a spacious, luxury barn conversion with stunning views. Both bedrooms en-suite, large lounge and kitchen, plenty of parking and close to local amenities such as the Crich Tramway Museum, Heights of Abraham, Matlock Bath and parks in Matlock. Owners and neighbours very helpful and friendly. A very clean, comfortable holiday base.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane D
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slacks Barn is Amazing!”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Slacks Barn is by far the best holiday rental we have stayed at. From the moment we arrived we were amazed by the wonderful views and the sheer quality of this barn conversion.The rooms are huge especially the two bedrooms which both have excellent en-suites, one with shower, and the other with shower and bath. A very large kitchen area is very well equipped and a pleasure to cook in. We entertained friends for the first weekend we stayed and visited the National Transport Museum which is just up the road and well worth a visit.
Our dog had a wonderful time with some lovely walks.The very friendly owners allowed us to use their fields to walk him also. You do need a car unless you are super fit and can manage the steep hills but there are many walks on the level such as the Cromford Canal. The Wifi worked very well and phone signal good in the kitchen, plenty of books and local information.
All in all we had a lovely week and would recommend Slacks Barn to all who would appreciate the quality of this conversion and the views to die for!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HchyGirl
England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Our dogs first holiday in paradise”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed Easter 2017 the place had every comfort - a real home from home with great view from the back door, Nice walk down and along the canal.

The place felt roomy and we felt very relaxed after a few days.

Negatives I would say - its not very near pubs or restaurants - we did see one in the village but would really be suitable to walk to as the lanes are unlit.

However if you go with the intention of driving everywhere or dining in then that would not be a problem.

The owners have promised a barbecue area at the side of the barn which would be fantastic as its a great sun trap. Will have to visit again to check that out!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroM7924
Fareham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything you need.”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Slacks Barn is in a stunning location, and there is so much to see and do. We didn't have time to visit all the locations recommended, and also the weather was not kind to us. The house has had no expense spared, on the fixtures and fittings.Rooms large, especially the bedrooms, and lots of things made for a very enjoyable holiday. Books, games, jigsaws etc. Maps and leaflets about the area. Welcome pack with shortbread, yum.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing