We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,294)
Filter reviews
2,294 results
Traveller rating
1,378
596
190
71
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,378
596
190
71
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset restaurantdeluxe roomdhoni barmanta rayswater villaour honeymoonfishall inclusive packageour waiterroom boymain restaurantbeautiful islandhalf boardkite surfinginfinity poolcrabdiving school
Filter
Updating list...
425 - 430 of 2,294 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2016

I was a little sceptical to go to Oluveli considering a few bad reviews regarding Veg and Indian food and certain other issues . Special thanks to Heena, because of her explanation of each and every poor and terrible review , we booked Olhuveli. We did not regret our decision. We travelled two families together and stayed in Presidential suite. Pick up from airport, transfer to the Island was excellent & prompt. Anna was already waiting at the arrival dock, she was very efficient and fast - Thanks Anna. We were transferred to our suite in no time and were informed about an evening welcome party at the beach. The presidential suite has not much of a decor, however bathrooms were big and very well bifurcated in sections and the view great from here too. There was a wide array of tea choice in our suite.Own deck and a private swimming pool with a wonderful view made our stay memorable. We could see ray fish and other fishes from our deck every evening after sunset , sometimes during the morning also. Since the water in the lagoon is about 2-3 feet high, we could wade, swim, float in the sea.

We understand they are going to renovate the villas and going to make the interiors better ( currently the decor is too simple and bland). However the exterior decor of the resort is very good. What I liked the most is that they have made beautiful lighting arrangements in an inexpensive way. They have used coconut shells as planters which looked very good.

At the beach party again we met Heena who introduced us to other staff who made our stay in the resort very comfortable . The staff is very soft spoken and eager to help you always. Despite an array of world cuisine in the sunset restaurant for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner, we were additionally provided with Indian Veg food of our choice . Chef Saqib needs a special mention and thanks for the tasty Indian veg food he prepared for us.

Since our suite was at the far end, and with small kids, we could promptly get the electric cart service on call.The resort is very well maintained.

The only suggestion was that the water body in the spa needs to be cleaned as it is a breeding ground for mosquitoes and our child got bitten by mosquitoes in atleast 20-30 places in 15-20 minutes of his stay in the spa reception. Also we felt the message packages with other services were not worth the huge price tag on them. I got water treatment done and my friend the chocolate package but we suggested our husbands to go for only message packages like the Balinese message or their signature message.

Our suggestion for fellow Indian travellers would be to be in touch with Heena before reaching the resort- you can ask her all queries and concerns you have and she shall patiently reply back to you . Also if you are a vegetarian and cannot manage without Indian food, be in touch with Chef Saqib.

Overall a great olhuveli- Maldives experience.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank meghagoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Dear Megha,
Sunny Greetings from Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort!

Thank you for visiting Olhuveli during your recent holidays in Maldives. We are happy to receive your constructive feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in our luxurious Presidential Water Suite.

We are indeed lucky to have such a great location, just 45minutes by speedboat from Male’ International Airport. It is great to hear that we were able to cater to the whole family and ensured a perfect family holiday in our paradise island.
We appreciate your individual recognition of our staff members and will forward your compliments to Heena, Anna and Chef Sakib personally. Also we will take your feedback to heart and look into the critics mentioned.

We thank you once again for choosing us as your holiday destination and look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing experience.

Please kindly get in touch with us if you require any assistance with your future travel plan.

Kind Regards,
Ali Yoosuf
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Stayed here for 1 week in a deluxe villa on an all inclusive package. The resort is tired and is in need of refurbishment to bring it up to the standard it alludes to be which is 4.5* (I would personally rate it as an average 3* at best) . The food selection at the buffet restaurant is somewhat repetitive despite there being attempts for themed nights. The prices if you're not AI are extortionate and would simply break the bank in a very short space of time. The alternative eateries, which we did not try, were deemed to be better than the buffet, however, you only get a $25-30 lead if you decide to eat at them. This is a little annoying when lunch is charged at approximately $65 per person so not too sure of the rationale here. The Sunrise pool was in need of repair- multiple broken tiles in it, which were sharp and would inflict a laceration if you accidentally caught yourself on them- this repair was started whilst we were there so hopefully this niggle is now remedied. The infinity pool was the nicer of the two and breezier, but it isn't clear where the incremental slopes are to the deeper sections and many people were stumbling which isn't good if you are a little nervous about water depth. The room was very tired with old battered furniture and stains on the day bed in the room- not a good feature. The bathroom/wetroom was doable and functional. We did have an issue with the AC not working and that was repaired fairly promptly. One of the big problems was that on the day of departure the AI stops at 12.00 which is fine if you're leaving early, but we didn't leave until 20.00. It seems a greedy gesture on behalf of the resort, as there are many guests who leave before breakfast so surely this must balance out. Some guests were given lunch on the day of departure, but as we had lunch the day we arrived this seemed to negate an inclusive lunch on our last day. We did complain about this and eventually got our lunch without charge- a principal issue. If you want to extend your room on the last day be aware that they charge $75 per person for a late checkout- another example of the high tariffs, although we had the use of this at no extra charge due to our comments about various issues to management which was a nice goodwill gesture on their behalf. The main positive factor at this resort are the staff, they are excellent and do try to please the guests. Be aware though that you may be informed you cannot eat outside of the sunset restaurant due to possible adverse weather but this isn't the case; so be insistent, as it is pleasant to eat breakfast and dinner alfresco. We did explore this with management who weren't aware of such rules.
We have been to better resorts in the Maldives so would not rush back.
Room Tip: upgrade from a deluxe villa, as they are pretty basic

Stayed: June 2016
Thank tomboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

10 fantastic days in Olhuveli with fantastic staff at all the bars, sunset restaurant .
Shareef and all the lads , Dhoni bar staff great , sunrise staff great Maar and the other lads, omeletts every morning made with a smile, I must say the staff are a credit to Olhuveli and all the other guests we met from Liverpool, Sunderland, Middlesborough, Russia made it a wonderful holiday for us both.
Bill and Pauline Wallace.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Bill and Pauline,

Greetings from Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent holiday and sharing your valuable feedback here.

We are thrilled to learn that you had an amazing experience here and enjoyed the mesmerizing natural wonders of our island in the comfort of our spacious villas. It also truly delights me that you felt that our team really mean the word hospitality and we were able to impress you with our warm welcome.

It feels rewarding to read that you found many other guest friends at our resort and we would like you both to visit us yet again.

Once again we are delighted to receive your enthusiastic review here and we would definitely await for an opportunity to welcome you back in our little patch of paradise.

Warm regards,
Ali Yoosuf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Stayed with my wife for 5 days, the resort has a lot to offer.

Tried all the restaurants in the resort, My favourite is The four spices restaurant and my wife liked the selections from Lagoon restaurant out of all. Angella at Lagoon restaurant was very courteous and professional.

Breakfast at Sunset restaurant was not boring, as they keep shuffling the dishes ensuring that the choices are not for every alternate days.

We stayed in the Jacuzzi water villa 325, the view was out of the world and u never get bored, the room was very spacious but the interior looks very old and tiring, also needs improvement in cleaning. Wifi was not fast enough and the connection breaks quite often, which was fixed immediately by IT support on our first day.

The only thing that bothered us during the stay was the Air conditioning in the villa which was not cold enough and fan doesn't help either.

Staff in general very friendly and recognize you every time, every staff passing by will greet you.

Tips:
1)Dont go with All inclusive pack and stuck with the same restaurant choices. They have 4 restaurant all worth a try.
2)Do not plan your dinner after 8:30 or 9Pm, they close the restaurant at 10Pm ( we were seated at Plankton grill at 9Pm, the waiter was too hesitant, checked the time twice and said "you are late but its fine i will give you a table" with lack of interest.
3)sunset fishing is not fun at all
4)Day tour - Snorkeling was fun (Bring your own snorkeling gear) , the private island BBQ lunch was amazing, local island visit is a waste of time.

Over all the resort is worth a visit for a first timer, Will definitely recommend to my friends.

Thank you team for taking care of My pregnant wife.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sri1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Valuable Guest,

Sunny Greetings from Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort.

Thank you very much for such a lovely descriptive review of your recent stay with us. It feels so rewarding to read that you have utterly enjoyed your trip with us.

We are extremely pleased to read that you had a wonderful gastronomic experience here and enjoyed simply every little thing we offered in our island. We are also very glad that you were satisfied with our dining options, the cuisines offered in our restaurants and recommend others to try out a la carte restaurants as well.

Our highest priority is to deliver our products and services as we describe it, hence our team always ensures that we deliver all our services consistently and top notch to all our guests. It is very rewarding to hear that you are overall satisfied with our services and that our staff members stood out making your stay here even more memorable.

Your recognition of our staff members brings us so much delight and it has been communicated to the entire team who also shares the same enthusiasm. It is the encouragement and gratitude of guests such as yourselves that makes us strive harder to ensure maximum guest satisfaction and a memorable stay for all our guests.

We are so glad that you found our resort worthy of your commendations as it has always been our mission to provide outstanding hospitality and our staff gives attention to detail to ensure that all guests are satisfied and leaves with a great impression same as you have left us.

We are also a resort who greatly rely on guest feedback and we always keep it in consideration while we bring important changes in our resort, hence we have noted your constructive opinion and it will assessed by our management team.

Thank you once again and we truly appreciate your time with us and we look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the island in a not too distant future.

Warm Regards
Ali Yoosuf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

We travelled as a couple on the 12th of May from the uk and was lucky enough to stay for 3 weeks in a water villa.We have previously stay in the Maldives at Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu so our expectations were high as we had a wonderful experience there.
On arriving we was surprised at the size of the island although not the biggest resort in the Maldives by far. Check in was a bit long winded as after a long flight you really just need to get to your room and settle in but we had form filling to do along with a talk of the island all inclusive plan etc. We felt that this really could have been delayed to the following day. We then had to wait for about an hour for our room but we had a drink at the Lagoon bar and the time soon passed by as the setting was truly beautiful. We stayed in the deluxe water villas and had room 104 clean fresh modern white décor newly fitted bathroom which also had an opening in the floor to view the ocean below. We was told by the reception that this is the only water villa to be modernised in this way including the Jacuzzi water villas so we felt very lucky indeed.
Our title reads " nearly perfect" and will get straight to this point."the sand ".... It is not powder soft which most people envisage Maldives islands to have, this initially was really disappointing but as the days passed it became less of an issue. There is some lovely soft sand spots but generally a little gritty from decayed coral and also areas of hard compact sand,we think the best area of beach for sand was on the sunset side in front of the deluxe beach villas. The beaches however were beautiful and we walked daily along the shore.
The sunrise side has no wind and the sunset side is always receiving a welcoming breeze which the kite surfers took full advantage of.The wind may change during the season but that am not sure of.
The Sunset buffet restaurant was a pleasure with options to eat indoors or al fresco on the decking the restaurant always had a cooling breeze blowing through so never became stuffy or uncomfortable. Sheerfe our attentive waiter always accommodated us with a table by the doors which we requested for initially and thereafter one was always ready for us.The food was delicious plenty of variety for all nationalities and even over 3 weeks the food never became repetitive. We took our breakfast at the Four spices it was a delight to sit on the decking looking over to the sand banks it was also very peaceful and some mornings we were the only couple in there. In addition we had two evening meals the Thai food was excellent . Your all inclusive drinks are included and also $50 credit so was not to pricey around £70 . It made a welcoming change to be served at your table, and well worth the additional cost.
The Dhoni bar was our favourite place to relax and have a drink in a breath-taking setting. We enjoyed many evenings also in there as it was very peaceful. Hasan the bar man was always so welcoming and courteous and when the bar was quiet took time to have interesting talks with us. We found all the staff to be superb but for us Hasan was the star. If you wish for your evenings to be entertained you head for the Lagoon bar, each night there is something going on from live music, party night, crab racing etc,
From the decking of our villa we saw many varieties of fish, sting rays and lucky enough to have an eagle ray visit us also. There is many small fish around the bottom of the stilts of the villas but to see the most spectacular sights you need to swim over the house reef to the drop off where fish are in abundance.
Overall we had the most amazing holiday on this beautiful island some people may think 3 weeks in the Maldives would you get bored no not once!!! Olhuveli has it all with its numerous bars, restaurants, water sports, snorkelling, diving, you can do as much as you want or as little as you want. We would certainly recommend Olhuveli it is a magical place with wonderful staff that the owner should be very proud of, a very special thank you to Hasan who's professionalism should not go unnoticed.

Room Tip: water villa 104 as only villa totally refurbished modern white décor new bathroom with ocean viewing gallery...
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank dawn-bluey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016


Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from our beautiful patch of paradise!

It was a great pleasure having you here with us once again, and we are glad that you left us with wonderful memories and experiences that will remain with you throughout your life and will enthuse to return to our little paradise. We are truly delighted to know that we were able to meet your expectations and that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Your generous praise regarding our island has been shared among the entire team and I am glad some of them stood out during your time here .We always value our team as they are the wonderful faces that help us create wonderful experiences for our guests. Your personal recognition for Hassan and Shareef is very well received and we are pleased that they went way beyond to serve you and make your stay pleasant.

Needless to say, we are so glad to learn that you truly had a memorable stay with us. We believe in personalized service and fulfil all our guest requirements as per their needs and that guest feedback is the root of our growth as it motivates all of us to achieve higher standards to meet the growing expectations of our guests.

We appreciate you having taken the time to share your experiences and comments, as it is only through feedback of our clientele that we can continuously review and improve our services and quality offered. We are happy to know that you had a good time with us, it brings us immense pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed all the wonderful things that our little paradise has to offer including the meals in restaurants and great service by our staff members.

Again many thanks for choosing Olhuveli Maldives as your holiday destination and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ali Yoosuf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews