We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place day long trekking”
Review of AyurVAID Kalmatia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AyurVAID Kalmatia
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Almora
Chennai, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting place day long trekking”
Reviewed 31 March 2016

I chose this hotel from the reviews found in Trip Advisor and found it totally satisfying. The rooms have a rustic charm and on clear days the view from the balcony was mesmerizing. One particular day the mist parted and we could see the snow capped ranged of the Himalayas, the trip was complete with the view!

The hotel arranges for treks and it is best to take their advice on the extent of difficulty of these treks.

Room Tip: Go for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEE-ARAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalmatia, Guest Relations Manager at AyurVAID Kalmatia, responded to this review, 6 January 2017
Dear Dee-aran, Thanks a lot for sharing your experiences at AyurVAID, Kalmatia with us. It gives us immense pleasure to know that you enjoyed the stay and the healing experience offered. Your compliments about the locality, ambience and trekking offered mean a lot to us. Thanks for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again :) Regards, AyurVAID
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    40
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
71
67
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2016

its a very neat and clean place. the staff is good and food above average. no tv so kids find it tough to stay here. they have a wonderful nature walk in the premisis. the rooms are ethnic and we felt hot in the rooms since we went in augest. from the room balcony we could actually see different birds and there was birds nest in our balcony which made a pleasant watch. all rooms are named after birds

Room Tip: avoid the rooms with a split level. they seemed claustrophobic to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Gautam U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalmatia, Guest Relations Manager at AyurVAID Kalmatia, responded to this review, 6 January 2017
Dear Dr. Gautam U, Thanks a lot for sharing your experiences at AyurVAID, Kalmatia with us. It gives us immense pleasure to know that you enjoyed the stay and the healing experience offered. Your compliments about the staff, ambience and food mean a lot to us and we vow to keep improving. Thanks for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again :) Regards, AyurVAID

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Had a wonderful and peaceful weeklong stay. The staff was incredibly accommodating, and the food was fantastic. Very comfortable lodgings and beautiful scenery. Coordinating transportation was a snap and guided hikes nearby were wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melyan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalmatiaAyurVAID, General Manager at AyurVAID Kalmatia, responded to this review, 12 March 2016
Dear Melyan,

Thank you very much. We too were delighted to have you staying with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm wishes,

Rajiv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Great retreat for individuals or small groups traveling together. We visited for 1 week in January and were treated royally by the staff. Although the 4 of us were the only visitors for most of the week, the staff attended to all of our needs. Each breakfast and dinner was unique, served in style and delicious. The dinners offered were indian, italian and french, all beginning with soup and ending with dessert.

The staff made numerous recommendations for daily visits, including treks in Binsar, visit to Jageshwar, Almora and Kousani Shawl Factory. They arranged the driver, packed a picnic lunch if requested and provided a local tour around the resort with a guide.

The rooms were lovely, with outstanding views of the valley and high mountains. Days in January were sunny and in the 60's with nights falling into the 30's or 40's. No problems here though since the staff had our wood burning stove roaring by 5 PM and placed hot water bottles in our beds while we were at dinner.

I highly recommend Kalmatia to India travelers. It offers both a respite from busy, chaotic india and interesting day trips for the full week.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalmatiaAyurVAID, General Manager at AyurVAID Kalmatia, responded to this review, 12 March 2016
Dear Ms. Candice,

Thank you so much for your heartwarming comments. We truly were delighted to serve you and to ensure that your stay was to your complete satisfaction.

Do stay in touch.

Warm wishes,

Rajiv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2016

its been three long years since I visited Kalmatia. It's still as fresh in our memory like it happened yesterday. Who can forget the wonderful views of Nanda Devi, its massiff changing colours as the Sun makes its daily round, hiding behind the clouds from time to time only to emerge again displaying its awesome glory. The food was fantastic, the breakfast especially. Imagine sipping a hot cup of tea facing a snow-capped mountain glistening in the morning sun. We stayed in Owl, a quaint little cottage, perfect for our family of three.

The best part was the walk around the property, surrounded by deep valleys, bathed in crisp fresh mountain air that is Godsend for city folks like us. And finally who can forget the friendly and supportive staff, especially manager Narendra who was more like a friend and guide. Looking forward to more visits here.

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essen2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalmatiaAyurVAID, General Manager at AyurVAID Kalmatia, responded to this review, 12 March 2016
Thank you so much. Indeed, it is the warmth of our guests that inspires us to serve you better. Very happy to know that your family and you had a fulfilling stay. Look forward to having you over at Kalmatia again soon.

Rajiv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almora
2.1 km away
Imperial Heights binsar
10.3 km away
Grand Oak Manor
Grand Oak Manor
#3 of 5 in Binsar
100 reviews
25.1 km away
Heritage Resort Kausani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Kumaon
The Kumaon
#4 of 5 in Binsar
12 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Shikhar
Hotel Shikhar
#4 of 17 in Almora
75 reviews
16.9 km away
Woodsvilla Resort Ranikhet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AyurVAID Kalmatia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AyurVAID Kalmatia

Property: AyurVAID Kalmatia
Address: Kasar Devi | Upper Binsar Road, Almora 263601, India (Formerly Kalmatia Sangam Himalaya Resort)
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Almora District > Almora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Almora
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,137 - ₹ 32,161
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalmatia Sangam, the preferred holiday destination in the Kumaon Himalayas is now AyurVAID Kalmatia, a classical Ayurveda healing destination managed by AyurVAID, pioneer & leader in precision Ayurveda for disease reversal and sustained wellbeing. The magical Kalmatia experience is now uniquely enhanced with the power of gentle and natural Ayurveda healing for body, mind and soul. Pure Ayurveda, uniquely personalised to suit your health needs, can now be experienced in the most salubrious of environs - Devbhoomi in the Himalayas. Delicious, healthy, vegetarian cuisine complemented with dinacharya (daily health routine) and with Ayurveda therapy that detoxifies, de-stresses, reverses disease and restores wellbeing. For families & friends who love the Himalayas, AyurVAID Kalmatia offers a Health Holiday experience customized for each member to correct emerging health risks and to enhance health while vacationing together. At AyurVAID Kalmatia, discover the pristine Kumaon Himalayas; rediscover your inner pure self in all its dimensions. Apart from this AyurVAID Kalmatia continues to be the paradise for tourists for all occasions--either for spiritual or wildlife or trekking or village walks or bird watching --- we have all under the most qualified guides who can take care of your requirement. A highly personalized, caring and service that match in the industry (as we stand first in TripAdvisor) awaits you at our beautiful location in the lap of Himalayan resort. Eight unique and tastefully furnished cottages offer you peace and serenity in the lap of nature. Enjoy a variety of cuisines at our 'Vegetarian Restaurant' where all our produce is homemade, including bread, cakes, jams and pickles. A paradise for bird watchers and nature lovers, the resort is also an ideal starting point for many scenic walks and treks. Local English speaking guides are available, village treks with stays in traditional villages houses are also an option and we are well located for sightseeing trips to the famous Jageshwar Temple complex, Binsar Wildlife Sanctuary and the Katarmal Sun temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your AyurVAID Kalmatia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalmatia Sangam Almora
Kalmatia Sangam Hotel Almora
AyurVAID Kalmatia Almora, Uttarakhand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing