We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if in Maldon”

Swan Hotel Bar & Grill
Ranked #18 of 115 Restaurants in Maldon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 13 - US$ 32
Description: We can't wait to welcome you to The Swan Hotel, Bar & Grill and show you the newly refurbished bar, restaurant, function room, meeting room and bedrooms. Our complete overhaul of this beautiful 15th century building has created somewhere stunning, stylish and friendly to eat, drink and stay in Maldon. Our cocktail menu is fun and funky. Our wine list is diverse and daring. Our menus are exciting
Restaurant details
Description: We can't wait to welcome you to The Swan Hotel, Bar & Grill and show you the newly refurbished bar, restaurant, function room, meeting room and bedrooms. Our complete overhaul of this beautiful 15th century building has created somewhere stunning, stylish and friendly to eat, drink and stay in Maldon. Our cocktail menu is fun and funky. Our wine list is diverse and daring. Our menus are exciting
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We went for a meal here before attending a friend's wedding party, with our friends. The waitresses were very polite and attentive. I had the scallops For started which was fantastic. They have a few vegetarian alternatives for the near dishes which is good when there is a vegetarian and pescatarian in the party. The mains were all round success. Unfortunately there wasn't time for dessert. Only gripe is the car park. You can get your car in but then have to reverse it all the way out. Fortunately I have surround cameras otherwise we would have been stuck!

Thank Peekay25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieWhit, Owner at Swan Hotel Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi Peekay25
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review
if we are fortunate enough for you to return and you are not in a car with surround cameras please make our staff aware and they can unlock the back gates to make your departure easier .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

Amazing food and service, very nice. We went there for lunch and dinner, good choice on the menu. ...

1  Thank babybearxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieWhit, Owner at Swan Hotel Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi babybearxxx
thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review we hope you can return soon and you are just as happy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

As a group of 6 adults and 2 small children we were planning on visiting a nearby Italian chain restaurant, when we decided to give the newly renovated swan a try and we weren't disappointed. The staff were very friendly, helpful and accomodating. The food took around 30minutes to arrive and was well worth the wait as it was outstanding. This is by far the best restaurant in the high street.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank creaky_bones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieWhit, Owner at Swan Hotel Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi creaky_bones (I'm sure you haven't lol)
Thank you for your kind review all feed back is important to us
we look forward to welcoming your party again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Having lived just outside Maldon for 20 plus years I have seen the 15th century,grade 2 listed pub change of fortunes. Now the place has been tastefully refurbished and once again a pleasant place to have a drink or a meal. Their is a good selection on beers on tap, wines and spirit. The menu is very good and reasonably priced and the staff friendly and polite. There is limited free parking to the rear of the Swan but plenty of pay parking just beyond(only £1 after 5pm weekends). We were most pleased with our meal and would recommend booking.

Thank Frederick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieWhit, Owner at Swan Hotel Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi Frederick
thank you for your kind words it makes the hard work getting The Swan to where it is now worthwhile. Hopefully you will enjoy coming to us for many years to come!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Can't fault this place at all. The food, service and staff was exceptional. We didn't wait long for our lovely food, served by a friendly member of the team, who was attentive but not intrusive. They clearly have an amazing chef, and whilst we didn't wait a really long time for the food, reviews have said otherwise, but that was not our experience. This place really deserves to succeed, so please give it a try - it is not cheap, but well priced for what they serve - those who want cheap food, there are plenty of alternatives In Maldon. We were so impressed that we are looking to book again might try the breakfast which I hear is good too!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DawesFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieWhit, Owner at Swan Hotel Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi DawesFamily
thank you for your lovely review all feed back is important to us .
we are so pleased you enjoyed your meal and hopefully we can serve you for many more Anniversary's to come !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swan Hotel Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Swan Hotel Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing