We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olhuveli Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Over the last 2 years we've stayed at the Olhuveli on 4 different occasions, we keep coming back! We've tried other resorts in the Maldives but find that the Olhuveli is the perfect mix of luxury, amazing aquatic life while not being too far away from the mainland (45 min boat ride). The buffet and food generally is quite good and the rooms are appointed well. It's also simply amazing watching the Manta Rays feed at the end of the jetty. Boat diving is great but the house reef is nothing special (best house reef is at the Ayada, Maldives). Service needs some improvement - it seems the resort is continually understaffed and service takes longer than expected.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CCTravelCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 302 of 2,068 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2016

I was a little sceptical to go to Oluveli considering a few bad reviews regarding Veg and Indian food and certain other issues . Special thanks to Heena, because of her explanation of each and every poor and terrible review , we booked Olhuveli. We did not regret our decision. We travelled two families together and stayed in Presidential suite. Pick up from airport, transfer to the Island was excellent & prompt. Anna was already waiting at the arrival dock, she was very efficient and fast - Thanks Anna. We were transferred to our suite in no time and were informed about an evening welcome party at the beach. The presidential suite has not much of a decor, however bathrooms were big and very well bifurcated in sections and the view great from here too. There was a wide array of tea choice in our suite.Own deck and a private swimming pool with a wonderful view made our stay memorable. We could see ray fish and other fishes from our deck every evening after sunset , sometimes during the morning also. Since the water in the lagoon is about 2-3 feet high, we could wade, swim, float in the sea.

We understand they are going to renovate the villas and going to make the interiors better ( currently the decor is too simple and bland). However the exterior decor of the resort is very good. What I liked the most is that they have made beautiful lighting arrangements in an inexpensive way. They have used coconut shells as planters which looked very good.

At the beach party again we met Heena who introduced us to other staff who made our stay in the resort very comfortable . The staff is very soft spoken and eager to help you always. Despite an array of world cuisine in the sunset restaurant for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner, we were additionally provided with Indian Veg food of our choice . Chef Saqib needs a special mention and thanks for the tasty Indian veg food he prepared for us.

Since our suite was at the far end, and with small kids, we could promptly get the electric cart service on call.The resort is very well maintained.

The only suggestion was that the water body in the spa needs to be cleaned as it is a breeding ground for mosquitoes and our child got bitten by mosquitoes in atleast 20-30 places in 15-20 minutes of his stay in the spa reception. Also we felt the message packages with other services were not worth the huge price tag on them. I got water treatment done and my friend the chocolate package but we suggested our husbands to go for only message packages like the Balinese message or their signature message.

Our suggestion for fellow Indian travellers would be to be in touch with Heena before reaching the resort- you can ask her all queries and concerns you have and she shall patiently reply back to you . Also if you are a vegetarian and cannot manage without Indian food, be in touch with Chef Saqib.

Overall a great olhuveli- Maldives experience.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank meghagoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Dear Megha,
Sunny Greetings from Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort!

Thank you for visiting Olhuveli during your recent holidays in Maldives. We are happy to receive your constructive feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in our luxurious Presidential Water Suite.

We are indeed lucky to have such a great location, just 45minutes by speedboat from Male’ International Airport. It is great to hear that we were able to cater to the whole family and ensured a perfect family holiday in our paradise island.
We appreciate your individual recognition of our staff members and will forward your compliments to Heena, Anna and Chef Sakib personally. Also we will take your feedback to heart and look into the critics mentioned.

We thank you once again for choosing us as your holiday destination and look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing experience.

Please kindly get in touch with us if you require any assistance with your future travel plan.

Kind Regards,
Ali Yoosuf
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Stayed here for 1 week in a deluxe villa on an all inclusive package. The resort is tired and is in need of refurbishment to bring it up to the standard it alludes to be which is 4.5* (I would personally rate it as an average 3* at best) . The food selection at the buffet restaurant is somewhat repetitive despite there being attempts for themed nights. The prices if you're not AI are extortionate and would simply break the bank in a very short space of time. The alternative eateries, which we did not try, were deemed to be better than the buffet, however, you only get a $25-30 lead if you decide to eat at them. This is a little annoying when lunch is charged at approximately $65 per person so not too sure of the rationale here. The Sunrise pool was in need of repair- multiple broken tiles in it, which were sharp and would inflict a laceration if you accidentally caught yourself on them- this repair was started whilst we were there so hopefully this niggle is now remedied. The infinity pool was the nicer of the two and breezier, but it isn't clear where the incremental slopes are to the deeper sections and many people were stumbling which isn't good if you are a little nervous about water depth. The room was very tired with old battered furniture and stains on the day bed in the room- not a good feature. The bathroom/wetroom was doable and functional. We did have an issue with the AC not working and that was repaired fairly promptly. One of the big problems was that on the day of departure the AI stops at 12.00 which is fine if you're leaving early, but we didn't leave until 20.00. It seems a greedy gesture on behalf of the resort, as there are many guests who leave before breakfast so surely this must balance out. Some guests were given lunch on the day of departure, but as we had lunch the day we arrived this seemed to negate an inclusive lunch on our last day. We did complain about this and eventually got our lunch without charge- a principal issue. If you want to extend your room on the last day be aware that they charge $75 per person for a late checkout- another example of the high tariffs, although we had the use of this at no extra charge due to our comments about various issues to management which was a nice goodwill gesture on their behalf. The main positive factor at this resort are the staff, they are excellent and do try to please the guests. Be aware though that you may be informed you cannot eat outside of the sunset restaurant due to possible adverse weather but this isn't the case; so be insistent, as it is pleasant to eat breakfast and dinner alfresco. We did explore this with management who weren't aware of such rules.
We have been to better resorts in the Maldives so would not rush back.
Room Tip: upgrade from a deluxe villa, as they are pretty basic

Stayed: June 2016
Thank tomboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

10 fantastic days in Olhuveli with fantastic staff at all the bars, sunset restaurant .
Shareef and all the lads , Dhoni bar staff great , sunrise staff great Maar and the other lads, omeletts every morning made with a smile, I must say the staff are a credit to Olhuveli and all the other guests we met from Liverpool, Sunderland, Middlesborough, Russia made it a wonderful holiday for us both.
Bill and Pauline Wallace.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Bill and Pauline,

Greetings from Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent holiday and sharing your valuable feedback here.

We are thrilled to learn that you had an amazing experience here and enjoyed the mesmerizing natural wonders of our island in the comfort of our spacious villas. It also truly delights me that you felt that our team really mean the word hospitality and we were able to impress you with our warm welcome.

It feels rewarding to read that you found many other guest friends at our resort and we would like you both to visit us yet again.

Once again we are delighted to receive your enthusiastic review here and we would definitely await for an opportunity to welcome you back in our little patch of paradise.

Warm regards,
Ali Yoosuf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Stayed with my wife for 5 days, the resort has a lot to offer.

Tried all the restaurants in the resort, My favourite is The four spices restaurant and my wife liked the selections from Lagoon restaurant out of all. Angella at Lagoon restaurant was very courteous and professional.

Breakfast at Sunset restaurant was not boring, as they keep shuffling the dishes ensuring that the choices are not for every alternate days.

We stayed in the Jacuzzi water villa 325, the view was out of the world and u never get bored, the room was very spacious but the interior looks very old and tiring, also needs improvement in cleaning. Wifi was not fast enough and the connection breaks quite often, which was fixed immediately by IT support on our first day.

The only thing that bothered us during the stay was the Air conditioning in the villa which was not cold enough and fan doesn't help either.

Staff in general very friendly and recognize you every time, every staff passing by will greet you.


Tips:
1)Dont go with All inclusive pack and stuck with the same restaurant choices. They have 4 restaurant all worth a try.
2)Do not plan your dinner after 8:30 or 9Pm, they close the restaurant at 10Pm ( we were seated at Plankton grill at 9Pm, the waiter was too hesitant, checked the time twice and said "you are late but its fine i will give you a table" with lack of interest.
3)sunset fishing is not fun at all
4)Day tour - Snorkeling was fun (Bring your own snorkeling gear) , the private island BBQ lunch was amazing, local island visit is a waste of time.


Over all the resort is worth a visit for a first timer, Will definitely recommend to my friends.

Thank you team for taking care of My pregnant wife.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sri1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Valuable Guest,

Sunny Greetings from Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort.

Thank you very much for such a lovely descriptive review of your recent stay with us. It feels so rewarding to read that you have utterly enjoyed your trip with us.

We are extremely pleased to read that you had a wonderful gastronomic experience here and enjoyed simply every little thing we offered in our island. We are also very glad that you were satisfied with our dining options, the cuisines offered in our restaurants and recommend others to try out a la carte restaurants as well.

Our highest priority is to deliver our products and services as we describe it, hence our team always ensures that we deliver all our services consistently and top notch to all our guests. It is very rewarding to hear that you are overall satisfied with our services and that our staff members stood out making your stay here even more memorable.

Your recognition of our staff members brings us so much delight and it has been communicated to the entire team who also shares the same enthusiasm. It is the encouragement and gratitude of guests such as yourselves that makes us strive harder to ensure maximum guest satisfaction and a memorable stay for all our guests.

We are so glad that you found our resort worthy of your commendations as it has always been our mission to provide outstanding hospitality and our staff gives attention to detail to ensure that all guests are satisfied and leaves with a great impression same as you have left us.

We are also a resort who greatly rely on guest feedback and we always keep it in consideration while we bring important changes in our resort, hence we have noted your constructive opinion and it will assessed by our management team.

Thank you once again and we truly appreciate your time with us and we look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the island in a not too distant future.

Warm Regards
Ali Yoosuf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhuveli Island
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,563 reviews
12.3 km away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
1,635 reviews
10.3 km away
Fihalhohi Island Resort
Fihalhohi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fihalhohi Island
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 km away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,786 reviews
39.4 km away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives
14.3 km away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives

Address: 8400
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Olhuveli Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olhuveli Island
Price Range: ₹ 24,028 - ₹ 82,448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the tip of South Male Atoll, 34km from Male International Airport is the idyllic Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort, famed for its beautiful beaches and abundant sandbanks. The resort is reached by a picturesque 45 minute speedboat journey.Step into your new home for the next few blissful days, and choose between deluxe rooms, beach villas, water villas, honeymoon villas or the presidential suites. Each of the 164 villas have been crafted purely with comfort, relaxation and elegance in mind, taking the classic materials of nature, blending them with contemporary chic and open-air living, intended to make the most of the Maldivian sunlight and tranquil views. A choice of outdoor sun-loungers is provided in all villa categories to ensure that guests can soak up the best of Maldives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olhuveli Beach And Spa Resort
Olhuveli Beach Hotel South Male Atoll
Olhuveli Beach Resort
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing