We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden gem: Best place to stay”

Review of Sukoon Home Stay

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The view at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Almora, Almora District, Uttarakhand

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Mo_dhawan
Rudrapur, India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A hidden gem: Best place to stay”
Reviewed 12 June 2019 for a stay in June 2019

We booked this place after reading the reviews and also the replies sent by the owner. The owner was responding to all the comments posted by travelers.

We were nine members traveling for leisure. We spoke with the owner and book the place for us.

Sukoon Home Stay is located off the road. Initially, we were confused if we had made a good selection. After we reached Sukoon Home Stay, we were greeted by the caretaker of the property and were escorted to our rooms. The rooms were very nicely prepared for our arrival. The bathrooms were clean and hot water was available. The view from the rooms was awesome. The property is surrounded by fruit trees and we all enjoyed trekking down the hills.

The only improvement area is FOOD. The quality of food needs to be improved.
Otherwise, it is a great location with very nice service. The tea served was outstanding.

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VishalD69...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Night Under the Stars.”
Reviewed 20 March 2018 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Location is amazing, the view is superfine and the weather is fantastic.What else could one ask for.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 May 2018
Hi Vishal. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to host you again soon.

Regards
Team Sukoon Homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmohan
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dropped Out at Booking Stage”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
4
people found this review helpful

How many places does one have a terminal problem with a place at booking stage itself - I had such a problem with Sukoon. I got a call after booking a room reminding me that the delux rooms were without an attached bathroom....so I missed this when I was booking the place and so I was grateful - who wants to pay Rs 3000 for a room with a shared bathroom. I was offered the "family suite" @ a higher price Rs 4000. I said yes and was asked to cancel the other booking. The manager assured me that they would book the suite for my use. After cancelling the other room - I got a call that the suite was now booked by someone else and was not available any more. Motive for doing this - unknown but certainly sounds like things are not under control at Sukoon

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 May 2018
Hi Jasmohan. Thank you for your feedback. We would like to inform you that we do not block the rooms until we receive an advance sum from the guest. This would be unfair to guests who are willing to pay upfront for a stay at Sukoon. Also, I am sure you are aware that on some portals the bookings are confirmed instantly because guests pay upfront and if this happens before the inventory is blocked, it is deemed unfair on our part to deny that booking.
We are still looking forward to host you at Sukoon and would be happy to offer you a discount as a special case. Unhappy guests are a rare thing here at Sukoon.

Cheers,
Team Sukoon Homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abhisheka...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay”
Reviewed 10 January 2018 for a stay in May 2017

A very beautiful property which is basically an old kumaoni house. The stay was nice and comfortable .The view of the himalayan peeks was mesmerizing and the best part was stargazing while lying next to the bonfire. Highly recommend this to all.

Date of stay: May 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 May 2018
Thank you Abhishek for your kind words. Stargazing is indeed a great experience at Sukoon. We are glad you had a good time and we hope to host you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RishabhP1...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must visit!!”
Reviewed 10 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

It is an amazing homestay with the sunrise view. The design of the homestay is pretty amazing, loved the interior.
Place is neat & clean and will give you a Home away from home feeling . Warmer, Welcoming and easy to access.
Overall a Highly recommended place for a nice ,peaceful and great vacations.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 May 2018
Thank you Rishabh for your kind words. We are glad you had a good time and we hope to host you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.