We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AyurVAID Kalmatia
Nearby Hotels
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 17
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 21/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 22
US$ 20
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 31/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 80
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
124
42
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
42
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseagles nestthe cottagesnanda devisoothing experiencebeautiful natureearly morningchirping birdspicnic lunchstate of the artsnow capped peaksvisit this placetake carehimalayan experienceyour taste budsstayed longerspecial mentionsplendid view
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2016

its a very neat and clean place. the staff is good and food above average. no tv so kids find it tough to stay here. they have a wonderful nature walk in the premisis. the rooms are ethnic and we felt hot in the rooms since we went in augest. from the room balcony we could actually see different birds and there was birds nest in our balcony which made a pleasant watch. all rooms are named after birds

Room Tip: avoid the rooms with a split level. they seemed claustrophobic to me
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dr Gautam U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalmatia, Guest Relations Manager at AyurVAID Kalmatia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Dear Dr. Gautam U, Thanks a lot for sharing your experiences at AyurVAID, Kalmatia with us. It gives us immense pleasure to know that you enjoyed the stay and the healing experience offered. Your compliments about the staff, ambience and food mean a lot to us and we vow to keep improving. Thanks for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again :) Regards, AyurVAID

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Had a wonderful and peaceful weeklong stay. The staff was incredibly accommodating, and the food was fantastic. Very comfortable lodgings and beautiful scenery. Coordinating transportation was a snap and guided hikes nearby were wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Melyan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalmatiaAyurVAID, General Manager at AyurVAID Kalmatia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Dear Melyan,

Thank you very much. We too were delighted to have you staying with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm wishes,

Rajiv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Great retreat for individuals or small groups traveling together. We visited for 1 week in January and were treated royally by the staff. Although the 4 of us were the only visitors for most of the week, the staff attended to all of our needs. Each breakfast and dinner was unique, served in style and delicious. The dinners offered were indian, italian and french, all beginning with soup and ending with dessert.

The staff made numerous recommendations for daily visits, including treks in Binsar, visit to Jageshwar, Almora and Kousani Shawl Factory. They arranged the driver, packed a picnic lunch if requested and provided a local tour around the resort with a guide.

The rooms were lovely, with outstanding views of the valley and high mountains. Days in January were sunny and in the 60's with nights falling into the 30's or 40's. No problems here though since the staff had our wood burning stove roaring by 5 PM and placed hot water bottles in our beds while we were at dinner.

I highly recommend Kalmatia to India travelers. It offers both a respite from busy, chaotic india and interesting day trips for the full week.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalmatiaAyurVAID, General Manager at AyurVAID Kalmatia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Dear Ms. Candice,

Thank you so much for your heartwarming comments. We truly were delighted to serve you and to ensure that your stay was to your complete satisfaction.

Do stay in touch.

Warm wishes,

Rajiv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

its been three long years since I visited Kalmatia. It's still as fresh in our memory like it happened yesterday. Who can forget the wonderful views of Nanda Devi, its massiff changing colours as the Sun makes its daily round, hiding behind the clouds from time to time only to emerge again displaying its awesome glory. The food was fantastic, the breakfast especially. Imagine sipping a hot cup of tea facing a snow-capped mountain glistening in the morning sun. We stayed in Owl, a quaint little cottage, perfect for our family of three.

The best part was the walk around the property, surrounded by deep valleys, bathed in crisp fresh mountain air that is Godsend for city folks like us. And finally who can forget the friendly and supportive staff, especially manager Narendra who was more like a friend and guide. Looking forward to more visits here.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Essen2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalmatiaAyurVAID, General Manager at AyurVAID Kalmatia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Thank you so much. Indeed, it is the warmth of our guests that inspires us to serve you better. Very happy to know that your family and you had a fulfilling stay. Look forward to having you over at Kalmatia again soon.

Rajiv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

8 or 10 cottages flowing down the mountainside and facing toward the Himalayas across the valley. A few miles outside of Almora. Wood stoves warming at night, spacious cottages, nice bathrooms, total cleanliness and fab views of the mountains when the weather clears. My cottage contained a sleeping area, a step down sitting room, the bath and a terrace. Situated at 7000 foot elevation. A separate lounge connected to the dining room with very good food (all meals included in the room cost). A variety of cuisines with new menus each noon and night. Lovely management (Narindra and Imogene) and friendly, hardworking staff. A walking trail and views on both sides of the ridge. 3 nights. One day driving to the sights to the north and second day driving to the sights to the south. Really worthwhile. Almora has a wondrous market street (no vehicles) which was friendly and almost magical walking under umbrellas in an unseasonable rain in March. Almora not a place for first timers but definitely a place for those who are drawn to India and looking for new adventures. Combine with Landsdowne and Hardiwar (too good to be true). Remnants of the Raj and the living Hindu Ganges. Delhi to Kathgodam by good overnight train (reserve the whole 4 berth compartment), then car and driver to Almora, Landsdowne and Hardiwar. Day train back to Delhi. Just a part of my last trip to India.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard2001ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalmatia, Guest Relations Manager at AyurVAID Kalmatia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Dear Richard, Thanks a lot for sharing your experiences at AyurVAID, Kalmatia with us. It gives us immense pleasure to know that you enjoyed the stay and the healing experience offered. Your compliments about the staff, ambience and food mean a lot to us and we vow to keep improving. Thanks for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you again :) Regards, AyurVAID

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews