We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Freindly Accomadation close to the Park Entrance”
Review of Sunbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunbird Lodge
Ranked #2 of 27 Phalaborwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Great Family Frendly accomadation with frendly and accomadation hosts - Every thing done with a smile.

Rooms are comfortable, specious and serviced by freindly staff. The grounds are tranquil and well maintained - very relaxing

Room Tip: Speak to the freindly host, they'll advise you one what's best for your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank barnapa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thanks very much for your review, was a pleasure as always to have you with us. Until next time....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2017

Sunbird Lodge is a nice B&B in a lovely setting in a residential area of Phalaborwa. The owners are very friendly and communicate well with the guests.

The cleanliness in the bathroom was not 100% (shower floor).

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liesel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you for your review. Which room did you stay in please and we can look into the issue you raised?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel has a very nice garden to hang out. The receptionist is a wonderful guy. Super friendly. Breakfast was very good. The room very clean and bed was comfortable. Great value for money. I paid 66 euro for the night.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travels4rons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Fantastic accommodation and facilities, with a fantastic & helpful owner. Lovely rooms, ground, swimming pool and bar area. Owner helped to recommend us local restaurants & shops and helped book our trips into the park. Excellent breakfast selection in the mornings also!

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Cheers Robert, was a pleasure having you guys stay here with us and glad we could be of help during your stay! Look forward to the seeing you another time.
All the best
Dave & Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

The hotel is set in gorgeous gardens. The rooms are large with all mod cons and the breakfast the next morning was one of the best of our trip.

We had arrived at the Sunbird Lodge following the journey from hell. Dave the host could not be helpful, phoning car hire company to find out what we needed to do to get a puncture fixed then showed us where to go to get it done, which allowed us to enjoy the rest of our trip. His advice on routes through Kruger were spot on as well and helped us to get the most out of our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackieandmark123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbirdlodge, Owner at Sunbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thanks for your very kind review, really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and glad we assist with ideas for the Kruger!
Best wishes
Dave & Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phalaborwa
0.8 km away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
32.2 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
295 reviews
2 km away
Bushveld Terrace Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
Hans Merensky Hotel & Spa
#3 of 6 in Phalaborwa
90 reviews
1.2 km away
Cajori Hotel
Cajori Hotel
#4 of 6 in Phalaborwa
12 reviews
0.7 km away
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
Kaia Tani Guesthouse
#1 of 27 in Phalaborwa
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Lodge

Address: 21 Aalwyn Street, Phalaborwa 1389, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Phalaborwa
Price Range: ₹ 4,904 - ₹ 5,478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunbird Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in 2.5 Acres of tropical gardens, Sunbird Lodge is the perfect place to relax and let your stress melt away. Laze by the swimming pool, sit under one of our Lapa's with a drink from the bar or take in the gardens at night looking at the stars, you can do as much or as little as you want.We are a family run business with the emphasis firmly on good quality and friendly service. As a member of Birdlife South Africa, bird lovers will be in their element, with a wide variety of different bird species in the gardens.We are less than 3km from both the Phalaborwa Gate for the Kruger National Park and the renowned Hans Merensky Golf Estate. The Central Business District of Phalaborwa is less than 2km away making us the perfect choice for the business or leisure traveller. We are less than 5 minutes drive from Phalaborwa airport and car hire can also be arranged. Choose from one of 5 spacious double/twin rooms in the main house all with their own private access from the gardens. We have 2 delightful twin bedded rooms next to the swimming pool and 3 rooms situated together in the garden. Each room has its own bathroom with either shower and bath or just shower plus air conditioning, fridges, ceiling fans, TV's, tea & coffee making facilities and private patios. All rooms are non-smoking, but smoking is allowed on the patios outside the rooms A full English cooked breakfast along with juices, cereals, fruit and yoghurts is available daily in our dining rooms and packed lunches and dinners are also available (these must be pre arranged). We can also provide a take away breakfast for those of you leaving us early in the morning.Dinner is a delicious home cooked set menu, is available Monday-Friday and must be pre booked. There are also several good eating places we can recommend all within 5 minutes drive of us. Facilities at the lodge include a unique African bar with DSTV, a good size swimming pool, lapa's, a large braai (barbecue) area, secure car parking, a safe to store your valuables, laundry services and fax and internet facilities ( FREE WIFI connection available throughout the Lodge). There are plenty of activities to keep you occupied, both close by and within 90 minutes drive and we are the perfect base to explore this wonderful region of Limpopo. These activities include the Kruger National Park, cruising down the Olifants River, golf at the challenging Hans Merensky course, day trips to Gods Window, 3 Rondavels, Graskop and Pilgrims Rest, walking with lions, elephant back safari's, micro light or balloon flights over the game reserves and many many more. We can help you with reservations and advise on any of the activities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sunbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Lodge Phalaborwa, Limpopo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing