We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rest and relaxation in a beautiful property”
other travellers have booked this property
Traditional architecture with modern facilities, large pool and sun terrace.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional architecture with modern facilities, large pool and sun terrace.
Shady terrace and private garden includes a herb garden and BBQ, views of the pool. Luxury country house with landscaped gardens, BBQ and immediate access to the pool.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Traditional architecture with modern facilities, large pool and sun terrace.
Shady terrace and private garden includes a herb garden and BBQ, views of the pool.
Luxury country house with landscaped gardens, BBQ and immediate access to the pool.
Lounge dinning room
Spacious living area with stone fireplace and arches.
Cool open living area
Double bedroom with en-suite facilities and views over open countryside
Twin bedroom with en-suite facilities and double doors onto a shady terrace.
Dining area for four persons plus high chair.
Quiet corners to relax and enjoy the local wines.
Large well equip kitchen with a breakfast bar. A back doors leads to rear terrace.
Upper pool terrace with sun loungers, palm trees and amazing views.
Elevated terrace with dappled shade and a stunning Alenejo backdrop
Lower pool terrace with stunning views over the meadows and Alentejo landscape
Relax on this daybed on your covered terrace
Planning something special? we can also provide chocolates and fresh flowers.
Pool terrace and landscaped garden
Welcome hamper with home made treats our farm produce and local wine and cheese
It is the little details that make the difference to your holiday experience.
We have free range poultry, ponies, pigmy goats and pet pigs here.
We have 4.5 hectares of meadows and gardens to explore.
Fields of sun flowers
Everyone enjoys te sun.
Pretty gardens
Rolling landscapes dotted with historic villages and towns.
Adult bicycles for our guests to use
swallow tailed butterflies in our gardens
Castro Verde and its carpets of colour during spring time
Traditional farming
Beautiful walks around local lakes and dams
Explore our stunning unspoilt coastline, within an hour to the west or south
Carriage rides
regional cheeses
Local festivals
explore the local vineyard by horse and carriage.
Many activities available
Pretty towns and villages
festivals all year
Local festivals
ballooning
Amazing landscapes
Amazing birds in this special region, popular for birding
Historical sites to visit
Ancient lands and megalithic sites
Carriage rides to see the sites
Where time stands still
Try the regional food and wines.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Castro Verde, Beja District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sian G
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rest and relaxation in a beautiful property”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a lovely place to visit, off the beaten track and away from the busy beaches of the Algarve. Castro Verde is a typical Portugese town, with a few restaurants serving delicious local cuisine. Monte da Quinta is not typical, beautifully renovated and exeeded all our expectaitons. Thank you Michaela and Nigel for a lovely week.
Dewi and Sian.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slca58
Uckfield
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious and peaceful”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

From arrival to our reluctant departure we had a thoroughly enjoyable time at Monte da Quinta. As others have commented it doesn't take long to relax, switch off and de-stress in the beautiful Alentejo countryside and Monte da Quinta is the perfect location from which to do this.

Michaela and Nigel welcomed us on arrival and helped us settle into the house which was very comfortable, fully equipped and spotlessly clean. They were more than happy to help with suggestions for days out and what to do. The little treats from the vegetable garden each morning were very welcome and we couldn't have brought enough of the gorgeous honey back with us! We particularly enjoyed the evenings BBQing (after a refreshing swim) and eating every meal outside before watching the sunset, with drink in hand, from the terrace of the house!

Our children enjoyed the animals and we often found ourselves wandering around the farm watching them or admiring the variety of produce grown here!

This was our second visit to Portugal in as many years and we would thoroughly recommend the country, the Alentejo (and its great wines) and in particular Monte da Quinta. Its location is very central with easy access to empty main roads that get you to either the west or south coast in about an hour. Lisbon was a two hour drive but it is such a fantastic city that it is well worth it.

Thank you Michaela and Nigel for a lovely holiday and hope to see you soon.

Simon and Liza Reeves, Sussex, UK

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We arrived at Monte da Quinta late and in the dark, but as soon as we were greeted by Michaela, Nigel and Bradley we soon relaxed into our holiday, we were made to feel like friends arriving for a stay!
Waking up on our first morning we were not disappointed, both bedrooms in Casa Oliveira overlook the farm land, and we could watch the ponies and chickens in the field at the side.
We did not need to rush off to the supermarket as the luxury hamper contained everything needed for breakfast, freshly squeezed orange juice from the trees on the farm, beautiful home made honey, eggs from the chickens, tomatoes and cucumbers from the vegetable garden and fresh bread, to name but a few!
The farm house has everything in you could possible need, equipped to 5* standard.
All bed linen and towels provided.
Our patio was lovely, overlooking our own herb garden and BBQ.
We shared the pool with the family next door, there are plenty of sun lougers and room for everyone.
Our hosts could not have been nicer, lots of advice, helping us to book tickets for the train to Lisbon, booking dinner at the local vineyard and even driving us there!
Nigel would bring a constant supply of tomatoes and cucumbers freshly picked.
Everyday we would feed the pigs, goats and chickens, which was a constant form of amusement.
Michaela's savoury supper was wonderful, great value for money and tasted delicious, well worth ordering.
We visited Lisbon, very busy, but has made us want to go back for a weekend. The beautiful town of Evora, a local vineyard for dinner. We drove to the west coast to the beach at Vila Nova de Milfontes and to the south to Gale, both beaches great, with lovely fish restaurants.
Castro Verde, 5 minute walk away, has bars, great restaurants and 3 good supermarkets.
We could not fault our stay, everything was thought of, lots of lovely personal touches.
A real credit to Michaela and Nigels hard work!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view every morning eating breakfast
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lelliegee
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay.”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was my first stay at Monte de Quinta but my friends have been raving about it for years. Now I can see why. I really enjoyed my holiday.
The welcome, by Michaela and Nigel, was warm and friendly. The welcome pack included freshly squeezed orange juice from their own trees and delicious honey from their own beehives. The villa was clean, stylish and well equipped, there was even a coffee machine and a juicer. The showers were powerful, unlike those with no pressure that I've had to put up with in other parts of Portugal, and there was a fan in the bedrooms. Both villas also come equipped with a traditional barbecue.
The poolside was like an oasis, surrounded by palm trees and beautiful flowers but, just down a flight of steps was access to the surrounding fields and the pigs, chickens, goats, geese, ducks and ponies.
Michaela, Nigel and their son, Bradley, are a wealth of local knowledge and can help you with the language or can point you in the direction of inexpensive local cuisine or fine dining for that special occasion. I didn't want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved that it appeared quite rural but was only a few minutes walk away from Castro Verde
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset UK
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting of the villa, pool and trees
Liked least: Mosquitoes!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing