We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step Well Dinner the highlight of the stay”
Review of Rawla Narlai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rawla Narlai
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narlai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2011

The hotel is pretty. Rooms comfortable and full of character. Lovely pool area for relaxing. The village is full of temples built over 100's of years on the hillsides, in caves, in the village. The hotel employees will take you on a private village tour to spots you will not find without their help. I also highly recommend the interesting, beautiful and romantic step well dinner. It will be a dinner to remember for years to come. 100's of candles light up the ancient step will and you will be driven there by an oxen drawn cart. It has to be experienced to be understood. Be sure to book the "step well" in advance with your hotel reservation. The dinner can accommodate limited number of guests. And many guests had not reserved in advance and were disappointed when they could not join.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 467 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed in this hotel just before newyear 2010 during our trip through Rajasthan. We've already had several hotels of several ratings. This particular hotel is a very beautiful place in a quiet little village. We had a nice and clean room. And the beds were really nice and soft. So much different from the Indian standard of exceptional hard beds.
But.... The staff was very uninterested and unfriendly. Indian service with a smile? Not in this hotel. Also we've ordered an additional bed and we had to ask for that over and over again.

Then there is the food. We could only take the buffet dinner. Which looked good but tasted moderate. It was not bad but we've had far better real Indian food. We thought the price of this buffet was overrated. Because this hotel is situated in a tiny little village, there are no alternatives for lunch or dinner.

Don't think about a quiet walk through the village if your travelling with little children. Our walk was really scary with all the village kids following us, constantly trying to pull our back-pack and touching our son. When we didn't give them pens (which we didn't have and told them several times) they got the dogs barking at us and following us too.

We would recommend this hotel but with the marginal notes about staff and food.

Liked: room and the incredible beds

Did not like: unfriendly staff and bland, tasteless and to expensive food

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miep_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We arrived at this magical place after a long driver from Jodhpur ... but it truly worth the journey! The moment you step thru the gate, you will enter a different world ... surrounded by a magical sense of serenity!

The rooms are beautifully decorated, squeaky clean and well equipped (we had the best shower here throughout our 2 week long trip all over Rajasthan!). We poked our heads around other suites and each has its unique features and own collection of antique furnishings.

The staff are very friendly and attended to all our needs (there is no phone in the room, so imagine the level of butler service required). Mr. Tikka, the personable director, gave us many pointers and arranged a staff to take us on a lovely morning walk around the Narlai village ... what a unique experience of the genuine rural life, highly recommended!

We wish we could stay longer and hope we would return in the near future!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rinjani_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajitbhawan, General Manager at Rawla Narlai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2011

Thank you for sharing your valuable feed back. This will definitely enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you comforts & world class service.
We look forward to welcoming you at Ajit Bhawan again.

Yours Sincerely,

G.M. Pillai, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Rawla Narlai seemed to have a surprise around every corner. The hotel is put together with a lot of detail, the beds were the most plush we experienced in India and each area was like a fairy tale. The staff was incredibly attentive, the food and drinks were plentiful and delicious!
I highly recommend hiking the mountain that overlooks the hotel/town before dawn. It is TOTALLY worth the view as is the walk around the small village the hotel sits in.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onceuponalauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajitbhawan, General Manager at Rawla Narlai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2011

Thank you for sharing your valuable feed back. This will definitely enables us to measure and improve our performance in our quest of providing you comforts & world class service.
We look forward to welcoming you at Ajit Bhawan again.

Yours Sincerely,

G.M. Pillai, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We had an incredible 2 nights at Rawla Narlai. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling. There is an incredible atmosphere, exquisite rooms and breathtaking gardens. A place to relax and unwind. The food was great! The hospitality superb and sightseeing amazing. The step well outing is a must !!! exceptional!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stluciatrumpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narlai
22.3 km away
Ramada Resort Kumbhalgarh
Ramada Resort Kumbhalgarh
#1 of 12 in Kumbhalgarh
175 reviews
21.6 km away
The Kumbha Bagh
The Kumbha Bagh
#3 of 12 in Kumbhalgarh
180 reviews
20.7 km away
Aodhi Hotel
Aodhi Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kumbhalgarh
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 km away
King's Abode
King's Abode
#1 of 8 in Ranakpur
291 reviews
9.2 km away
Ghanerao Royal Castle
Ghanerao Royal Castle
#1 of 1 in Ghanerao
151 reviews
20.4 km away
Mana Hotels Ranakpur
Mana Hotels Ranakpur
#2 of 8 in Ranakpur
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawla Narlai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawla Narlai

Address: Village and Post Narlai | Near Desuri Rajasthan, Narlai 306703, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Pali District > Narlai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narlai
Price Range: ₹ 9,126 - ₹ 17,288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rawla Narlai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stepwell Dinner : Guests are taken on a magical journey from the Rawla through the village streets into the jungle before arriving at the 1100 year old “step well”. The magical setting is brought to life by dimly lit oil lamps that illuminate the setting through flickering light. The very private dinner is laid out in a traditional manner, it promises to remain unmatched experience to anything you will ever experience for a long time. The entire evening is like a secluded sanctuary inspired by the mystical past, bracing Indian spirituality and the unique experience of one being completely with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Rawla Narlai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawla Narlai Hotel Narlai
Rawla Narlai Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing