We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Be ready to bargain... and bargain hard!

If you are looking for a trinket, or a (supposed) museum piece, or anything in between, you... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Brent H
,
Oakville, Canada
Huge

This place was really large and packed with all kinds of African art. It was almost overwhelming... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
notwitter
,
Houston, Texas
via mobile
Read all 73 reviews
  
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
25
19
15
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
19
15
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge selection african art t shirts price range en route fair price cultural heritage household items great food bathroom break art pieces extra suitcase bought several boxed lunch high end serengeti national park street vendors
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2018

They had beautiful products in all price ranges. I purchased several items from carvings to linen and everything in between. The pricing was a little questionable, but I did get what I wanted. If you go, remember to negotiate.

Thank Lorigd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J W, Media at African Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Lorigd,

Thank you for visiting African Galleria and taking the time to leave us a review!

We are happy to hear that you found what you were looking for, and hope you also enjoyed the traditional African market experience where you have the opportunity to negotiate the price for every treasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

I'm not one to write bad reviews, but I'm very sad with my experience here. We selected 10 cute stone hippos as souvenirs for our cousins. Once done we negotiated a price with one of the helpers at the shop. After coming to an agreement we go to pay, and we get our purchases wrapped up.
Only upon unwrapping it much later do we notice that there are 10 figurines, but much smaller ones, and of different animal kinds. This is an utter disgrace from a shop that has such a reputable presence. I don't mind paying the right price for what I want, but getting cheated with items I don't desire speaks very poorly of the shop and its whole staff. Please avoid going there.

Thank Manojah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J W, Media at African Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Manojah,

We are very disappointed to hear of your experience while visiting our shop, and apologize for any mix up in the items that were delivered to you.

If you are still in the area, we will be happy to exchange the wrong animals with the correct hippos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Our tour guides stopped here prior to us starting our safari with a ten minute tease telling us we would have two hours to shop on our way back. We really didn’t need two hours as it became apparent that the prices were very inflated so that you could barter with the staff. I just wish they’d put a fair price on the product and be upfront. We found that even the “bartered” price was very high. The products are beautiful and there are truly some incredible pieces in the gallery. We finished shopping and spent the remainder of our time enjoying a great cup of coffee in the adjoining restaurant.

Thank ransclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J W, Media at African Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Ransclan,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the coffee in our restaurant! We now have a beautiful coffee shop inside the galleria that you can enjoy as well.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our gallery and products. We do try to provide a genuine African bargaining experience, and encourage shoppers to bargain to their hearts desire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

What a shop. Every type of African nicknack you could require from a cheap fridge magnet to the most amazing ornaments costing plenty. Scarfs, bracelets, blankets, t-shirts you name it they sell it. Also the best toilet facilities outside a hotel/lodge. They also have an undercover area selling cold drinks and snacks. Well worth a visit.

Thank carolfranklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J W, Media at African Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear CarolFranklyn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! And thank you for the kudos to our bathrooms!

We appreciate your positive feedback, and are glad to hear you enjoyed our range of African art and curios. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Wouldn't think we would have stumbled into such a beautiful store on the way to safari! Huge selection of beautiful handmade art, jewelry (affordable to high end) and souvenirs AND the best, cleanest bathrooms that we have found in Tanzania! There is also a nice place to eat (either ordering there or sitting with your boxed lunch from safari). Worth a stop!

Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J W, Media at African Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Josh S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review after your visit to African Galleria!

It brings us great joy to know that you enjoyed your African Galleria experience. We take pride in keeping our facilities clean and ready for each and every guest :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews