We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and very different!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rawla Narlai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rawla Narlai
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narlai
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful and very different!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

This hotel was formerly a hunting lodge for the local maharaja so the setting is suitably grand. It is in the middle of nowhere on the edge of a village. The room was large and traditionally furnished. Everything was clean and comfortable. We ate under the stars on the roof of one of the buildings. There are opportunities to go out with members of the hotel staff to visit the surrounding area. I was able to go into the village and visit homes, farms and temples. The local people was friendly and welcoming - I was told it was a two-way process as they enjoyed having a good look at the people who visit them! I also went to see the birds at the local reservoir. It's a welcome break in the middle of a hectic driving schedule.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    111
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
98
268
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Narlai sits under a gigantic rock giving the old hunting lodge lots of atmosphere. The drive through the village into the hotel is a fun experience, it makes you wonder what you are headed towards!
The rooms in the older part of the building are more unique to the rural setting and are decorated with beautiful old pieces reminiscent of another time. Garden area around the pool is a nice area to relax with a capuccino and a good book! Traditional village food is tasty, dinner by the stepwell is spectacular.

Room Tip: Tent rooms by the pool are not as nice or comfortable as heritage rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

A memorable stay but mixed experience. The positives:

- Hotel is in a beautiful, remote location and provides an authentic experience in India (albeit has a colonial vibe), which is rare to find.
- The step-well dinner is a one-of a kind and should not be missed even though it is terrifically expensive- absolute highlight of our trip. We were on our honeymoon and found it mesmerising.
- Local staff are incredibly friendly, willing to help and knowledgeable. The village tour was also very interesting without being too intrusive into the lives of the locals.
- Food and drinks were top notch.


The negatives:
- We opted for a pool-side bungalow, for the novelty factor, and felt it was the poor cousin in comparison to the other rooms on offer even though it was clean and comfortable.
- We were a couple, yet our room had two single beds, which we found confusing and there were no other rooms to accommodate a double bed for us.
- It was very NOISY when we stayed there and found it difficult to sleep in the morning, owing both to the building works that was going on and the prayers from the local temple.

Not sure if we would recommend to others due to the construction works but we nevertheless enjoyed the experience!

Room Tip: Try and book a room in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamandLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is located in the centre of the small village of Narlai and was originally built as a hunting lodge. Absolutely delightful. Service was excellent and staff very friendly. They really did their best. The outdoor pool is an oasis with bungalows and palms. The rooms are individual and traditionally furnished with all one would need including complimentary WI-Fi. We had two candlelit dinners here - both served on the roof terrace, one on a terrace right outside our room. Food was excellent, service great and friendly - they really tried to make us so welcome. The quality of the food, seeing the hotel is in a small village is really very good indeed. We were served breakfast on the terrace outside our room, with good variety. The hotel is a lovely with arches built around courtyards with fountains and bougainvillaea. Narlai has so far not been overcome with tourists - I don't think many people have found this gem yet, which was good news for us. We did a walking tour, arranged by the hotel, round the village and were greeted with charming friendliness. We also did an evening trip by jeep to a lagoon teeming with wildlife. We thoroughly recommend this small hotel. It made our trip and should be part of everyones itinerary when visiting this area. We travelled in the off season

Room Tip: We had a suite, which was lovely. I suggest you go for the the best you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pringle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel was located in the centre of Narlai and was originally built as a hunting lodge. The hotel has been retained very much as it might have been when first built, which was a delight to us to be able to feel like a real Marahaja and Marahani. The architecture was a visual delight with castellated walls and arched colonnades built around courtyards with fountains and bougainvillaea draped walls. Service was excellent and staff very friendly. The outdoor pool was a delight with one side framed by tented bungalows and palms. The rooms were traditionally furnished with all amenities including complimentary WI-Fi. Dinner, which was of excellent quality, was served on the roof terrace. Breakfast, meanwhile, was served buffet style in a restaurant leading off the entrance courtyard. At night we wandered into Narlai, which is a small rural town untouched by change and received an amazing welcome from the local children and residents. Another evening we came across a temple ceremony and were invited to be involved, which made it feel very special. We felt Narlai is a place where few tourists come but those who do are welcomed with open arms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo-Mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narlai
19.4 km away
The Kumbha Bagh
The Kumbha Bagh
#1 of 8 in Kumbhalgarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
20.6 km away
Aodhi Hotel
Aodhi Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kumbhalgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
20.2 km away
Mana Hotels Ranakpur
Mana Hotels Ranakpur
#2 of 8 in Ranakpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
King's Abode
King's Abode
#1 of 8 in Ranakpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
22.9 km away
WelcomHeritage Maharani Bagh Orchard Retreat
25.9 km away
JAWAI
JAWAI
#1 of 36 in Pali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawla Narlai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawla Narlai

Property: Rawla Narlai
Address: Village and Post Narlai | Near Desuri Rajasthan, Narlai 306703, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Narlai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narlai
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,021 - ₹ 40,249
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rawla Narlai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stepwell Dinner : Guests are taken on a magical journey from the Rawla through the village streets into the jungle before arriving at the 1100 year old “step well”. The magical setting is brought to life by dimly lit oil lamps that illuminate the setting through flickering light. The very private dinner is laid out in a traditional manner, it promises to remain unmatched experience to anything you will ever experience for a long time. The entire evening is like a secluded sanctuary inspired by the mystical past, bracing Indian spirituality and the unique experience of one being completely with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Rawla Narlai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawla Narlai Hotel Narlai
Rawla Narlai Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing