We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
257
361
156
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
257
361
156
28
22
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2015

This hotel is located right on one of the most touristy beaches of Balneário Comboriú. It has a nice swimming pool that has a view to the beach, but there is no bar service there (although they have a facility, which is always closed - you can order from the restaurant, but anything you ask takes a while). Being an expensive hotel I would expect that the rooms were better (they look old and there is nothing special about them). The breakfast is great and the dinner buffet is also very good. The only service the hotel offers for customers going to the beach is a towel. With this price (you can go to resorts for the kind of money they ask) I would expect some better services (chairs, sun umbrellas). The gym is very old and not well equipped.

If you ask for a cab they only call one company with whom they seem to have some sort of deal and they take a long time to get there. If you walk a few meters there are lots of cab stops around that will offer better service.

I was there for New Year's eve and they have a great dinner on the night of the Dec 31 (pay extra!) and overall the experience was really pleasant. Reason ratings are not higher is because they could offer better customer service for guests (pool service, beach service, cab service), the rooms look old and not 100% top tip clean, and it is ultimately overpriced (but so is everything else in that area!!!)

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D'Sintra H, Gerente at D'Sintra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2015

Dear Pedro P

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a detailed review. We thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

However we are glad to hear that you did enjoy some aspects of your stay and hope you will consider the D'Sintra on your future visits to Balneário Camboriú - SC.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015

An overall good choice but a little dated in terms of furniture and fixtures but clean and very well located. The desk clerks are helpful and readily hand out towels for your beach swim. Not many English speakers present and most staff struggle with Spanish but that is true everywhere in this city. The majority of visitors while we were here in high season (January) were Brazilians although there are some Argentinians and Chileans. Camboriu is incredible in January, a very family friendly place and if you like crowded stores, traffic jammed streets and great beaches to either lounge around or for swimming its paradise. Its not cheap and if you are unable to get in on a charter or package deal it may be quite expensive. Tours are abundant to nearby attractions but tour guides are poorly trained and the tours are excessively long which include shopping to select stores, all set up by tour companies to get you to buy products for which kickbacks ie payoff money is exchanged. We ended up going on our own tours after two disasters, travelling either in Taxi or by city bus.
The hotel has 3 pools, one for kids and one which is heated, indoors. The 3 pools are basically wading pools since they are too small to actually swim laps. More than 5 people and its too crowded in either pool. This hotel D'sintra is a fine, solid hotel with lightning fast Wifi and hot running water always in the bathroom and an awesome remote controlled in room air-conditioner. A medium sized fridge allowed us to keep our beverages and fruit cold. I am unsure what the cost was due to our charter deal but if these rooms are in the $125.00usd range they are well worth it! The buffet for breakfast was included and is wonderful with real brewed coffee and lots of options, even PIZZA..oddly enough.
The dinner buffet is enormous and totally worth the high cost of 40 reales, most restaurants are charging the same. We never ate anywhere else but at the hotel restaurant Sapore with the exception of snacks and lots of ice cream.
Look for my upcoming reviews about the Camboriu trip for more details about our experience.
I would do it all again without a second thought!

Room Tip: The fifth floor in the front corner overlooking Calle Rua 1301 is quiet with a small balcony, a small slice between buildings to see the beach. Leave the slider door open for listening to ocean waves.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D'Sintra H, Gerente at D'Sintra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2015

Dear Glen,

Thank you Glean for your amazing review of our hotel. I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back during future visits to Balneário Camboriú.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015

Good hotel overall, excellent position in the center of Balneário which allows you to go to all the beaches around the city. I recommend specially going to Praia Brava, Laranjeiras and Estaleirinho (this one is the best), they are about 5-6 km drive. Room service and breakfast are a plus, but the accommodations (room and bathroom) are ok and dont worth the price charged.
The structure of the hotel is kind of old and the wifi is slow.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D'Sintra H, Gerente at D'Sintra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2015

Dear Gabriel,

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us went.

Thank you recognizing our great location, and we're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience at our hotel.

We do hope that despite this, you will come back and stay with us again. If you ever have any questions or if there is something we can do to accommodate you, please do not hesitate to reach out and let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2014

The bath room was a disaster! It was covered with black molds. The door was rotten at the bottom because the moisture while cleaning. However the front desk was extremely friendly. Breakfast was excellent except the coffee smell burn. Anyway if you don't mind the molds, it is perfectly ok . After all there are not too many hotels by the sea.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel was what we expect! We have a great vacations there!
The front desk people were very nice, they alwasys help us if we needed!
The room was hugh! The breakfast and the dinners were delicious!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maru C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews