We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
231
49
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
49
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsphalaborwa gatebeautiful gardenkruger national parkgreat hostsnice poolsecure parkingrooms are spaciousvisiting the areatown centrerecommend it to anyoneresidential areaplace to staynext morningself drivedaveaccommodationrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Sunbird Lodge is a nice B&B in a lovely setting in a residential area of Phalaborwa. The owners are very friendly and communicate well with the guests.

The cleanliness in the bathroom was not 100% (shower floor).

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liesel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you for your review. Which room did you stay in please and we can look into the issue you raised?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel has a very nice garden to hang out. The receptionist is a wonderful guy. Super friendly. Breakfast was very good. The room very clean and bed was comfortable. Great value for money. I paid 66 euro for the night.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travels4rons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Fantastic accommodation and facilities, with a fantastic & helpful owner. Lovely rooms, ground, swimming pool and bar area. Owner helped to recommend us local restaurants & shops and helped book our trips into the park. Excellent breakfast selection in the mornings also!

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Cheers Robert, was a pleasure having you guys stay here with us and glad we could be of help during your stay! Look forward to the seeing you another time.
All the best
Dave & Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

The hotel is set in gorgeous gardens. The rooms are large with all mod cons and the breakfast the next morning was one of the best of our trip.

We had arrived at the Sunbird Lodge following the journey from hell. Dave the host could not be helpful, phoning car hire company to find out what we needed to do to get a puncture fixed then showed us where to go to get it done, which allowed us to enjoy the rest of our trip. His advice on routes through Kruger were spot on as well and helped us to get the most out of our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackieandmark123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thanks for your very kind review, really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and glad we assist with ideas for the Kruger!
Best wishes
Dave & Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We booked Sunbird as a place to lay our hats for a couple days before our safari, and the place to stay while we visited where Amarula is made, our favourite liqueur. While many places we stayed at along the way on a three-week Africa trip proved not to look like the photos online, Sunbird did not disappoint.

The courtyard and gardens are expansive and stunning with so many plants and trees, the pool is clean, we had a big, spotless room with a fridge and coffee maker, the breakfast was amazing, and Dave and Sam were so welcoming and full of information. They really understand and seem to enjoy being in the hospitality business.

They even took pity on our missed flight due to immigration's computer problems in Jo-Burg, and didn't charge us for that missed night. This showed not only compassion for a situation out of our hands but also good customer service.

They went out of their way to answer my many questions prior to arrival and put us in touch with a driver so we didn't have to rent a car, who was both responsible, responsive, cheerful, careful and economical.

Our only disappointment was that we didn't have more time to stay and enjoy the gorgeous surroundings!

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Dear Tracey & John
Thank you so much for your very kind review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy we could help you out after all the hassles you had with you flights.
Like you said, its just a shame you couldn't stay for longer. At least you know we we are so if you feel like escaping the harsh Canadian winters on another occasion a room will be waiting for you!
Best wishes
Samantha & Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews