We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like tradition and the view of lake Vättern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gyllene Uttern
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Granna
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The Hotel has a lovely location on the slope facing lake Vättern. It has an impressive history in Swedish motor tourism (you can read it in the menu). Our room ( in one annex building) had the view and was comfortable and well tended but nothing extra. The staff was attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2016

The view is really great from the whole hotel area and the personal is helpful and kind.
The breakfast is good and the rooms are clean.
The bed was very hard however and we both woke up with pain in our backs.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TestLabRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

2 nights early July. The Main building beguiles with eye-catching old world exterior and rustic yet elegant hunting lodge interior that meanders down hallways and into sunrooms lined with chairs and old photos. Loads of personality here and spot-on reminiscent of the U.S. National Park lodges built in the 1930s, the same time this hotel was started when it was apparently the first motor lodge in this area. The Main Building is where you want to stay. The most quiet will be on the back side overlooking the lake. Front entrance side will have some parking lot and highway noise. Supposedly the rooms in Main building are larger and more nicely furnished. Breakfast is in the Main building in a beautiful elegant old room and serves a very nice buffet overlooking incredible views of Lake Vattern.
* AVOID the Annex - rooms are noisy (hall, doors), cramped, stoically furnished, fitted with small bathrooms, poor water pressure, but do have ample free parking directly outside.
** WIFI - hotel issues one password good for one consecutive 8-hours of free wifi. Once you hook up, the clock starts even if wifi is turned off on your device. Wifi is reliable when you have it. This policy may be limited only to Annex guests, I’m not sure.
Regardless, if you have a car, this is the hotel to stay at, not in town.
The Front Desk was managed by two very capable busy women, who were allocating time between guests arriving for a large wedding reception and regular guests checking in. A day later these two were charged with fending off irritated guests (who wanted to park their cars) while trying to reserve a large area waiting to receive a caravan of old Alfa Romeo cars. Somehow both women remained pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid Annex or rooms on front side (noise). Recommend Main building rooms (in back) overlooking lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Seessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

One has to stop at the Gyllene Uttern for its delicious café or restaurant. Old building with marvellous view. We had a classic and good eg and anchovy sandwich. Good service and average prices. Highly recommended as a good stop on your way to/from Stockholm and the south of Sweden.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Johan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We happened to pass by and decided to stop fur lunch. This proved indeed to be a very good decision. We were warmly welcomed in the cosy restaurant whit a spectacular view over lake Vättern and the lunch that we were served was indeed excellent. We continued over journey with a happy smile on our faces.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Henrik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granna
2.8 km away
Hotel Amalias Hus
Hotel Amalias Hus
#1 of 2 in Granna
124 reviews
31.8 km away
Badhotellet
Badhotellet
#1 of 2 in Tranas
149 reviews
29 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Scandic Elmia
Scandic Elmia
#4 of 16 in Jonkoping
551 reviews
28.5 km away
Vox Hotel
Vox Hotel
#2 of 16 in Jonkoping
575 reviews
3.5 km away
Grannagarden
Grannagarden
#4 of 4 in Granna
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gyllene Uttern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gyllene Uttern

Address: Gyllene Uttern 1, Granna 563 92, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Jonkoping County > Granna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Granna
Price Range: ₹ 7,519 - ₹ 12,789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gyllene Uttern 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best places in Sweden! An unforgettable hotel experience. Midway between Stockholm and Malmo, in the County of Granna-Visingso, stands our magnificent country manor hotel with its castellated walls. This was once Sweden’s first roadside restaurant. With direct and easy access from the major E4 motorway, the hotel is set in a quiet, tranquil and beautiful lakeside location, offering panoramic views of Lake Vattern and the island of Visingso. Our guests can enjoy the highest standards of cuisine as well as a range of excellent accommodation – from luxury suites to modern double rooms. We promise you that your stay will be an unforgettable experience! We can also offer a range of different leisure activities, and will do our utmost to respond to any of your requirements and needs – no matter if you come here for a conference, on holiday, just for a relaxing weekend, or perhaps for your wedding ceremony in our chapel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gyllene Uttern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing