We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best snorkling spots!”
Review of Aragusuku Beach

Aragusuku Beach
Ranked #7 of 130 things to do in Miyakojima
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Aragusuku beach is not to be missed. It is so beautiful: sand, tropical trees, clear, clear, warm water. The fish are just a few feet in the water and it is shallow for a long ways out. The fish are jewel colored and amazing.

It is warm and wonderful. There was a breeze but the way the coastline is formed, it does not whip up the water and you can easily snorkle. The sand is coral and is not soft so the main thing to do here is snorkel.

If your luggage is full and you don't want to take all your gear, you can rent it there. A family runs a concession at the beach and all the good things all the other reviewers have said are true! For not much money, you can rent a table, umbrella, and beach bed. You can also rent fins, snorkels and masks, and life vests.

If you are taking children, even if they are good swimmers, they will have a better and more secure time if they have a life jacket to steady them in the water. My granddaughter used fins too and it made it easier for her. The concession will rent them to you for a reasonable price. They will also tell you the best place and time to snorkel, and which leaves to pick to steam and waterproof the inside of your goggles.

The other important thing: bring water resistant sunscreen. I brought sunscreen but not the best water resistant type. I had to keep applying a lot. Make sure to cover all your skin, mostly your butt and the backs of your legs! When going back on the airplane, you could pick out everyone who snorkeled by the back of their burned calves! And, yes, I burned my butt, but it was worth it!

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Filter

5 - 9 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2016

Soft sand beach and lots of diverse fish (never saw so many nemos or sea anenomes in one spot!), coral, and sea snakes in beautiful turquoise waters. Went back twice because its one of the few locations you can snorkel at even on a very windy day given that the hills block most of the wind. I was shocked when we got down to the beach and the water was amazingly calm despite it being very windy in two other spots I tried to snorkel at. Definitely a must visit!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

Great snorkeling spot. Facilities available too eg tables and beach umbrellas, toilet and food van. A nice place to spend a few hours. Great for snorkeling lovers. One of the top 5 snorkeling spots in Miyakojima

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank LuckyCoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

We loved this beach. It was the best location for snorkeling with its close shallow coral full of sea life.
The entrance through the trees is also very enchanting. However what ruined it was the amount of rubbish washed up onto the beach. It limited the beech are because it was full of debris.

Date of experience: March 2016
2  Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2015

This is (in my opinion) the best snorkeling spot on the East coast of Miyakojima. There are wooden picnic tables where you can dump your stuff while you go in the water, and you can rent an umbrella all day for 1000 yen. The people who work there are unbelievably kind and enthusiastic. They are so happy when you express how much you love their beach!

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank misstlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aragusuku Beach also viewed

Miyakojima, Okinawa Prefecture
Miyakojima, Okinawa Prefecture
 
Miyakojima, Okinawa Prefecture
Miyakojima, Okinawa Prefecture
 

Been to Aragusuku Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing