We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb”
large squashy feather sofa, real fire, huge roll top copper bath, mezzanine bedrom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
large squashy feather sofa, real fire, huge roll top copper bath, mezzanine bedrom
Candle lit copper bath with view of real fire and stars above through huge skylight
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
large squashy feather sofa, real fire, huge roll top copper bath, mezzanine bedrom
Candle lit copper bath with view of real fire and stars above through huge skylight
Luxury Oversized double ended copper bath and large walk in power shower
Real fire, squashy sofas, great views, inspirational decor
Romantic, private dining area
Kingsize mezzanine bedroom with two huge skylights for star gazing and views to your living area below
The Garden Barn at Heald Country Hoise set i some of Cheshires finest, rolling countryside
Large, open plan private sitting and dining room with stunning decor, real fire and beautiful views.
Relax in your own private garden
Order a breakfast hamper
Day bed in the sitting area
Kingsize, White Company Clad Mezzanine Bed
Complimentary toiletries, towels and robes
Staying in is the new going out1
Your own roaring log burner
Squashy feather sofas with fab views
A table for two?
Toasted marshmellow anyone?
The ultimate way to star gaze!
The Garden Room Exterior
The Ultimate Boutique Retreat
Looking into the Garden Room from your private garden
Up the (beautifully lit) wooden hill to bed
The Garden Room Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cholmondley, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louie2567
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superb ”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for some much needed luxury and relaxation. I loved it, the attention to detail to make it a quaint and vintage feel was fantastic. The standard of the accommodation was first class as was the service.
The bath had to be my favourite thing ever!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
So glad you enjoyed your time in The Garden Room Barn. Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SjM M
Devizes
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“just so Romantic and cosy”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

i would advise anyone to go and stay here it is remarkabley comfortable and romantic and private! it was just what we were looking for (i stayed here with my husband). Rachel is the hostess with the mostess and could not have been more accommodating. Her style runs throughout the property, cosy, vintage with a dash of luxury! A perfect secret little retreat, if you like comfy sofas, lovely cosy beds, baths infant of roaring log fires then this is your place! five stars!!!
We booked a second visit whilst there it was that good!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior comfort
Liked least: nothing, it was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillytall...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful romantic setting x”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this place after weeks and weeks of searching for the perfect accommodation for a relaxing weekend retreat for me and my husband. To unwind and chill from our hectic life style as ways I booked with anticipation. I was total relieved when I opened the door to the garden room it was breath tAkingly beautiful. Racheal has thought of everything , every tiny essential has been covered , the tags on everything to let you know wgAt is in where to the orange juice in the fridge to the fresh bread supplied, just perfect. The location was just as is imagined with I my tractors to dusturb us . You def won't be disappointed when booking a stay in this place you will just wish it could be longer like we did. Thans Rachel . X oh and the BATH was the best bath I've ever had x I need one / want one x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECTION!!!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Valentines day, and couldn't have asked for a better weekend. Rachel is such a lovely host, making you feel so welcome. The setting of the place is stunning. The Garden room is just beautiful, the staggering attention to detail makes the place feel so homely, cosy and warm. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, especially due to the wizzy egg machine - a big bonus!
I overall we had the most incredible stay, and cannot wait to return. Thank you so much for making our weekend so magical!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammifer
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect haven with everything you could possibly need for a retreat away from it all!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Where to begin! I booked this cottage as a surprise for my boyfriend on his birthday before he went off to Afghanistan on tour so was looking something that little bit extra special! We have had cottage breaks before and enjoyed them however they were nothing compared to our stay at the Garden Room!

Rachael and Louis were fantastic! Nothing was too much trouble for them! From the huge smiles that we were greeted with when we arrived until we (begrudgingly!) left! We took advantage of the private dining and had Rachael and Louis cook for us on the Saturday night. With my boyfriend being quite the Foodie, he was left in awe of our meal which was delicious!!

As for the cottage itself, the thought and care that has went into creating this place is amazing. I stay in a lot of hotels with work but when I first opened the door into this cottage on the Friday afternoon the only word we could both muster up was 'Wow!'. The entire place screams luxury with the homely touch and feel! We had deliberately made no plans as we wanted to spend as much time as possible in the cottage to just relax and chill out which is exactly what we did! Everything from the log burner to homemade breakfast Rachael had left for us is fantastic! The little touches like the huge copper bath, bone china tea set and gorgeous soft bed linen made the weekend for us! There are two huge skylights over the bed on the mezzanine floor which we opened on the Saturday night and we were able to lie and stargaze - you could have heard a pin drop outside as it was so silent and peaceful!

It was a little chilly the weekend we stayed so unfortunately we didnt take advantage of the outdoor area and the coal pit, however we are planning to go back in the summer and take full advantage as the sunsets were beautiful overlooking the countryside - however watching them from the comfort of the sofa in front of the fire was equally as perfect! :)

in regards to location, we spent the afternoon in Shrewsbury on our way home and also sampled the local pubs which are mentioned on the website which are also AMAZING!

Rest assured, this place is as amazing in reality as the pictures make it look! we spent two night here and both my boyfriend and I come away feeling like we had had a weeks holiday we were so refreshed!

Rachael and Louis, thank you so much for everything! We will most definitely be back this summer and hopefully take advantage of hanging a rather large white dress from one of those strategically placed nails in the wall that you told us about in a future visit!! :)

All our love, Dave and Emma x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the luxury feel to the place
Liked least: absolutely nothing - it was all amazing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2014
Dear Dave and Emma,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It was an absolute delight to meet you both and I really do hope that white dress scenario happens soon! I can't think of a more perfectly matched couple!

Very best wishes,

Rachael Hill xxxxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing