We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveller rating
515
141
29
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
141
29
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshunting lodgeheritage hotelsmall villageleopard safarithalioil lampsmagical experiencevillage walkbeautiful hotelbullock carthorse ridingthe general managerbeautiful roomheritage stylelovely poolan oasishotel guide
Filter
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 700 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed in this hotel just before newyear 2010 during our trip through Rajasthan. We've already had several hotels of several ratings. This particular hotel is a very beautiful place in a quiet little village. We had a nice and clean room. And the beds were really nice and soft. So much different from the Indian standard of exceptional hard beds.
But.... The staff was very uninterested and unfriendly. Indian service with a smile? Not in this hotel. Also we've ordered an additional bed and we had to ask for that over and over again.

Then there is the food. We could only take the buffet dinner. Which looked good but tasted moderate. It was not bad but we've had far better real Indian food. We thought the price of this buffet was overrated. Because this hotel is situated in a tiny little village, there are no alternatives for lunch or dinner.

Don't think about a quiet walk through the village if your travelling with little children. Our walk was really scary with all the village kids following us, constantly trying to pull our back-pack and touching our son. When we didn't give them pens (which we didn't have and told them several times) they got the dogs barking at us and following us too.

We would recommend this hotel but with the marginal notes about staff and food.

Liked: room and the incredible beds

Did not like: unfriendly staff and bland, tasteless and to expensive food

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miep_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We arrived at this magical place after a long driver from Jodhpur ... but it truly worth the journey! The moment you step thru the gate, you will enter a different world ... surrounded by a magical sense of serenity!

The rooms are beautifully decorated, squeaky clean and well equipped (we had the best shower here throughout our 2 week long trip all over Rajasthan!). We poked our heads around other suites and each has its unique features and own collection of antique furnishings.

The staff are very friendly and attended to all our needs (there is no phone in the room, so imagine the level of butler service required). Mr. Tikka, the personable director, gave us many pointers and arranged a staff to take us on a lovely morning walk around the Narlai village ... what a unique experience of the genuine rural life, highly recommended!

We wish we could stay longer and hope we would return in the near future!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rinjani_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajitbhawan, General Manager at Rawla Narlai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2011

Thank you for sharing your valuable feed back. This will definitely enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you comforts & world class service.
We look forward to welcoming you at Ajit Bhawan again.

Yours Sincerely,

G.M. Pillai, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Rawla Narlai seemed to have a surprise around every corner. The hotel is put together with a lot of detail, the beds were the most plush we experienced in India and each area was like a fairy tale. The staff was incredibly attentive, the food and drinks were plentiful and delicious!
I highly recommend hiking the mountain that overlooks the hotel/town before dawn. It is TOTALLY worth the view as is the walk around the small village the hotel sits in.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onceuponalauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajitbhawan, General Manager at Rawla Narlai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2011

Thank you for sharing your valuable feed back. This will definitely enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you comforts & world class service.
We look forward to welcoming you at Ajit Bhawan again.

Yours Sincerely,

G.M. Pillai, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We had an incredible 2 nights at Rawla Narlai. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling. There is an incredible atmosphere, exquisite rooms and breathtaking gardens. A place to relax and unwind. The food was great! The hospitality superb and sightseeing amazing. The step well outing is a must !!! exceptional!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stluciatrumpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

i stayed in ajit bhawan and i suggest to stay 1 night for rawla narlai by there sales team i was supose to stay at ranakpur hotel but it is nothing best to go with rates they offered me. i stayed there and took stepwell dinner OOHHH a wonderful fantacy night i had my life time experience.. i stayed in heritage room faboulous style maintain and ohh mine mine when you will see interiors you will crazy about. i come to know owner does himself with interiors and great that MAHARAJ SURYAVEER SINGH RATHORE is himself look after property personally. I booked with STEP WELL dinner its life long experience i really thanks trip advisor to share my life time experience on net.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kulde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews