We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Barb's Bakery & Bistro
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Ganges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Barbs is almost always busy with plenty of locals lining up for the great food and good service. Incredible baked goods as well as gluten free bread. They usually sell out! One of the best breakfasts on the island, took me way too long to find this place!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank owlchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017

Very popular. Good food and pleasant service. Cafeteria style place which gets crowded. Also has on site bakery with good pastries.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Vacationer803305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Lovely bakery with take-out and cafe seating, attached to a larger sit down restaurant with table service. We were a party of 7 right at lunch time on a holiday Monday and needed to wait for 20 minutes, and decided to split into two groups so we didn’t need to wait longer. The food was awesome - all home made, fresh, tasty and reasonably priced for the quality. Our group enjoyed smoothies, made-in-house veggie burgers (they also have gluten free bread) and excellent lattes. Service was very friendly and fast. They have a great selection of bakery treats, including amazing cheese sticks and cinnamon swirl pastry. This restaurant was here 25 years ago, and although it has expanded a bit, is just as lovely if not lovelier to visit today! The setting is classic west coast, open concept and exposed beams.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Kit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Had trouble breathing inside due to how crowded it was, also smells like non eco/scented cleaning products

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank Julietteee123ertr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

After hitting up Burgoyne Bay Provincial Park for a quick hike to Daffodil Point, my wife and I heard, via word-of-mouth, that Barb’s would be an excellent spot for lunch. We were not disappointed!!

We both ordered salads, with the Mrs. ordering the Warm Maple Brandy Pear salad. She loved it, especially the warm pear, with baked pecans, and a house vinaigrette that was perfect in taste and application, supported by delicious and fresh greens, and crumbled bacon.

I had the Hot Seafood salad, which was my first experience with such a cuisine. Mouthwatering scallops, with properly cooked prawns, and homemade bacon bits, mixed with crunchy romaine lettuce, and a great blending of greens, with the right touch of garlic & Parmesan in the Caeser sauce.

Our taste buds were delighted, our stomachs were full, and all this on a patio that was blessed with a lot of sunlight, friendly people & pets, and a wonderful autumn breeze.

“We shall return!”

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank TravellerJRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barb's Bakery & Bistro also viewed

Ganges, Salt Spring Island
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Ganges, Salt Spring Island
 
Ganges, Salt Spring Island
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Barb's Bakery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing