We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams$1,041
Vio.com
Agoda.com$1,041
Etrip
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
34
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
34
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the reserve game sightings wedding ceremony absolute star african bush bird watching special place world class bush babies natalie tracker diverse pj royalty knowledge guide birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2022

Abalana made my daughter's dream of a perfect bush wedding come true!! The entire experience with Natalie in charge went beyond our expectations..
Amazing setting, Fabulous food and very good service.
Thank you Abalana Team

Room tip: All rooms have beautiful river view
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DVors
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Bryan West, Sales at Abelana River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2022

Many thanks for your wonderful comments - look forward to having you back soon...
Kind regards,
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2022

We stayed with friends 2 nights at Ablena River Lodge and felt truly welcome and cared for. Our Guide, Duncan, was a star and taught us to so much on the drives and walks in the bush - birds, trees, animals, spoor, ways of the bush.... And the lodge staff are so kind and made our stay very special.

Room tip: The chalet was beautiful and private looking over the river. Plan your stay to spend plenty of time enjoying it.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank evon3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Bryan West, Sales at Abelana River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2022

Many thanks for your kind words - we will make sure that the staff in particular Duncan get your feedback, Kind regards Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2022 via mobile

This stay has been by far the best we have experienced in and outside South Africa. Everything was taken care of, drinks upon arrival, game drives whenever and how you want, walk/night/day, all was possible. Location and cabins on the river shore were amazing.

Room tip: Check in as early as possible, you will need the time
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Marco E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Bryan West, Sales at Abelana River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2022

Dear Marco,
Many thanks for your kind words and compliments - we will share this information with the team on the ground and let them know of your feedback - hope to see you back soon safe travels,
Kind regards
Bryan
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2022 via mobile

We arrived at 3pm and check in was easy, efficient and very warm indeed. The setting is breathtaking with super deluxe furnishings. All meals were incredibly delicious including a special dinner under the tree.

Bird watching is just too lovely with great support by our game ranger, Duncan.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sanjeevmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Bryan West, Sales at Abelana River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2022

Many thanks for your feedback and great review - we will certainly let Duncan have your comments. Thank you for taking the time to place this review and hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2022

Pretty much a flawless experience from beginning to end. We spent three blissful nights at Abelana River Lodge and fell in love with the place and the people who work there. Great food, fabulous rooms, beautiful view. It's a no-brainer, really.

Shout out to game ranger Duncan!

Date of stay: May 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Bryan West, Sales at Abelana River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2022

Dear Terence,

Many thanks for kind words and compliments!!!
Kind regards,
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews