We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforting overnight family stay after KNP visit”
Review of Sunbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunbird Lodge
Ranked #1 of 27 Phalaborwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Our family (2 adults, 2 teen boys) booked to stay overnight on Monday 28th Aug, as we planned to spend a whole day in Kruger National Park, entering Phalaborwa Gate and routing through to Letaba Camp and back, then spending relaxing night at Sunbird Lodge.
After a long, hot day in the car, we arrived and were warmly welcomed by Dave who showed us around the property and our two adjoining rooms. He assisted us with directions to a lovely restaurant nearby for dinner.
Sunbird Lodge is located within a quite residential neighbourhood and with quick and easy access to KNP Phalaborwa Gate, which is highly convenient. The lodge itself has large sprawling, beautifully kept gardens and pools, and all the rooms were very safe, secure and more than adequately comfortable.
We were treated to a lovely, filling breakfast next morning before continuing on our trip.
We can certainly recommend Sunbird Lodge for travellers seeking safe, immaculately clean, convenient and tranquil surroundings at a reasonable price. 10/10 for hospitality.

Room Tip: all the rooms were discrete with views onto the lovely gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 270gc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. really pleased you enjoyed your overnight stay with us. Look forward to seeing you all next time. Best wishes Samantha & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

Mother and daughter on holiday stayed in a lovely spacious twin room with additional bunk beds, furnished nicely with very convenient fridge and coffee making facilities as well as air conditioning. Set amongst very pretty and tranquil gardens, very peaceful and we really wish we had more time to spend there.
The owners were exceptionally lovely, helpful and a pleasure to meet. Very attentive to their guests and would go above and beyond for you. Very helpful in giving us some suggestions and advise on our holiday plans, and even booked the Olifants river cruise for us.
Breakfast was fantastic, offering a selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee, juice, and a high quality cooked breakfast of your choice. Dinner was available on request but we decided to visit the local restaurants to experience the area.
Ideal for all ages, short stays and long stays, only 5 minute drive from Phalaborwa gate which was ideal.
Would recommend to friends and would definitely return if we had the opportunity!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjmf1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Fleur & Wendy
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, your comments really are appreciated. We are really pleased that enjoyed your stay here with us and you had fun exploring the area and the wildlife!
Best wishes
Samantha & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Arrived after a 5 hour drive to find this wonderful place on a quite road in Phalaborwa. Grounds were well maintained and everything felt peaceful and relaxing.
Rooms very clean and spacious and Dave the host was fantastic. Very helpful in recommending a place to eat for the night and also shopping advice prior to our entry into Kruger. Brilliant breakfast available

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us Simon, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Six of us stayed for a night at Sunbird Lodge on our way into Kruger and can thoroughly recommend it. Nice rooms set in beautiful gardens and a very good breakfast. Several good restaurants nearby and several options for a big shop before entering the park.

We will definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_R_Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thanks for your very kind review Chris, it was a pleasure having you all stay with us.
Hope you enjoyed the Kruger!
Best wishes
Samantha & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Especially pleasant owners, beautiful and peaceful public spaces, a spacious room, a great breakfast and all at an excellent price. Recommended for those of you looking for a friendly place to spend the night before entering Kruger Park. The guesthouse is clean, spread over a relatively large area and features a small swimming pool and a beautiful peaceful garden.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yair1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you for your very kind review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hope you both enjoyed the Kruger Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phalaborwa
0.8 km away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
32.2 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
294 reviews
2 km away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
#3 of 6 in Phalaborwa
89 reviews
1.2 km away
Cajori Hotel
Cajori Hotel
#4 of 6 in Phalaborwa
12 reviews
0.7 km away
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
#2 of 27 in Phalaborwa
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Lodge

Address: 21 Aalwyn Street, Phalaborwa 1389, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Phalaborwa
Price Range: ₹ 4,841 - ₹ 5,478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunbird Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in 2.5 Acres of tropical gardens, Sunbird Lodge is the perfect place to relax and let your stress melt away. Laze by the swimming pool, sit under one of our Lapa's with a drink from the bar or take in the gardens at night looking at the stars, you can do as much or as little as you want.We are a family run business with the emphasis firmly on good quality and friendly service. As a member of Birdlife South Africa, bird lovers will be in their element, with a wide variety of different bird species in the gardens.We are less than 3km from both the Phalaborwa Gate for the Kruger National Park and the renowned Hans Merensky Golf Estate. The Central Business District of Phalaborwa is less than 2km away making us the perfect choice for the business or leisure traveller. We are less than 5 minutes drive from Phalaborwa airport and car hire can also be arranged. Choose from one of 5 spacious double/twin rooms in the main house all with their own private access from the gardens. We have 2 delightful twin bedded rooms next to the swimming pool and 3 rooms situated together in the garden. Each room has its own bathroom with either shower and bath or just shower plus air conditioning, fridges, ceiling fans, TV's, tea & coffee making facilities and private patios. All rooms are non-smoking, but smoking is allowed on the patios outside the rooms A full English cooked breakfast along with juices, cereals, fruit and yoghurts is available daily in our dining rooms and packed lunches and dinners are also available (these must be pre arranged). We can also provide a take away breakfast for those of you leaving us early in the morning.Dinner is a delicious home cooked set menu, is available Monday-Friday and must be pre booked. There are also several good eating places we can recommend all within 5 minutes drive of us. Facilities at the lodge include a unique African bar with DSTV, a good size swimming pool, lapa's, a large braai (barbecue) area, secure car parking, a safe to store your valuables, laundry services and fax and internet facilities ( FREE WIFI connection available throughout the Lodge). There are plenty of activities to keep you occupied, both close by and within 90 minutes drive and we are the perfect base to explore this wonderful region of Limpopo. These activities include the Kruger National Park, cruising down the Olifants River, golf at the challenging Hans Merensky course, day trips to Gods Window, 3 Rondavels, Graskop and Pilgrims Rest, walking with lions, elephant back safari's, micro light or balloon flights over the game reserves and many many more. We can help you with reservations and advise on any of the activities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sunbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Lodge Phalaborwa, Limpopo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing