We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bothy

Aerial View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial View
View of The Bothy and the private garden for guests. Living room with patio doors to watch the birds feeding.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Aerial View
View of The Bothy and the private garden for guests.
Living room with patio doors to watch the birds feeding.
View of the Peel tower from the Bothy garden.
Living Room.
Treat yourself to a cosy night in.
Living Room.
Overall 1.5 acre's of private premises.
Fully Equipped Country Kitchen.
South facing private patio area.
Bedroom with super-king size bed.
Bedroom with super-king split into singles ( if requested ).
Bedroom with built in wardrobes and dressing table.
North View with plenty of private parking.
Bathroom which has a shower over the bath.
Nearby Hallington reservoir ( fishing from land or boat available on day pass).
Nearby Belsay Hall & Castle.
Nearby Hadrian's Wall. This section at Steel Rig has a nice walk along it although a bit up & down.
Nearby Hareshaw Linn at Bellingham.
One of the few locals !
Stargazing From Little Bavington.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Little Bavington, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ann F
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb Cottage”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We have just stayed three nights (19 - 22 Jan) at the cottage and what a pleasure it was. Christine and Keith the owners were very welcoming, there cottage is as it says comfortable, well equipped and the views are lovely and in a peaceful setting. When we arrived the heating was on so it was nice and warm and there was a bottle of wine left for us which was a lovely touch. We were in the garden quite a bit as we took our two little dogs with us, too cold to sit out but I would imagine in the Spring it will be glorious, lots of bird feeders therefore lots of different birds, Thank you for your hospitality and allowing us to stay in your lovely cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
We thank you for taking the time to leave a review plus your lovely comments within it, they are much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you both again ( and the dogs ) and like you say, hopefully next time it will be a bit warmer.
Kindest Regards
Keith and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnay
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ms ”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a Gem! This is such a great find I would recommend you find a reason to go. Superb location & a clean, comfortable and cosy cottage The owner Keith is a lovely chap.
I was sad to leave and I am now working out when I may return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind comments and review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that you can return. Kindest Regards Keith and Christine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
31jackie
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely, cosy and well equipped cottage with beautiful views.”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We considered ourselves very lucky to have found The Bothy after they had a cancellation. We received a lovely welcome when we arrived like a family of drowned rats as the weather wasn't being very friendly. The Bothy is very comfortable and the bottle of wine was very much enjoyed when we had dried out. The dogs loved the garden although I think Gulliver was a bit overwhelmed by the cows first thing in the morning - sorry about that. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it. Thank you Christine and Keith.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and garden.
Liked least: Being housebound because I'm on crutches.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
We are so pleased you both ( plus Gulliver and Charlie ) enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your kind words and review, its much appreciated.

We are also pleased the diving at the Farne islands went well and enjoyed hearing about the seals.
You have got us thinking about giving diving another go !

We hope to see you all again some time,
Kindest Regards
Keith and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Home from Home”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband, our new baby and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at The Bothy cottage. The owners Keith and Christine were very courteous and polite from our initial enquiry, through the booking process and right through to our departure home.

The cottage is exactly as the photos show. The outside gardens and drive are lovely; there is ample parking outside where the car can be driven right outside the frontdoor which is great for unloading/loading the car.

All the rooms are well furnished/stocked.

-The kitchen had all equipment needed for cooking and even small things you find in your own kitchen like cling film/carrier bags/washing up cloth.

-The living room is spacious yet cosy and has a traditional style with a modern edge.

-The bedroom is well laid out with a lovely dresser and plenty of wardrobe space with hangers with lots of natural light when the curtains are opened.

Every window has a lovely view but the view from the kitchen window was stunning. You can even watch the sunset from the garden where two carefully placed chairs and a table are.

We used The Bothy as a base given the glorious weather visiting, Hadrian's wall, Corbridge Roman Site, Alnwick Castle and Bamburgh Castle. If there weather wasn't so great though there is a selection of books and DVDs to help pass the time.

We throughly enjoyed our stay and would return for a relaxing short break. The Bothy is attached to the owners house, but as it has its own parking area/garden it feels secluded. The location of The Bothy is wonderful, it feels remote and is surrounded by beautiful countryside, yet near enough (less than 10miles) to local amenities such as supermarket/pub/restaurant.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
We are so happy that you found The Bothy a home from home and that you enjoyed your stay.
We also thank you for your lovely kind words, they are much appreciated.
We hope we see all three of you again in future,
Kind Regards
Keith and Christine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joods67
Weybridge
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peace and space in the Northumberland countryside”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have a wonderful stay at the Bothy at the end of July. Unfortunately the weather at the beginning of the week wasn't too kind, but it didn't stop us from going out and about. Had we chosen to stay in the cottage was very well equipped with games, DVDs and a large TV in a lovely and well appointed living room with a patio onto the garden where we could watch the many varieties of birds. It was great to be able to park and un/load straight to the front door, and the cottage was spacious - plenty of room to move around. Keith and Christine were nearby if there were any problems and always very helpful. The views from the cottage are beautiful and there was a space for our dog to stretch his legs, which was welcome. Thank you Keith and Sue for a wonderful stay; ope to return in the future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely review and kind comments.
We really appreciate when people have enjoyed their stay and had a good holiday.
We hope we see you both again (and Oscar of course).
Kindest Regards
Keith and Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing