We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding ”

Mrs Salisbury's Famous Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 116 Restaurants in Maldon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Founded in 2014, Mrs Salisbury's optimises the Great British tea room. Our tea room is proudly situated in the blue plaque dwelling of the late Edward Bright, The Fat Man of Maldon. Occupying Rose Cottage at the rear of Church House, our quaint tea room oozes charm and character, with seating over two floors and an idyllic courtyard. Whether dining inside on a cosy winters day or outside in Brights Path, we offer a service like no other in Maldon.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We were in the room across from the main restaurant. This was slightly noisy but the food more than made up for it.

Service from the staff was excellent and they were extremely helpful in accommodating my baby.

The ploughmans were large and full of delicious fresh ingredients.

I will definitely be returning to try the afternoon tea.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Littlemisshungry7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

Superb food and Excellent Service. Whether its breakfast, soup, lunches, afternoon tea or the pop up bistro, this place has it all, the food is always good and staff are friendly and welcoming

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Relaxed and warm atmosphere. Breakfast menu has many options to suite all tastes.
The cafe itself if very small but it invokes the Maldon of a different era with its beams and staircase.
Staff very professional . The service was very efficient.
Well worth a visit for breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maepayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

A planned visit to Maldon on our way into Norfolk. 2 hours to look around and time for coffee/tea. One look at the menu we were hooked. 3 sausages in my wife's sandwich and a well-stuffed cajun chicken sandwich for myself guaranteed we need not eat for the foreseeable future. Staff were friendly and attentive, all together a good hour spent. Now to walk it off!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We visited the tea rooms as we wanted somewhere very coeliac-friendly for a light bite at lunchtime. The place itself is tiny and was really busy. It is very quaint and old fashioned. The food is jackets, toasties, sandwiches and they do breakfasts too. I had a Brie, chicken, pesto and sunblushed tomato gluten free toaster and it was delicious and so filling!!!! We will definitely be visiting again.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank mothgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mrs Salisbury's Famous Tea Rooms also viewed

 

Been to Mrs Salisbury's Famous Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing