We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
231
49
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
49
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskruger parkbeautiful gardengreat hostsnice poolsecure parkingrooms are spaciousvisiting the areatown centrerecommend it to anyoneresidential areaplace to staynext morningentrance gateself drivedaveaccommodationrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Mother and daughter on holiday stayed in a lovely spacious twin room with additional bunk beds, furnished nicely with very convenient fridge and coffee making facilities as well as air conditioning. Set amongst very pretty and tranquil gardens, very peaceful and we really wish we had more time to spend there.
The owners were exceptionally lovely, helpful and a pleasure to meet. Very attentive to their guests and would go above and beyond for you. Very helpful in giving us some suggestions and advise on our holiday plans, and even booked the Olifants river cruise for us.
Breakfast was fantastic, offering a selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee, juice, and a high quality cooked breakfast of your choice. Dinner was available on request but we decided to visit the local restaurants to experience the area.
Ideal for all ages, short stays and long stays, only 5 minute drive from Phalaborwa gate which was ideal.
Would recommend to friends and would definitely return if we had the opportunity!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjmf1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Fleur & Wendy
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, your comments really are appreciated. We are really pleased that enjoyed your stay here with us and you had fun exploring the area and the wildlife!
Best wishes
Samantha & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Arrived after a 5 hour drive to find this wonderful place on a quite road in Phalaborwa. Grounds were well maintained and everything felt peaceful and relaxing.
Rooms very clean and spacious and Dave the host was fantastic. Very helpful in recommending a place to eat for the night and also shopping advice prior to our entry into Kruger. Brilliant breakfast available

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us Simon, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Six of us stayed for a night at Sunbird Lodge on our way into Kruger and can thoroughly recommend it. Nice rooms set in beautiful gardens and a very good breakfast. Several good restaurants nearby and several options for a big shop before entering the park.

We will definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_R_Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thanks for your very kind review Chris, it was a pleasure having you all stay with us.
Hope you enjoyed the Kruger!
Best wishes
Samantha & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Especially pleasant owners, beautiful and peaceful public spaces, a spacious room, a great breakfast and all at an excellent price. Recommended for those of you looking for a friendly place to spend the night before entering Kruger Park. The guesthouse is clean, spread over a relatively large area and features a small swimming pool and a beautiful peaceful garden.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yair1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you for your very kind review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hope you both enjoyed the Kruger Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and helpful!! Very good wifi. The rooms were nice and clean. We had our own refrigerator. Nice pool, and a nice backyard. They were very helpful providing information about activities and sights. Very safe neighborhood.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Espen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us Espen, hope you all enjoyed your last couple of days before you headed back home. Best wishes Samantha & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews