We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$92
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$102
View deal
Vio.com
$102
View deal
eDreams$92
Agoda.com$92
Etrip$102
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
87
37
7
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
87
37
7
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews binsar wildlife sanctuary himalayan range british era stunning scenery wild animals madding crowd warm hospitality amazing place nehru estate forest himalayas resort mr independence sides leopard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2020

We stayed here from Dec 31 to Jan 2. The place was too cold in the evenings. The view of snow-covered mountains was excellent. There was hadly any wildlife, may be due to the weather. Electric supply was erratic. Getting hot water for a bath was difficult. The food was home-like.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ramesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 January 2020

The resort is inside the Binsar wildlife sanctuary which makes it a perfect place for bird watchers and peace lovers.

There is no Television in the rooms, you will find little to no connectivity on your mobile networks and the Wifi is limited to the reception area - which is great for people who really want to disconnect from the world.

I completed reading a book that was pending for some time, slept on the hammock under the sun and played badminton (they have a court in the campus and also provide the rackets and shuttlecock)

The staff is friendly, humble and very caring. They serve simple yet delicious food (Non Veg is not permitted within the Wildlife sanctuary)

It is a pet-friendly resort which is one of the main reasons I booked this place as I did not want to leave my little dog behind. The staff gave fresh milk for her at no extra cost - who doesnt love such gestures?

Room tip: Pick the Cottages facing the Himalayan Ranges
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HNegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 December 2019

Wonderful resort. Great views of nature. Excellent common room with fire place.
Inspite of only 2 of us in the resort, we were treated with excellent food. Staff treated us very well. A bit expensive but still recommend a stay.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dariyakhedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 June 2019 via mobile

Sometimes you don't know what you are looking for but recognize it the moment you see it - this is the feeling we had within 10 minutes of entering Khali resort. The place is steeped in a 150 yr old history which can actually be felt and touched in the library of the central bungalow.

Spread over 26 acres, the campus is a nature lover's delight with Pine, Cedar & Oak trees spread all around and langoors paying frequent ( but charming ) visits. There are beautiful jungle trails around the campus which make for lovely morning and evening walks. The adjacent hills proved perfect starter as training ground for mountain climbing.

Food is lovingly made and served by a very friendly and helpful staff that is always eager to please. Most food is home grown including the milk which is from cows on campus. No non-veg is served which is as it is not allowed within sanctuary limits but also - it is not in the spirit of the place. As the gentlemanly proprietor Pandeyji explains it so perfectly - the place is based on the basic principles of non-ahimsa.

Also, its the only place within the sanctuary that has 24x7 electricity.

Overall - a must visit if you love off beat locations and love nature with the homestay touch.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rohit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 June 2019

No doubt property is good and located in the reserve forest...thanks to Congress people for giving approval (might be illegally) where no normal group (even ITC are not permitted)gets approval to have resort....but most astonishing thing is they don't serve nonveg and it's not mentioned in their website too. Food is of very poor quality and without options..which we don't even eat at home or give to our subordinate working at home...

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank MiglaniN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Khaliestatebinsar, General Manager at Mountain Resort, Khali Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

We do thank you for posting your suggestions – we do appreciate the fact that you feel that the property has an exotic location in the Binsar wildlife Sanctuary. However we would like to clarify a few points you have mentioned.

1) You mention “illegal” and we are not sure on what basis this has been written without checking facts.
We would like to mention that Khali Estate has a rich history dating back to almost 150 years and it has changed hands over the years with all legal formalities duly fulfilled as per government regulations and necessities. Please also note here that Khali Estate was converted into a hotel, even before Binsar was declared as a wildlife Sanctuary and we are the oldest commercial organization in Binsar.

2) Reference Non - Vegetarian food not being served at Khali Estate – we do agree here (and this is also mentioned on our website) that we do not serve non -vegetarian meals, as we are located in a Wildlife Sanctuary and government regulations do not permit non - vegetarian meals to be served in Sanctuaries and National Parks.

3) Reference meals not being up to the standards expected by you, we regret the same. We would like to mention here and as you must have noticed, we do try our best to keep the guests happy and provide homegrown organic produce (to the best of our ability) from our own organic Kitchen garden. Also we have our own dairy, which supplies fresh milk to our Kitchen – This has all been done to provide our guests fresh and the best vegetarian meals. Our cooks undergo regular trainings and are shared feedbacks on meals, which are given by our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews