We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 65
US$ 63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Villa Lina(Murano)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 183
US$ 176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Al Soffiador(Murano)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 95
US$ 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 94
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Vecellio(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$ 111
US$ 82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 242
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Alloggi Barbaria(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$ 116
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 233
US$ 222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 03/08
US$ 188
US$ 176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,441)
Filter reviews
2,441 results
Traveller rating
1,682
596
108
34
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,682
596
108
34
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisland of muranomurano museohotel boatglass factoryla garewater taxiexecutive roommain islandfree transferquiet islandsky tvshuttle servicebeautiful hotelmarco polo airporthotel restaurantthe hotel offersbrick wall
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 2,441 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We spent three nights in this lovely hotel. Everything was fabulous from start to finish. The complimentary shuttle from the airport and back was great. We stayed in the standard superior room which we were very happy with. The location is brilliant for visiting Venice and Burrano via public transport. There were quite a few restaurants open in the evening until late so no problem eating on the island either. A lovely touch was a bottle of prosecco on ice waiting for us on arrival as the hotel had noted that it was my daughter's birthday a few days beforehand. I cannot recommend this hotel enough and would be very happy to stay again should I decide to visit Venice in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enseada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGare_Hotels, General Manager at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are happy you appreciated the fizzy bottle of prosecco :)

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Leonardo Ometto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Only hotel on Murano we think, but ideally situated for Venice. 10-15 minutes from Venice via water bus. Stop straight outside hotel. 4.1 and 4.2 go to Venice.
Lovely clean and modern hotel.
Breakfast fine.
Murano quiet at night. But we ate in Venice with water buses back late to Murano.
Recommend a trip to Burano.
Murano glass blowing trip curtesy of hotel very good. But the glass out of our price range. 100E for a glass 2500 typical for other items we liked plus!
Recommend Al Timon for steak in Venice.
Jewish quarter a must go for nice relaxing cheap drink space and snacks.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGare_Hotels, General Manager at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Pete,
We're pleased you had an overall delightful stay. Our guests are our priority and we love that you felt well taken care of and you appreciated the hotel, the breakfast and the location.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon!
Leonardo Ometto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We stayed mid-March at LaGare in a standard double room and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We couldn't find anything similar within our budget in Venice so opted for Murano instead. We were very impressed with furnishings throughout the hotel.

Tip: read the TV instructions (on the table under the TV - Do'h!) before grabbing the remote and getting cosy in bed.

Pros:
- Great room and very nice furnishings
- Tea/Coffee/Kettle in the rooms (they must have taken notice of the previous reviews on here!)
- Shower was lovely - strong and can be made very hot indeed
- Right outside the Vaparetto stop 41/42 and only a nice 10 minute walk away from Murano Colonna or Faro for quicker route to Fondamente Nove (stop in Venice).
- Staff are pleasant especially Sophia on the evening shift who gave us detailed information on where to visit on Murano for the studios and very good restaurant options.
- Private pick-up

Cons:
- 10 Euros per person for the SPA which is open between 5-8pm and requires booking. It is tiny and arranged over 3 floors. Gym at the top and sauna/steam room in at the bottom. It's tiny, so I suppose that is why the hotel charges for it?
- We were in room 115 which had disabled toilet, so the toilet seat was quite high up. The shower curtain would sometimes stick which was a little annoying.
- private pick up only starts at 8 or 9am - either way doesnt work for early morning flights. (You'll need an Alliguna ticket which is separate line to vaperatto - it is 1 euro cheaper online. You'll need to print the voucher out and exchange for a real ticket - easy to do when you buy your vaparetto ticket at the airport)

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at LaGare. It was nice and peaceful and it really isn't that hard to get to Venice. You do need to get the Vaperetto daily pass at the airport (don't wait in line at the machines around the luggage belts - just head out pass customs and there will be a long counter selling the tickets). I wouldn't bother with the hotel's taxi to Venice. From the reviews here and overhearing the reception staff it is usually fully booked. In any case you need to sit on Line 1 or 2 for a relaxed trip up the Grand Canal and for that Rialto Bridge picture!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 87dazzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGare_Hotels, General Manager at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. I will forward your comment to Sofia, she will be delighted for sure!

Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another nice stay with us.
Leonardo Ometto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We stayed for 4 nights. We chose this hotel using past reviews as well as location on quieter Murano. We'd never been to Venice before but researching how busy and expensive high season is we chose to visit in late March. Lovely warm weather made our stay even better. The hotel provides a private water taxi from airport to hotel (need to book) which was excellent - right to the front of the hotel which is right on the water. Reception & all other staff very helpful & friendly throughout our stay. Modern style hotel in a former glass factory. Breakfast had a wide choice of cold and cooked foods in a smart restaurant area. Very short wait (30 seconds - 1min) to be seated at peak times. We did think about using the restaurant for an evening meal but we thought the menu was limited (which can be in hotels) perhaps one area of improvement? (Perhaps it's more varied in peak season? Most restaurants were closed by 4pm on Murano when we stayed) We had an Executive room with a mezzanine bedroom area which works really well giving the room downstairs lots of room (we even had a small view of the waterfront through the arched brickwork when sitting on the sofa).
The water bus (vaparetto) stop called "Museo" outside hotel takes you direct to Venice Fundamente Nuove (About 20 mins) or take the longer routes (e.g. water bus 4.1 or 4.2) into the main stops near to St.Marks (e.g. Zaccaria, about 40 mins) to change & go through Grand Canal. Another easy route from Murano was direct to Burano.

Room Tip: Front water facing rooms if you can on 2nd floor which has a large separate quiet lounge area to use.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGare_Hotels, General Manager at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Stuart,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we thank you for your detailed review, our future guests will take advantage of your tips!

I have written down your suggestion about the menu and I will share it with our Food&Beverage Manager as it is always nice to hear and learn from our guests! I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Leonardo Ometto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

While I had obviously read about and seen pictures of Venice, I still found the actual city to be somewhat mythical!

I don’t believe I had come to terms with the fact there were no roads at all before my visit, but the sight of speedboat ambulances lined up in bays outside the hospital, and the DHL barge making parcel deliveries soon emphasised what a really unique place this is.

The one thing I did expect was an abundance of tourists and that thought was fairly accurate, however this hotel is a welcome haven from the tourist madness that can be Venice.

It is also likely to be one of the most accessible hotels in the area, with the courtesy speedboat pick-up directly from/to the airport and the courtesy shuttle service directly to/from Venice, not to mention the option of service ‘ferries’ which ply their trade from the ‘bus stop’ just outside the hotels entrance.

I booked an Executive Room for this trip over my wife’s birthday, and sent the hotel an email asking quite simply for a 'nice room' if possible. This was to turn out to be my main issue with the hotel, as the initial room offered on the first floor had a view from the window of about 90% bricks from the original glass works façade and the 10% which offered a view beyond was of rubble and a building site at the back.

An immediate return to reception led to a room change to the other side of the building which then offered about 60% brick and 40% view to the front side courtyard below – but I can’t help but think, why was this not my first room especially after my advance request?

The outlook from the Executive rooms which have a bed area upstairs, is always likely to be a discussion point as the hotel is built behind the brick arches of the original glassworks and I would guess that you would be highly unlikely to get any room which gave uninterrupted views from its windows.

However, room issue now resolved and as a base for exploring the nearby Venice, I cannot fault it.
We also returned to find a chilled bottle of Prosecco in the room with a birthday card for my wife - Thank you!

The breakfast was the usual continental fare which also featured a couple of hot components e.g. scrambled egg and bacon to help satisfy those who might normally prefer a 'Full English'!

The rooms were clean, however there was the most enormous cobweb on one of the pictures in the breakfast area – the spider clearly being more focussed than the cleaners in this area.

As previously stated, there is ready access to Venice and indeed Murano Island itself, which offers a less frantic opportunity to walk by the canals and eat and drink well (at more reasonable prices) in the many restaurants open for lunch and the somewhat less which remain open for dinner.

Would I go back – Absolutely!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemingoodbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGare_Hotels, General Manager at LaGare Hotel Venezia - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your detailed and long review about your stay at LaGare Hotel Venezia! We took good note of your comments concerning the breakfast and the breakfast area and we will improve it as soon as we can.

We are please to read you appreciated the fizzy wine bottle for your wife's birthday and we took the opportunity to thank you again for choosing us to celebrate this important moment :)

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Leonardo Ometto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews