We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
24
60
34
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
60
34
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat viewmain buildingplenty of parkingenjoy the viewlake viewbeautiful hotelold worldannexcastlecountry
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2016

The view is really great from the whole hotel area and the personal is helpful and kind.
The breakfast is good and the rooms are clean.
The bed was very hard however and we both woke up with pain in our backs.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TestLabRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

2 nights early July. The Main building beguiles with eye-catching old world exterior and rustic yet elegant hunting lodge interior that meanders down hallways and into sunrooms lined with chairs and old photos. Loads of personality here and spot-on reminiscent of the U.S. National Park lodges built in the 1930s, the same time this hotel was started when it was apparently the first motor lodge in this area. The Main Building is where you want to stay. The most quiet will be on the back side overlooking the lake. Front entrance side will have some parking lot and highway noise. Supposedly the rooms in Main building are larger and more nicely furnished. Breakfast is in the Main building in a beautiful elegant old room and serves a very nice buffet overlooking incredible views of Lake Vattern.
* AVOID the Annex - rooms are noisy (hall, doors), cramped, stoically furnished, fitted with small bathrooms, poor water pressure, but do have ample free parking directly outside.
** WIFI - hotel issues one password good for one consecutive 8-hours of free wifi. Once you hook up, the clock starts even if wifi is turned off on your device. Wifi is reliable when you have it. This policy may be limited only to Annex guests, I’m not sure.
Regardless, if you have a car, this is the hotel to stay at, not in town.
The Front Desk was managed by two very capable busy women, who were allocating time between guests arriving for a large wedding reception and regular guests checking in. A day later these two were charged with fending off irritated guests (who wanted to park their cars) while trying to reserve a large area waiting to receive a caravan of old Alfa Romeo cars. Somehow both women remained pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid Annex or rooms on front side (noise). Recommend Main building rooms (in back) overlooking lake.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Seessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

One has to stop at the Gyllene Uttern for its delicious café or restaurant. Old building with marvellous view. We had a classic and good eg and anchovy sandwich. Good service and average prices. Highly recommended as a good stop on your way to/from Stockholm and the south of Sweden.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Johan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We happened to pass by and decided to stop fur lunch. This proved indeed to be a very good decision. We were warmly welcomed in the cosy restaurant whit a spectacular view over lake Vättern and the lunch that we were served was indeed excellent. We continued over journey with a happy smile on our faces.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Henrik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Our room was in one of the "new" wings, not the main building. The room was quite plain, more 3 star than 5 star - comfortable but not luxurious. The views were 4-5 star, both from our room, and even more so from ding room and the general access balcony. The meal in the dining room was lovely.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews