We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly fabulous hotel”
Review of Rawla Narlai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rawla Narlai
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narlai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly fabulous hotel”
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We spent one night in the Maharani's bedroom of this fantastic old hunting lodge belonging to Jodhpur's Royal Family. Not only was the room, which was steeped in history, the most charming I have ever slept in, but the hotel itself was faultless and the food delicious. I spoke at length with the manageress who couldn't have been more accommodating. We really enjoyed our time there and it was a welcome break from all the hustle and bustle of Jodhpur.

Room Tip: The Maharani's bedroom was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annecivardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    116
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
107
282
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford,UK
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We loved our 2 nights in Rawla Narlai. It is an ideal break between Jodhpur and Udaipur but more than that it is a destination in its own right. It is owned by the Jodhpuri royal family and if you do the dinner at the step well, then you will probably get to meet one of the family as we did.
The hotel..you can opt for the new block if you wish but we had a heritage room in the old part and it was fine. A little dark but we liked the antiques and it was quiet and comfortable. Outside the room was an airy verandah with sofas and below it was the most beautiful courtyard garden with several loungers for 2 and a babbling fountain.
The wifi was patchy and the hot water erratic but we could forgive that as we loved our stay overall.
A big factor was the warm, hospitable, energetic personality of Garima the manager. On our first day she took just the two of us out in the jeep for lakeside birdwatching and a splendid Desi-flavoured sunset afternoon tea. It was just a fantastic experience, seeing all the birds under her guidance and feeling both pampered and that we were seeing a beautiful rural area of India.
Dinner on the rooftop was spicy and delicious and the Huntsman Tandoori platter great value at R600. That plus veggies and breads made an economical and delicious dinner for two.
The next day we did the sunrise walk up Elephant Hill which was excellent ( free including chai and biscuits but tip expected ) and then the local village walk. The friendly local people and the bat-filled cave temple were highlights. We barely had time for a swim in the chilly but clean sunny pool before it was time for the dinner at the step well.
Quite honestly in all my travels this was one of the most magical, unique experiences I have had. From the drinks reception with the regal Rana Sahib to the oxen carts and then the genuine yogi in the woods. It was unreal. Then the stepwell, illuminated by hundreds of small lamps and candles. The musician, the local ladies making traditional breads. Delicious nibbles and a wonderful thali. It just could not have been more special. Garima says marriage proposals often happen here.
We squeezed in one final activity on our departing morning which was the Leopard Safari. Alas no leopards but Garima found us plenty of other wildlife and tales of the countryside and India in general.
We wished we had stayed longer here. It is special indeed. Just watch at the very end for them charging you in your home currency at a poor rate. This slipped by us and annoyed somewhat. But overall- really very good indeed.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We wanted to include some rural destinations in our month long trip to India and this was one of them. We were shown to a room in the old part of the hotel but when we asked if there was space in the newer part the staff immediately showed us several options. We selected a newer room which was lovely and it had an enormous modern bathroom and beautiful view. We were very content with our accommodation.
There isn't much to do in Narlai but for two nights it was great to just relax and see some of the local sights.
The hotel is very good about offering some options of things to see in the area.
We did enjoy the stepwell dinner because it is something we will never experience
again and we would recommend it to others in spite of the cost.
The woman who manages this hotel is an amazing personality. She is so full of life and so interested in her guests having a good time. This hotel is very fortunate to have her.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights during a four week trip in India. The welcome was efficient and friendly and we were given a choice of two rooms in the old building (hunting lodge). The bedroom we chose was quite small but comfortable and there was a spacious bathroom area, all fitted out with antique furniture although storage space was limited. We were very happy with the room overlooking the garden and it was never noisy.
The restaurant had a varied menu and the breakfasts had a good choice of Indian and continental fare. We didn't opt for the step-well dinner which seemed very expensive at 5000 rupees. The evening leopard safari was a highlight; well run with an informative guide , we thoroughly enjoyed going through small villages and crossing the rocky desert terrain before we spotted a leopard at the top of a rocky outcrop. We watched him for half an hour or so as the sun set.
The hotel in the middle of the village of Narlai is in a magnificent setting, overlooked by the rock and the grounds are beautifully kept with a large but cold swimming pool. We enjoyed walking around the village and chatting to the locals.
One of the hotel's major assets is the General Manager, Gareema, who always seemed to be around ensuring people were content and activities were running smoothly. I was particularly impressed with the speed with which she produced first aid dressings and antiseptic powder after I had cut my foot. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The heritage rooms are well equipped and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We loved this place. Super room, excellent food, super gardens, great pool and spa. The rock looks over the hotel but seeing the temples was a treat. We were warned off the stepwell evening so it is each to their own taste on that one. Yes, we had a wedding and there was some noise but I can't say it bothered us that much. I just wished we could have stayed longer. I agree with the comments about the manager. She was charming and most helpful. We like the rooftop buffet meal although the a la carte food in the restaurant was really delicious.

Room Tip: We had a room in the new block. Super. The older parts looked OK but not sure they had much view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allischarming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narlai
21.6 km away
The Kumbha Bagh
The Kumbha Bagh
#1 of 8 in Kumbhalgarh
137 reviews
20.7 km away
Aodhi Hotel
Aodhi Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kumbhalgarh
310 reviews
21.7 km away
Royal Kumbhalgarh Villas
Royal Kumbhalgarh Villas
#4 of 8 in Kumbhalgarh
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Ghanerao Royal Castle
Ghanerao Royal Castle
#1 of 1 in Ghanerao
136 reviews
20.9 km away
King's Abode
King's Abode
#1 of 7 in Ranakpur
274 reviews
23.1 km away
WelcomHeritage Maharani Bagh Orchard Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawla Narlai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawla Narlai

Property: Rawla Narlai
Address: Village and Post Narlai | Near Desuri Rajasthan, Narlai 306703, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Pali District > Narlai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narlai
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,128 - ₹ 9,935
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rawla Narlai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stepwell Dinner : Guests are taken on a magical journey from the Rawla through the village streets into the jungle before arriving at the 1100 year old “step well”. The magical setting is brought to life by dimly lit oil lamps that illuminate the setting through flickering light. The very private dinner is laid out in a traditional manner, it promises to remain unmatched experience to anything you will ever experience for a long time. The entire evening is like a secluded sanctuary inspired by the mystical past, bracing Indian spirituality and the unique experience of one being completely with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ClearTrip, Expedia, TravelGuru, MakeMyTrip and Agoda so you can book your Rawla Narlai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawla Narlai Hotel Narlai
Rawla Narlai Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing