We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ballfields Barn,

Relax in a 4 Star, Gold Award, luxury self catering holiday cottage in the Peak district
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in a 4 Star, Gold Award, luxury self catering holiday cottage in the Peak district
Traditional stone built exterior, contemporary conversion inside. Gated access to the property private and secure location in the owners grounds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Relax in a 4 Star, Gold Award, luxury self catering holiday cottage in the Peak district
Traditional stone built exterior, contemporary conversion inside. Gated access to the property
private and secure location in the owners grounds
full oil fired central heating and a cosy wood burning stove
freeview TV, DVD, Wi-fi
Quality contemporary furnishings throughout, natural slate floors and modern lighting
cosy wood burning stove
living/kitchen and dining areas are open plan making this a spacious and welcoming space
fully equipped modern kitchen with quality appliances
lovely open views
single beds under low beams
super king sized bed, on request, only when occupied by 2 guests, one ensuite has to be shut off
spacious living areas tastefully laid out for you to enjoy
quality en-suite facilities, relax in a luxurious roll top bath and enjoy the view
twin bedded rooms with luxurious comfortable beds and quality bedding, memory foam mattresses
goose down toppers, egyptian cotton bed linen, goose down duvets and pillows
separate shower room with automatic lighting and extraction and towel warmers
laundry with quality appliances
breathtaking panoramic views and a warm personal welcome
incredible location next to RSPB Coombes Valley Nature Reserve.
Idyllic peaceful setting  with superb views . Easy access to Leek and picturesque villages.
Surrounded by farmland and wooded valleys,
located in an area of outstanding natural beauty amidst fields and gentle wooded slopes
stunning sunsets
Deep snow but cosy inside!
deep snow
Glorious sunny day on the Barn patio
Woodland pavilion to enjoy the spectacular views.
winter view looking west
2018 Certificate of Excellence tripadvisor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bradnop, Leek, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard C
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Excellent accommodation
Excellent views
Excellent hosts.
Plenty to do locally
Would highly recommend

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
Thank you for such a great review.We really enjoy having guests.This part of Staffordshire has such a lot to offer visitors. We love living here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wanted to recharge the batteries and relax - just the place to do it”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The barn was fantastic - well appointed and there was nothing we could want for. We took our two dogs and they had a ball as they had their own field to run about in. The weather wasn't great but as we wanted to relax it gave us the excuse to stay in front of the fire and do just that. Isabel and Brian were on hand if needed but not at all intrusive and immediately made us feel at home.
There is plenty to do in the area such as Alton Towers, Walking, RSPB site adjacent to the property, and so much more.
We all enjoyed our time at the barn and hope to visit again. Thanks to Isabel and Brian for sharing such a great property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Field for the dogs to let off steam
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2014
Thank you for such a great review. We enjoy having guests to share our lovely views and where we live. So glad the dogs had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justanyna...
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“highly recommend”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Our first time away from home at Christmas and we could not have chosen a better cottage to spend it in. Beautifully converted barn, with everything you could want for a cosy week, the kitchen is very well equipped, we cooked a Christmas meal and had everything we could possibly need. Isabel and Brian made us very welcome and were on hand in case we needed anything at all. Very comfortable and enjoyed the lovely log burner, would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. They were very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O
Tow Law, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We booked this cottage as a late booking and, having never visited the area before were a little concerned . Should we have been ? Absolutely not ! From arriving at the property and being greeted by Isabel and Brian ( who are two of the nicest owners I have ever met ) to leaving the following week it was absolutely first class. Tips on where to visit and eat to general chit chat, with a lovely dog to go with it! We couldn't have felt more at home. We have visited and stayed in many cottages throughout the country. Some were very good. This has been by far the best. We wanted for nothing and had everything.I could not recommend this cottage and its owners enough. Would we return ?? Can't wait. Thanks Isabel & Brian

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Parking and peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thank you so much Oxlee family. So very kind. We love having guests and you were great. The cottage was so clean and tidy, it makes such a difference.
Hope to see you soon. Isabel and Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunnock1
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nature, peace and quiet.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This beautiful cottage is the perfect retreat from the frenetic rat race we may find ourselves embroiled within.
This peaceful setting is a home from home and all attention to detail and beyond is tastefully laid out for you to enjoy. Bed linen is good quality, cutlery and crocs all very nice. Decent pans and equipment in the kitchen enabled me to cook as I would at home. The hosts are exceptionally warm and friendly and their welcome set the tone for the rest of our stay. We enjoyed the local RSPB reserve and were even able to observe whilst sat cosy in the cottage thanks to the bird feeders placed in the gardens - fantastic! We saw a barn owl - star of the show, woodpeckers to name but a few and were thrilled at the swallows feeding nests of squeaking young in the nearby barn.
The nearby Roaches, though busy, are stunning get there early if you can and do stop at the Roaches Tea Rooms - very nice. If you are confident reading an OS map (Explorer OL24) there are ample footpaths from the front door of the cottage. We thoroughly recommend this place if you enjoy peace and quiet, walking and nature.
We hope to return thank you Isabel and Brian for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, peace and quiet, very comfortable.
Liked least: That we don't live here!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing