We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great leopard safaris”
Review of Rawla Narlai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rawla Narlai
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narlai
Certificate of Excellence
Wimborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great leopard safaris”
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We had one of the most comfortable rooms to date on our tour, large and sumptuous with a balcony looking over the surrounding village and granite countryside. Chilly pool which I enjoyed to myself. Some great food on their romantic roof side restaurant. Best of all we sighted leopards on the 2 safaris we did driving off road through some spectacular granite countryside. Good wildlife spotted on a country jeep safari too. Plenty to do. Well looked after. Main areas are rather shabby chic biut I am not sure it quite works.

Room Tip: We were in the newly built area. room on level 1 which we could not fault.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    116
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
107
282
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
york,
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2017

A dreadful approach to a wonderful haven of peace. An old style Indian fort with lovely open spaces. We had a suite in the recently built Heritage building which was excellent. We were taken by ox cart for a dinner in the old step well which sounds a bit naff but was a magical experience with excellent food. A truly memorable stay. Met a member of the princely family that owns the hotel and he was a real charmer!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new Heritage building are old style Indian but completely modern facilities, a great co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsanmarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel was a former hunting lodge, what a splendid job of converting it into a hotel. We had room 122 at the top of the new block. Fabulous views from our rooftop courtyard.
The bedroom was very nice, comfortable bed. Smallish bathroom, but good drench shower. We needed the air con as it was quite warm.
We dined twice in the restaurant and had very good meals plus our buffet breakfasts.
We were taken on an hours walking tour of the village, fascinating, my wife bought some shawls, so it was good to put something into the local community.
Very nice swimming pool, although not heated and a nice lounging area.
The staff were fabulous, can really recommend this hotel

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We have just stayed here for 2 nights and it was perfect in every way. Gorema, the hotel Manager was so attentive attending to every guest in a very personal way. she accompanied us on a safari which was magical and she expertly spotted a leopard which was an amazing experience to watch . This was followed by afternoon tea by the lake spotting all the wonderful bird life. Such is her passion for her hotel and surrounding area Gorema goes above and beyond any manager I have ever known.
Our room had an amazing view as all do and the pool was beautifully situated with the same view.
We really enjoyed our Stepwell dinner and visit to the village and temples. It was hard to leave and move on!

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jlselliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs UK
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights during our recent your of Rajasthan. This is the only hotel in the area and it really is very different. On arrival we were given a choice of three rooms; one traditional and in the old part of the hotel- more of a suite really, one in the newer section and one by the pool. We chose the one in the newer build as it had its own terrace send an amazing view of the village and Elephant Hill (4th floor). The room was a good size and was nicely decorated though the furniture was not in particularly good condition. The bed was very comfortable and the towels and bedding of good quality. There was no real lock on the door- just a hook and hasp, but we figured that we were safe inside a hotel surrounded by a 20+ft wall and several men constantly at the one entrance!
Breakfast was good- a wide choice of food both European and Indian. We ate dinner in the restaurant the first night- the service was poor and the main dishes certainly not as described. There was a large private party going on the grounds and clearly most of the staff had been diverted there leaving those who wished to dine a la Carte high and dry. To be fair, we did receive an immediate apology and were not charged for any of our food, but it did mean we went to bed hungry!
We went on two Safari rides, morning and evening. We saw very few animals but enjoyed the countryside.
On the second night we joined the Step well dinner. It was quite an experience- riding in a of cart in then pitch black is not, for the faint hearted! The setting is magical and the musician even more so. Food was excellent though given the price we paid, we would have expected a bottle of wine to be included. How authentic the whole thing was is debatable, but we did thoroughly enjoy it.
Yes this is a very noisy village; it is also very poor, and like everywhere else, the streets are totally filthy. So much so, after our first walk round we really did not want to return as it felt voyeuristic of those who had so little while we had everything. Other than provide employment for some of the villagers, the hotel does not obviously contribute to the community that surrounds it.
This was overall a very memorable and enjoyable stay. The manager was the only woman we encountered in authority throughout our visit to India. As such, she was a breath of fresh air in a very male dominated society.

Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Eben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narlai
21.6 km away
The Kumbha Bagh
The Kumbha Bagh
#1 of 8 in Kumbhalgarh
137 reviews
20.7 km away
Aodhi Hotel
Aodhi Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kumbhalgarh
310 reviews
21.7 km away
Royal Kumbhalgarh Villas
Royal Kumbhalgarh Villas
#4 of 8 in Kumbhalgarh
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Ghanerao Royal Castle
Ghanerao Royal Castle
#1 of 1 in Ghanerao
136 reviews
20.9 km away
King's Abode
King's Abode
#1 of 7 in Ranakpur
274 reviews
23.1 km away
WelcomHeritage Maharani Bagh Orchard Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawla Narlai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawla Narlai

Property: Rawla Narlai
Address: Village and Post Narlai | Near Desuri Rajasthan, Narlai 306703, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Pali District > Narlai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narlai
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,128 - ₹ 9,935
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rawla Narlai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stepwell Dinner : Guests are taken on a magical journey from the Rawla through the village streets into the jungle before arriving at the 1100 year old “step well”. The magical setting is brought to life by dimly lit oil lamps that illuminate the setting through flickering light. The very private dinner is laid out in a traditional manner, it promises to remain unmatched experience to anything you will ever experience for a long time. The entire evening is like a secluded sanctuary inspired by the mystical past, bracing Indian spirituality and the unique experience of one being completely with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelGuru, MakeMyTrip and Agoda so you can book your Rawla Narlai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawla Narlai Hotel Narlai
Rawla Narlai Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing