We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint little piece of heaven.”
Review of Ayush Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ayush Guest House
Ranked #1 of 36 Almora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Our visit to Ayush Guest House in May 2017 was for three nights but we ended up spending 5 nights at this beautiful place. The guest house is a mini sanctuary in itself. They don't boast of luxury hotel kind of service but you get almost everything that's required. Fresh towels, soaps, tissues, bed linen, neat rooms, hygienic bathrooms and a very homely atmosphere. No TVs and limited mobile networks. In short, perfect place to unwind your stress. This place is not for people who have difficulty climbing up and down since there is a steep uphill climb of about 500 meters to reach the parking venue. But a great place for families like ours who love trekking. We took one of the rooms from the Nest area and we had a lavish valley right in front of our rooms. The weather didn't support much else we would have had the pleasure of watching the Himalayan range right outside of our room. I am an avid bird watcher and I happened to click almost all of my Himalayan birds inside this Guest House. The best one being a Tragopan and a Khalij Pheasant. The staff is very hospitable and the owner Raju Bhaiya and his family are such warm people. They make sure to provide you almost everything that you need. They have independent cottages, double decker rooms to normal twin sharing rooms. We have already decided to visit them once again sometime soon and spend at least a week in this quaint little piece of heaven in the hills. All in all, one of the best places to stay in Almora on Binsar Road.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank 285rekhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017

I salute to his customer delight service, his thoughtfulness & vision. Name the thing or service & it is available .... a real ginnie - "Raju Bhaiya".
Amazing experience it was! to get something the best you need to take some pain reaching till resort, this could be little difficult for few as U need to walk down the hill for almost 800 meters & uphill to approach the tar road. but I would say this is the most unique , enjoyable approach to any resort & that's truly makes it special. Well thought room design, Small garden & sitting area for every room, common dining with small interesting library. The food is cherry on the cake. Meals served with dome diff variety, salads,Indian food parathas, pizza ( freshly baked base), pasta, Apple pie with vanilla ice cream......& what not. dining table it full of various pickles, chutney, jam & herbs.

Tea time menu- Variety of green tea, coffee the way you want just fabulous.

This is the best nature resort have ever visited. Basically the location makes it more unique not very far from Almora yet isolated. Lovely Himalayan birds chirping is the alarm, morning tea with sunrise gives an exotic experience.
I found my heaven to be there at least once a year.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_Bipin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

We stayed two nights at the guest house in April 2017. What we savored the most is that this place is not over engineered. Raju has retained the rusticness of the place without compromising on the comfort. Not much to mention about the rooms, as they are basic, value for money. However, Raju offered extremely customised services to ensure we enjoy our stay. All the food was cooked by Raju & his wife, with a lot of ingredients sourced from his own land. We went a little off track enroute Almora. Raju called us every few minutes to ensure we are safe. Would have loved to stay there longer.
PS - It's not at a very high altitude, making it a little hot during summers.

Room Tip: Though there are cottages with kitchenette, would suggest staying in individual rooms as they have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Stayed their from 26th Dec to 30th Dec 2016 - "home away from home" are the correct words to express the experience. Throughly enjoyed the hospitality of Raju and his team. Look froward to visit the place again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank isdeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Raju's guest house, Ayush, tucked in the (Kumaon) valley at the base of the Himalayas, is a beautiful gem. The architecture is unique and creative, blending in local life (farmers and their cows!) with tiny little homes for rest and shelter. Raju is a wonderful cook and host - even though the space feels a bit remote, you are in touch with all things in the area - and he'll easily get you a driver or connection to wherever you need to go. The two things I would say are on the challenging side are: the lodgings are only accessible by foot for about a half mile's walk through the surrounding hills (though he and his staff will transport you and your luggage when you arrive) and some of the spaces can get chilly in the winter. I think all in all if you want a down home feel, with a canny, cosmopolitan flare, this is your spot!

Room Tip: Choose the smaller rooms in winter (for warmth).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Beatrice331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almora hotels
2 km away
Imperial Heights Binsar
1.9 km away
The Himalayan Woods
The Himalayan Woods
#4 of 17 in Almora
14 reviews
0.5 km away
Xomotel The Park Retreat
Xomotel The Park Retreat
#6 of 17 in Almora
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Itmenaan Estate
Itmenaan Estate
#2 of 36 in Almora
76 reviews
41.4 km away
Essence of Nature Resort
2.8 km away
Kasaar Jungle Resort
Kasaar Jungle Resort
#2 of 17 in Almora
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayush Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayush Guest House

Address: Papersali-Bari | Binsar Road SH37, Balta Badi, Uttarakhand, Almora 263601, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Almora
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Almora
Price Range: ₹ 1,282 - ₹ 2,756 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside, amidst a quaint Kumaon Himalayan village, Ayush’s cottages offer modest but clean and comfortable stays. Located about 4 Km from Almora, on the road to Binsar, the property overlooks the valley of Balti Badi. Interspersed with small gardens and organic fruits and vegetable patches, the cottages are interconnected by pathways. Ayush is more than a guest-house, but is not a hotel – though it offers basic amenities, a clean and comfortable stay, and a limited menu. Enjoy the crisp, cool mountain air and an amazing view of the Himalayas! There is also a small shop and a well stocked library for guest use. Free wiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Ayush Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayush Guest House Almora, Uttarakhand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing