We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kasaar Jungle Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Almora
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
1 review
“Good Place !!!”
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Staying at the Kasaar Jungle was a great treat and a break away from the noise and rush of Delhi. We loved the location and the fantastic view of Himalayas. Food is good and specially staff is very friendly and really takes care of you.
Our only downside was our decision to drive from Delhi. We booked last minute so we had no option but we would definitely fly/go by train next time. The drive was more like 10/11hrs and that was with one stop for lunch. Overall it was great experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SameerNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    53
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
85
23
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DLF
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2009

In an age where every industry prides itself for providing personalised quality service to it's customers,Kasaar Resort comes as a rude shock.Though it is ideally located,it lacks some of the basic facilities that make a "holiday stay" experience worth remembering.

There are no restrooms for guests in the reception/lobby/cofeeshop area.Are guests expected to climb up many a steep step to their rooms,simply to ease themselves after a meal.The Indian style washroom that is there for the staff!! has NO tissues,towels,soap!! can you imagine this in a hotel that charges approx. INR 4000 per night!!

There is not a single English Newspaper available to guests.You are supposed to live in the wilderness with no contact with what's happening in the outside world.One wouldn't mind if you were otherwise engaged.But sadly the hotel does not provide ANY activity for you to keep involved.No Spa,no classes,Yoga or meditation,no games other than a single table tennis table,two broken rackets and one ball!!

The hotel site boasts of a children's play area,nothing happening here folks so if you are a family be ready for totally bored kids.There is no bonfire,no musical evening.The ONLY cassatte in the dining hall is a Jagjit Singh ghazal album.

No car/van/jeep service available to pick and drop guests to any of the nearby temple/Dolma restaurant, Nothing.Drive your own vehicle up and down the steep unmade,rough road to the so called resort and then spend half hour trying to manouver your vehicle into a decent parking position.No attendent to help you here either.No sir!!

The electrical switches in our cottage were pathetic,the locks did not work properly,the manager later said they were going to destroy that cottage!! so much for taking care to give your customer's a good stay!!hey!! next time give your guests better choices of rooms please!!

The staff in the dining hall became hospitable after a while.Mani is the smiling helpful staff,of the lot.

The breakfast and dinner is clearly outsourced to a local caterer so all meals were like a local weddingmeal.There is NO variety in the food.only simple home cooked Indian food.No cereals for chilren only local cornflakes!!,burnt paranthas,overdone omellettes,nothing to suggest resort quality.Better food and variety in food can be had at much cheaper lodgings.

I had a long chat with Manish the Manager and told him that they really need to pull up on their services.He is a soft spoken guy,with probably little authority and very little drive,surely not suitable for the hospitality industry.

The good points are the location,the landscaping,the fact that it has easy access to the KasaarDevi Temple which has a stupendous view.Must do for those who stay here.The Buddhist Monastery nearby is well worth a visit.The a-la-carte lunch (made by the hotel's own cooks)we had was served quickly and the local red beans(rajmah) and local potato dish were delicious.

There was no derth of water though electricity was constantly fluctuating.

We did the Jageshwar temple complex while we stayed at Kasaar.That's a MUST SEE and hopefully next time we will stay at Jageshwar to be able to enjoy true nature's bounty at much lower expense and much better hospitality.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank VLuvToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Reception manager was casual to the point of being off-hand, though later became more helpful. I couldn't access wifi on my laptop, and they didn't know how to fix the problem, so eventually let me use the reception computer to access emails.

Room was very average. Reasonable size, but no character. Cheap pine furniture. The door had a horizontal slit between the panels, so anyone could peak in. Towels had brown stains. Hot water didn't last long (would have been worse if I'd been sharing the room). Had 3 power cuts in 2 days - up to 2 hours at a time. Food was OK but nothing special. Room service was lax on one occasion. Lots of steps to climb from the car park to reception and from there to my room, so not advisable for older or disabled people.

Great views from my room. Munni was cheerful and friendly, but decided to accompany me on a day trip by car without asking if he could.

The village of Kasar Devi where the resort is located is serene and quite pretty. Check out the Tibetan Buddhist temple and Mohan's Cafe.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderwallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We found the staff very helpful, particularly those in the restaurant (and particularly Munni). We enjoyed the food and had a lovely stay. The main down side was the huge electricity pylon near the grounds

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerahaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gujarat
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2009

View from some rooms excellent. From some rooms you do not have any view of jungle, valley or Himalayas. No hospitality from hotel staff. No choice of food.
1. Resort is far away from Almora town.
2. Staff is not trained and do not serve. Even acting hotel manager behaviour was rude & least interested to serve guests.
3. Telephone service withdrawn without any prior notice. Whenever rain starts staff switch off telephone service. Rooms are away from reception. In rain how to communicate with staff with out telephone?
4. Complaint book not available and staff do not co-operate.
5. No facility for drivers to stay or to eat.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabsmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almora
3.1 km away
Imperial Heights binsar
1.0 km away
AyurVAID Kalmatia
AyurVAID Kalmatia
#3 of 17 in Almora
169 reviews
5.0 km away
Hotel Shikhar
Hotel Shikhar
#4 of 17 in Almora
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Grand Oak Manor
Grand Oak Manor
#3 of 5 in Binsar
100 reviews
24.2 km away
Heritage Resort Kausani
16.1 km away
Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasaar Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasaar Jungle Resort

Property: Kasaar Jungle Resort
Address: Binsar Road | near Kasaar Devi Temple, Almora 263601, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Almora
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Almora
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,209 - ₹ 4,942
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasaar Jungle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Agoda, MakeMyTrip, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Kasaar Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasaar Jungle Hotel
Kasaar Jungle Resort Almora, Uttarakhand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing