We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't leave Maldon without a visit to this quirky Tea Room”

Suzie's Gift and Tea Shop
Ranked #15 of 115 Restaurants in Maldon
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 11
Cuisines: Cafe
Description: Here at Suzie's Gift and Tea Shop we make all of our delicious food on the premises, priding ourselves on delivering fresh and tasty meals, cakes, drinks and treats. We have a menu full of tasty food as well as Specials Boards with lots of variety. You can enjoy the vintage ambience inside the tea shop or sit outside in our pretty courtyard. While enjoying the whole vintage tea shop experience, why not browse around our beautiful shabby chic shop too? We sell hand-made gifts and shabby chic home wares. There is so much to browse around and enjoy and you are sure to find something unique to remember your visit! We feel so lucky to be based in the historic maritime town of Maldon - there is so much to see and do here. Boat trips, promenade walks, a well stocked high street and lots of history are all here in this nautical part of Essex. Beaches are just a five minute drive away. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Restaurant details
Description: Here at Suzie's Gift and Tea Shop we make all of our delicious food on the premises, priding ourselves on delivering fresh and tasty meals, cakes, drinks and treats. We have a menu full of tasty food as well as Specials Boards with lots of variety. You can enjoy the vintage ambience inside the tea shop or sit outside in our pretty courtyard. While enjoying the whole vintage tea shop experience, why not browse around our beautiful shabby chic shop too? We sell hand-made gifts and shabby chic home wares. There is so much to browse around and enjoy and you are sure to find something unique to remember your visit! We feel so lucky to be based in the historic maritime town of Maldon - there is so much to see and do here. Boat trips, promenade walks, a well stocked high street and lots of history are all here in this nautical part of Essex. Beaches are just a five minute drive away. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

The outside of Suzy's Tea Room is very inviting to the eye and as we walked in were greeted by friendly staff who seated us in gorgeous Tea Rooms where we able to sit and browse the many hand crafted gifts available to purchase, peruse the delicious menu and sit and chat in a very relaxing atmosphere. Service was excellent as was the choice of food and drinks. The presentation of the food is excellent, the china tea cups and pots adorable. The warm fruit scones with jam and cream honestly the best I've had locally and my husband (who is rather a bread pudding connoisseur!!!) gave 10/10.
Can't wait to go back and try something else on the menu. Highly recommended

Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzie P, Owner at Suzie's Gift and Tea Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Thank you Jill for your kind words; it means so much to us. So glad you enjoyed the ambience and the food! We take pride in our presentation and taste of our food and drinks, and its so nice for you to appreciate it! Kind regards, Suzie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2017

A great place with a lovely relaxed atmosphere and very friendly staff. Vintage decor but not forced; the period features give it a genuinely homely feel. They have a really ingenious arrangement going that supports local craft makers who can sell their items in the gift area at the back for no commission, just a small weekly fee. Such a great, forward-thinking idea for a small cafe. Firmly established as a must-visit every time we come to Maldon now.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 504rj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzie P, Owner at Suzie's Gift and Tea Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you for your positive and kind words; they are really appreciated! Warm wishes, Suzie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

My wife and I just popped in for coffee. It is a charming tea room with a gift shop at the back. We were greeted with a smile and the coffees were good. The coffees were served in lovely bone china cups instead of thick mugs. I had a look out the back and found some lovely cups and saucers, so promptly bought one to take home. A very friendly place and we will return next time we are in Maldon.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank HammyWoodfordGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We decided to eat here on a day trip to Maldon and after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. It was a late lunch and things were quiet.

We ordered tea and jacket potatoes, even though things were quiet, the tea took longer to come than anticipated and only arrived just in front of the food. The jacket potatoes, were nice, tasty.

We were in the back room where the atmosphere was rather odd, it felt a little like eating in the middle of a shop, which was fine, but I suspect it would have been better if we had eaten in the front room.

My wife described the service as "relaxed", we were intending to have a pudding, but gave up after several attempts at getting the waitress' attention. The staff were friendly enough but seemed pre occupied with sorting out a delivery of food.

If we were in Maldon again, we would eat here again as the food was good at a reasonable price, but we would sit in the front room.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank X7326steven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

This is a great little tea room with plenty of character with the added bonus of a gift shop in store so all round worth a visit

We recently visited for breakfast and was very happy. The food was well prepared and good size portions. The drinks were served perfectly in proper China cups, novelty milk bottles and proper tea pots.

The service was very friendly and made to feel extremely welcome, thank you

The shop also has a gift shop that sells local crafts handmade so you can get a really unique gift that is locally made at very good prices. The gifts are extremely varied and can guarantee that you would find something here for any occasion and be sure that you are buying a unique gift

If in Maldon then definitely visit Suzie's as you won't be disappointed

Thank EssexT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzie P, Owner at Suzie's Gift and Tea Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review; we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suzie's Gift and Tea Shop also viewed

 

Been to Suzie's Gift and Tea Shop? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing