We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great also in a second time”
Review of Hacienda Iguana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Iguana
Ranked #7 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Tola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We spent three days in a lovely apartment facing the sea
With a swimming pool
it was great
There is a good restaurant here
The apartment was fully equipped
And we really enjoyed it
Excellent stay with the kids for the weekend

Room Tip: Ask to check the room before entering The quality of the beds varies from apartment to apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Such a quiet peaceful setting with a vast beach and surf! Many people from Canada and California. Played the golf course a few times with howler monkeys in the canopy above! Interesting to say the least. This will not be the best kept secret for long. Visited in March 2016.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank acchilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I found the reviews a bit confusing so here are the basics. Hacienda Iguana is a golf resort, although we saw no one playing. There are houses on the links and on the beach. There are 2 story condos in the little village area, with shops and a couple of restaurants, and more condos on the beach. These are privately owned and rented out by a couple of agents on the property. Because of this they are all decorated differently with different amenities. Towels and tiny bits of soap are provided.
We chose, at a slightly higher price, an ocean front condo which meant we drove to the restaurants and store although you can walk if you're feeling energetic. It had a very well equipped kitchen, a big living/dining area, a master suite and second bedroom (no window) and bathroom. There was also a large terrace. The furniture was a little worn but this is some family's beach home so that was okay. There is a pool at the building. And the ocean steps away on a beautiful, quiet beach. No one around except the other guests trying to surf or taking lessons.
It's a wonderful place to relax or let the kids run free as there's nothing around for miles. There's a small grocery store but you really want to bring most of your food with you. The beachfront restaurant was great, the people friendly and laid back. It's a wonderful holiday destination.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicksfly000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We rented a house here on the beach with friends. The overall property was well cared for and very secure. All the staff we interacted with were friendly and kind. The sunsets are indescribable! The beach is pristine and we could walk for miles!

Room Tip: Rent a house on the beach and spoil yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MariaMaria993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I rented a golf course condo off hotels.com and absolutely loved it. Was a nice end to a trip of traveling around the country staying in hotels and now feeling like you had more of a home with full kitchen and laundry. Once there we realized that you can stay closer to the beach of you book through other services such as Airbnb depending on availability.

This area is very secure and we felt very safe. Beach was absolutely beautiful and they have a rental store on site for surfboard or boogie board rentals. Also an awesome ice cream and coffee shop. The restaurants were a little expensive but we ended up making most of our own meals. Rivas is the best location to pick up groceries if you want a full load before heading in, but they do have a pretty full service convenience store on site.

Would definitely go back and have recommended to a number of friends already

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tola
11.1 km away
La Jolla Hotel
La Jolla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Popoyo
43 reviews
2.6 km away
Machele's Place
Machele's Place
#2 of 3 in Tola
76 reviews
5.6 km away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
625 reviews
13.9 km away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
23.6 km away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#5 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Iguana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Iguana

Address: Tola, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Tola
Price Range: ₹ 9,253 - ₹ 28,526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Iguana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Iguana offers a challenging 9-hole golf course, great surf, luxury beach front accommodation and multiple activities in one of the most scenic locations in Nicaragua. Our Mission is to consistently provide you with the best possible value and experience. Whether it's a second home or a vacation we strive to provide the highest level of personal service. Note: Please be aware that the use of POLARIS is not allowed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Iguana Hotel Tola
Hacienda Iguana Nicaragua/Tola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing